Chevron Left
Back to Medical Emergencies: CPR, Toxicology, and Wilderness

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Medical Emergencies: CPR, Toxicology, and Wilderness by University of Colorado System

4.8
stars
479 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will develop the knowledge and skills to assess and stabilize certain types of patients for transport. By the end of this course, you will be able to: (1) Identify the signs and symptoms associated with a patient in shock, to describe the major categories of shock, to assess a patient with signs of shock and formulate a plan for treatment to stabilize the patient for transport, (2) Identify a patient in cardiac arrest and to describe the components of high performance CPR including placement of an AED, components of quality chest compressions, and options for oxygenation, (3) Identify a patient with under the influence of a drug of abuse or a toxicologic ingestion, assess a patient with a potential or known ingestion, and to formulate a plan for treatment and stabilization for transport including that of a violent patient, (4) Identify the symptoms associated with the most common environmental emergencies including hypothermia, hyperthermia, lightning strike and drowning, to assess patients with an environmental emergency and to describe initial treatment and stabilization for transportation and (5) Understanding your patient's story as well as to think critically about the complaint and symptoms associated with the gastrointestinal track, renal system, and the reproductive system....

Top reviews

KC

May 6, 2020

Thanking Coursera for this platform as this enable me as well the rest of the aspiring EMT person to perform and been on par with excellence and knowledge wise in practicing at work place station.

MB

Aug 27, 2020

Very helpful course on diagnosis & management on certain diseases. Content is basic but the explanation is thorough and there are also supplementary readings. The quizzes can be quite difficult.

Filter by:

101 - 118 of 118 Reviews for Medical Emergencies: CPR, Toxicology, and Wilderness

By Joaquin N

Jun 4, 2020

kool

By Himani P

May 13, 2023

This course is very easy to understand and the way you arranged the topics was good. I had only one problem, it was regarding the reading that was to be done from external sources, it was helpful but that could have been included in the videos or there should have been a summary available. Apart from this the questions where very good it was like real life situation and it made me think the way I would act in the real life. Thank you for your hard work.

By Artin D

Jul 14, 2022

Very good course, everything is well explained with relevant and appropriate diagrams. However there were a few technical flaws but I'm certain they will be fixed

By John S

Jan 24, 2021

A lot to learn but presented very well. Test questions definitely make you think about all you have learned.

By Dominik E L

Jun 27, 2020

A difficult and challenging course. But I guess this what it should be all about.

By Kawther A

Nov 8, 2021

I am doctor ot MT ut I fond the cource extremely useuseful.

By Rania M A E

Aug 25, 2020

great information and great lecturers i loved u

By Kirshima K

Sep 4, 2019

one of the good source of learning

By A. R

Jun 10, 2020

CPr, toxicology and wilderness

By Mayav s O

Apr 20, 2020

I really recommend this course

By Larissa T D d P

Dec 2, 2020

As avaliações são difíceis

By Ali M M A F

Apr 24, 2020

good course for beginners

By Rym N

Nov 20, 2020

it was wooow

By Bianca M

Mar 6, 2023

Very good.

By Juan F

Apr 22, 2021

I love the courses by the University of Colorado but I really find it "impulsive" dealing with online system that keep doing something called solicitation into my email account with ridiculous reminders of assignments that need to be completed. Also I don't care about other students completing the course in a fast manner, that may mean they know how to use skill, but not when to use it. The whole purpose of these courses is to improve a person strategy, not just to be another "Yes man" Please remove non-essential tasks such as statistics, that is my suggestion.

By Brian

Sep 29, 2019

Tests and quizes continue to have wrong information. Coursera does not want to fix these problems rather they want to argue with students that they are wrong.

By Karishma S

Jul 11, 2021

Please provide explanations for the answers after assessments are completed. Teachers were good.

By QUINTERO A A

Jul 19, 2020

great course but is little bit basic