Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong by Yale University

4.9
stars
1,389 ratings
499 reviews

About the Course

How can you tell if the bold headlines seen on social media are truly touting the next big thing or if the article isn't worth the paper it's printed on? Understanding Medical Studies, will provide you with the tools and skills you need to critically interpret medical studies, and determine for yourself the difference between good and bad science. The course covers study-design, research methods, and statistical interpretation. It also delves into the dark side of medical research by covering fraud, biases, and common misinterpretations of data. Each lesson will highlight case-studies from real-world journal articles. By the end of this course, you'll have the tools you need to determine the trustworthiness of the scientific information you're reading and, of course, whether or not your Facebook friend is wrong. This course was made possible in part by the George M. O'Brien Kidney Center at Yale....

Top reviews

PB
Sep 27, 2021

I used to be in a statistics career field and use some of that knowledge for this course. I absolutely feel like it's easier to spot fraud and will help me have a critical eye for so many other areas!

JA
Jul 24, 2020

This is a great course that helps you interpret the correct way to read clinical studies. It's something I'll use, especially when and if I am asked to take a medication that has serious side effects.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 504 Reviews for Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

By Yasmine K

Jun 4, 2020

Great presenter.

Very imformative & well orchestrated.

Towards the end, a little too much for the ordinary person to need.

That's why I had to dropout.

By Sylvain P

Aug 12, 2020

Very interesting content, i highly recommand it for any person looking for more methods when seeking information on medical science. Thanks a lot

By John H

Feb 21, 2021

A fantastic overview of medical literature and research for the layperson, or even for the practicing clinician who's a bit rusty on his stats.

By Nobody A

Jul 25, 2020

This course is accessible to laypeople who want to get a better understanding of the health headlines that promise more than they can deliver.

By Kabakov B

Jun 17, 2020

It is the best 101 to Medical Research I ever see. It is also good for repetition if you are knowing something about Medical Research already.

By Sabbitan B

May 18, 2021

I truly benefited from this course. Certain concepts in statistics were simplified do that it would make more sense. Prof Perry was AMAZING !

By Dr N N P

Mar 28, 2021

Extremely enjoyable course. Gets into the depth of analysing a medical research & shows how to be vigilant with the medical research results!

By Juan A m

Nov 11, 2020

Very good overview of statistics applied to medical studies, Very didactic, entertaining and easy to follow. Thanks to Perry for this couse!

By Magdalena M

Nov 3, 2020

Very useful course. It helped me realise how careful you have to be when reading all kinds of studies and how to draw conclusions from them.

By Abdüssamet A

May 12, 2021

It is a very good course. I learned a lot. The presenter knows what is he doing and he is very funny. I never bored along the whole course.

By Maria S

May 4, 2021

Very professional and clear presentation of the subject. Easy understood material and well organized presentation. Very useful information.

By Marilyn B L

Jul 2, 2020

The course has been helpful and insightful. The discussions were concise, easy to understand, and humorous at times. Thank you, Dr. Wilson.

By Kathy A

Oct 10, 2020

A nicely paced course with relevant information for those who need to evaluate medical studies. Made a fairly complex area understandable.

By giovannadavitti@mac.com

Jul 1, 2020

Phenomenally clear, engaging and intelligently put together

The very best course I have ever followed on Coursera and I have finished many!

By Fabio F

Jun 12, 2020

Incredible course altogether. Amazing teach, really informal delivery but content very engaging and thorough. Best course I've taken here

By Cheryl T

Jun 11, 2020

The speaker was amazing. Super engaging and had great real life examples that made this content very related and clear. Highly recomm

By IMRAN I

Jun 2, 2021

T​he best course i have attended to date. WIsh it never ended. Last 7 weeks were so amazing journey of understanding medical research.

By Bryony K

Feb 2, 2021

Really helpful and well-structured course. I understand so much more about what I'm reading in the news re the covid Vaccine data now.

By Lucía G V

Oct 5, 2021

This course was really interesting, and the way the professor explained everything made it super easy to understand all the concepts.

By Alexander O

Jun 21, 2020

Great course! Very well explained how to read and understand medical studies, also this knowledge is transferable to other fields.

By Maximum D

Feb 23, 2021

Thank you so much for this course. It was fun and easy to follow and understand. I recommend highly to all medical professionals.

By Amir H

Sep 11, 2021

great for people who don't have heavy math knowledge and understanding of the scientific method to learn about medical research.

By Yasmeen E

Jan 30, 2021

Thanks too much..I have got strong and great benefit..the course is extremely helpful in my career.

Thanks for your great effort.

By Charlotte R G

Dec 14, 2020

Excellent and humorous professor, simple and practical course. I feel lucky to finish this course and enjoyed during the course.

By Asmara M

Dec 3, 2020

Excellent and very immersive! I wish there had been an option to download the slides so I could annotate over them during class.