Chevron Left
Back to Memoir and Personal Essay: Managing Your Relationship with the Reader

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Memoir and Personal Essay: Managing Your Relationship with the Reader by Wesleyan University

4.3
stars
206 ratings
99 reviews

About the Course

The blank page can be the most daunting obstacle in writing. In this course, aspiring writers will assemble a “starter kit” for approaching the blank page by developing constructive ways to think about the writing process as a whole. While subsequent courses in this series will focus on the mechanics of good writing, this course offers ways to think about the writer’s relationship to her material, and ultimately develop a writing style that is uniquely her own....

Top reviews

SL

Aug 4, 2019

The information was given in such a way that I found myself re-thinking all of the stories I've written, wanting to explore other options and re-write from a clearer perspective. Truly valuable.

K

Sep 3, 2020

I really appreciate the professor and his classes I have enjoyed every single video and every assignment It is really useful course which will allow us to know how exactly to write a memoir.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 99 Reviews for Memoir and Personal Essay: Managing Your Relationship with the Reader

By Alexandria S

May 2, 2020

I thought this class was very well structured and that Greg Pardlo was relatable and on point. I have listened to the lecture segments repeatedly, and I continue to learn from them. The assignments, especially the one relating your life to historical trends and events, are enlightening.

By B R H

Jun 11, 2020

it was a good learning experience . I was really forced to think and write my bits of my memoir with emotions, understand the difference between the frame and the story. Thanks Mr Greg . I never knew that i can do justice for on line learning. but YOU made it possible.

By Jean-Pierre C

Apr 29, 2020

I have learnt a lot. More importantly, this course has unlocked my ability to think reflectively and to better structure the narrative. Sounds weird now but I never thought about the reader before with this level of respect. I genuinely think it has changed my approach.

By Athena J

Mar 6, 2021

I loved this course, the materials and the complexity and thoughtfulness of the assignments. I do wish a few of the assignments were a little bit more clear - I sometimes didn't know if I was doing them correctly! - but they were incredibly fun and deep nonetheless!

By Laura F Z

Jun 30, 2020

Dr. Pardlo was really clear in his explanations of the material, and presented the material in a fresh way that I had not been exposed to before, since I'm not a poet. I highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to kick-start their personal writing projects.

By Imelda C F

Dec 14, 2020

All my teachers are great! I'm so blessed to have 'met' them even through a virtual platform. learning so much from my teachers and from my classmates (although, at times their comments are off-kilter because they're not reading properly hahaha) God bless us all.

By Betsy A

Aug 31, 2020

The course's pace kept me writing but wasn't a burden. The minilectures were very interesting and helpful. The prompts were a challenge but not crazy hard. My classmates' writing was very interesting to read. In short, I learned a lot about writing in 4 weeks.

By Constantino C

Oct 13, 2020

Though the course was excellent, I did not like to receive one encouragement message from you (which I appreciated), but I did not have any possibility to respond. I tried to write a text to Greg, and I left it in his blog. Regards, Constantino

By Pongitte R

Jun 2, 2020

Professor Pardlo is fantastic. His video clips are effective for getting participants to consider the various aspects of memoir writing. Excellent and appropriate use of examples to make his points. I only audited but would recommend.

By Dean P

Mar 28, 2022

G​ood starter class on how to write a memoir. Included Interesting stories, and clear and thoughtful videos explaining how to choose pint of view, utilize your memory, and show and tell specific details to start writing your memoir.

By Jon K

May 16, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I was my first course ever done online and the pace and topics were great. I would've liked more input from the instructor on my work, but it's probably not a suitable venue for that.

Thanks again.

By Carolyn J

Apr 25, 2021

I so enjoyed this first course for me in Memoir and Personal Essay. In particular, I appreciated the skilled and insightful approach of Greg Pardlo who gave his knowledgeable and astute advice so freely. Thank you so much!

By Clarissa S

Jun 17, 2020

I loved this course! thank you so much! I loved Greg's videos, which were short but very insightful. I loved the assignments, very well thought. Couldn't recommend this course enough for anyone who wants to write.

By Michelle L V

Oct 26, 2020

I enjoyed listening and learning from Greg's videos. He gave in depth explanations and compelling examples. I will move on to the next course after this experience. Thank you for an affordable chance to learn!

By Margaret J

Oct 19, 2019

Key concepts in crafting memoir are presented, explained, and followed up with dynamite exercises. I found this course extremely useful in my efforts to structure and craft a memoir of my long work history.

By Maram A

Jun 10, 2020

This course is so important for the persons who love details in life and step by step you will know how to write well about your thoughts and stories that you faced in your life...

Very interesting

By Edeltraud V

Aug 23, 2019

Just started today and finished already teh first week...fantastic ...well spoken, well informed, easy to understand from someone english is a second language. Look forward to the next weeks.

By Sheryl L

Mar 20, 2021

Really enjoyed the instructor. Appreciated the lectures, and the need for me to keep a dictionary close to look up some of his high-powered words. I enjoyed all four assignments.

By elisabeth

Apr 13, 2021

The assignments were wonderful prompts drawing out unexpected topics and encouraging introspection on daily life. Great backbone from which to build. Loved it! Thank you!

By Roxana G

Sep 23, 2019

Very practical videos, short but instructive. Nice assignments, although the instructions weren't always clear.

I really liked the teacher, and I loved the content.

By Bibek A

May 4, 2020

Fantastic. I learned so much about writing about myself and the people around me. Greg is a wonderful mentor. Truly enjoyed and learned a lot. Thanks, Coursera.

By Ann H

Jun 30, 2021

This course was recommended to me by a writer friend, and I enjoyed the guided learning to sharpen specific skills, particularly attention to perspective.

By Irene G

Jun 1, 2020

I am an experienced writer. I enjoyed the videos and assignments. I felt that I learned some new skills and different ways of evaluating my writing.

By Aparna P

Oct 4, 2020

Loved the classes so much. I f anyone is worried to write about things in their lives this course will give you a lot training and help to do so.

By Lesley S

Feb 11, 2022

Greg Pardlo got the ideas across very well. He made me very aware of all the ways to position yourself - and the reader - in a story.