Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong by Yale University

4.9
stars
1,526 ratings
540 reviews

About the Course

How can you tell if the bold headlines seen on social media are truly touting the next big thing or if the article isn't worth the paper it's printed on? Understanding Medical Studies, will provide you with the tools and skills you need to critically interpret medical studies, and determine for yourself the difference between good and bad science. The course covers study-design, research methods, and statistical interpretation. It also delves into the dark side of medical research by covering fraud, biases, and common misinterpretations of data. Each lesson will highlight case-studies from real-world journal articles. By the end of this course, you'll have the tools you need to determine the trustworthiness of the scientific information you're reading and, of course, whether or not your Facebook friend is wrong. This course was made possible in part by the George M. O'Brien Kidney Center at Yale....

Top reviews

JA

Jul 24, 2020

This is a great course that helps you interpret the correct way to read clinical studies. It's something I'll use, especially when and if I am asked to take a medication that has serious side effects.

LT

Apr 29, 2020

I enjoy studying this course , the material and video example are well made ,and easy to understand too . Overall this course is great and really helpful it also help me improve on my judgement skill.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 545 Reviews for Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

By David O

Jun 17, 2020

A remarkably comprehensive and concise examination of medical research, an emergingly important facet of media literacy.

By Duncan C

Feb 8, 2021

Enjoyed the lectures and the course content also feel better about my learnings related to medical research.

Many thanks

By Dinesh P

May 24, 2020

If you have the time then definitely take this course. It contains information that I will use for the rest of my life.

By charlotte m

Dec 14, 2021

E​joyed the course - took alot of notes and reviewed all lectures some twice. Can be complicated information at best.

By Rita S

Nov 24, 2020

This course was a joy, thanks to Dr. Wilson. It was well organized and aimed for allowing the student to comprehend.

By Fardin K J

Jun 9, 2020

So far the best instructor I had. Very interesting and informative course. Much needed for the media persons I guess.

By Sakher M

Aug 29, 2020

what i felt with this course was already statistically significant .

best wishes to all supervisors on this course .

By Daniel P C

Jun 2, 2020

Es un curso excelente. He aprendido mucho y de una manera muy didáctica un tema que es relevante en la actualidad.

By Elizabeth o

Jun 23, 2020

You have the magic to teach statistic as a funny subject . I really don't wanted to finish the course. Thank you

By Jenny O

Jun 1, 2020

Great course. The presenter is very engaging, the material is extremely interesting and very clearly presented.

By Matt

Jun 19, 2021

Incredible course!! Super thorough and host and content were so interesting the time studying actually flew by!

By Dr. V B K

Sep 7, 2020

Wonderful presentation. Complex issues are presented in a simple way so that everyone can understand. Thank you

By Chelsea P

Jul 5, 2020

Very informative, even for someone with a fair amount of science classes in their past and working in medicine.

By Gabriel V

Apr 2, 2022

Thanks a lot for your Curse. It​ would be great a second Part, with Statistical Skils in R, how to do it in R.

By Anna

Jul 8, 2020

Wonderful, entertaining and also very insightful course. Kudos to the great instructor - Mr. F. Perry Wilson!

By Cara H

Jul 19, 2020

Took a while but it was worth it! Great Instructor! Loved his examples on the Campus with the Yale students!

By Basset B

Jun 8, 2020

one of my best cours ever with an outstanding teacher!

highly recommendable to all medical students

thank you

By Martin P

Dec 27, 2020

Absolutely fantastic and very helpful course. Thanks so much Dr Wilson and team for your hard work on this.

By Ken B

Jul 17, 2020

Excellent course. Dr. Wilson did a wonderful job explaining the material and making the course interesting.

By HILDA E G L

Dec 8, 2021

La verdad, es un curso, en que si prestas atención, aprendes mucho a como poder informarte correctamente.

By Mary A

Oct 26, 2020

Very engaging speaker, everything made simple but very informative, a good overview for medical research.

By shaimaa

Jul 19, 2020

Thank you so much Dr. Wilson, this is really very well structured course. it was very interesting course!

By Gigi M

May 27, 2020

Really enjoyed the course and Dr. Wilson. I feel that I do better understand how medical research works.

By Thundon N

Feb 1, 2021

GREAT course GREAT Talk I love it!

Thanks F. Perry Wilson who made epidemiology and biostatistics simple!

By gregg k

May 11, 2021

Excellent course on a sometimes very confusing subject matter. Dr Wilson is an outstanding instructor!