Chevron Left
Back to De-Mystifying Mindfulness

Learner Reviews & Feedback for De-Mystifying Mindfulness by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
1,409 ratings
546 reviews

About the Course

Interest in meditation, mindfulness, and contemplation has grown exponentially in recent years. Rather than being seen as mystical practices from ancient Buddhism or esoteric philosophy, they are increasingly seen as technologies rooted in evidence from psychology and neuroscience. Mindfulness has become the basis for numerous therapeutic interventions, both as a treatment in healthcare and as a means of enhancing well-being and happiness. For millions around the world, mindfulness has become a life-style choice, enhancing and enriching everyday experience. Mindfulness is big business. But, what actually is mindfulness? Is it really good for you? Can anyone learn it? How can you recognize charlatans? Would you want to live in a mindful society, and would it smell like sandalwood? What does it feel like to be mindful? Are you mindful already, and how would you know? Evolving from the popular Honours Academy course at Leiden University, this innovative course combines conventional scholarly inquiry from multiple disciplines (ranging from psychology, through philosophy, to politics) with experiential learning (including specially designed ‘meditation labs,’ in which you’ll get chance to practice and analyze mindfulness on yourself). In the end, the course aims to provide a responsible, comprehensive, and inclusive education about (and in) mindfulness as a contemporary phenomenon. During the production of this course, we have been supported by Willem Kuyken, Director of the University of Oxford Mindfulness Centre, and Stephen Batchelor, co-founder of Bodhi College. And we gratefully acknowledge the contributions made by Mark Williams, co-developer of Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT), and Rebecca Crane, Director of the Centre for Mindfulness Research and Practice at the University of Bangor. We have recently added expert advice from Dawn Scott (Spirit Rock & Barre Centre for Buddhist Studies), Sydney Spears (University of Kansa), Elisabeth Stanley (Georgetown University), Susan Woods (Centre for Mindfulness Studies), Patricia Rockman (University of Toronto) and Jeff Corntassel (University of Victoria). "A deep and profound dive into the ethical, social, psychological, and philosophical implications of modern-day mindfulness practice. The course is not for the faint of heart, perhaps, but it is also full of practical, guided exercises for the uninitiated! Thank you for redefining my relationship to Mindfulness in a completely new and thought-provoking way" 28 april 2021 "The course enabled me to explore the mindfulness construct at its deeper lever from philosophical, psychological and political lenses. The mindfulness labs were very useful in practicing the skills of being mindful." 23 nov 2018 "i took this course after a period of time when I was trying to practice mindfulness and meditation, but with doubtful success. The course answered many questions to me, and I needed that to keep me motivated. It really helped me understand the origins and, more importantly, benefits of mindfulness practice and made me persist in my attempts. I'm really glad I took the course, I find it interesting, well taught and very useful for all those seeking deeper explanation in why trying mindfulness." 9 Oct 2018 "I have taken other courses in other online platforms. However, this has been one of the best courses I have found online." 3 Oct 2018 "I really like the invitation to us, the learners, to rethink our preconceptions and beliefs, and then make our own judgement about mindfulness. The overall tone was very friendly and open, resources very useful." 12 Dec 2017...

Top reviews

SM
Jul 20, 2020

A course that will open your mind and heart. I thoroughly enjoyed it and learnt so much about Mindfulness and how I want to incorporate it into my daily life, relationships and personality. Thank you!

AV
Feb 2, 2020

It is such a useful and practical course. The contents, discussions, assignments and quizzes are extremely insightful. I truly enjoyed the course and awaiting a second phase of the course in future.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 543 Reviews for De-Mystifying Mindfulness

By Tamu N K

Feb 11, 2018

really enjoyed this course through and through. i would highly recommend it to others and i do! thank you!

By Patricia A W

Jun 27, 2017

Thank you so much!!! 100% one of the best courses and many blessings to the teacher and the crew.

NAMASTE!

By Eduardo C

Oct 4, 2017

¡Very interesting! It takes topics that go untouched in most part of the mindfulness academic production.

By Elvira K

May 23, 2020

It is a very useful course, can use what I learned in my everyday life. It helps me to be less stressed.

By Marian V

Jun 1, 2020

This is a very good introduction to Mindfulness. Well explained and made me change my outlook in life.

By Nandini B

Apr 28, 2020

A fabulous course on Mindfulness. The different techniques to bring in mindfulness was really amazing.

By Ioulia B

Jul 28, 2020

Really opened my mind on what is mindfulness and how is it my responsibility to choose my own path.

By Rajendra J

Aug 6, 2017

it is a great course. Enjoyed it and felt enlightened. I would recommend it to my friends for sure.

By Duy Q V

Nov 16, 2020

good course

It gives new views on the issue of minfulness, an update on the future will be welcome.

By Ana D

Aug 26, 2020

I really liked this course, and I wish I can continue to practising what I have learned.

Thank you.

By Veliyana

May 17, 2020

Thank you, this course made a difference in my life which I wanted to happen for years. Thank you.

By Laura B

Aug 6, 2019

A bit intense at times but good historical and social background. Meditations can be a bit long.

By Natalja N d D

Jan 10, 2018

This course is very well structured, informative and offers many resources for students. Amazing!

By Adam B

Jun 8, 2017

An enjoyable and well-presented course explaining what is meant by Mindfulness and incorporating

By Roger M

Aug 12, 2018

This was an eye-opening course. I liked having the opportunity to "meet" Professor Goto-Jones!

By JESSICA H

Nov 8, 2019

Wonderful course! Anyone interested in Mindfulness should invest the time to take this class!

By Andreea P

May 15, 2018

Great instructor and I loved the labs, all the free materials offered and the assessments too.

By Tom A

Feb 21, 2018

Well made course, which rounds up the variable aspects of Modern Mindfulness and it's origins.

By Alan A

Feb 4, 2020

A wonderfully lucid presentation of the current western approach to mindfulness (meditation).

By Bharat G

Apr 23, 2019

If you're undergoing a tumultuous time in your life, this course will definitely be of value.

By menningen

Mar 28, 2019

Cours très complet, à suivre avec attention et surtout prendre soin de pratiquer les MED LAB.

By Rodrigo L

Jun 15, 2018

Very good course. Interesting concepts are disscused, and it has also very practical aspects.

By Shamna n

Nov 27, 2020

I really loved the courses and all the content the lectures are wonderful. Thank you so much

By Christophe F

Feb 11, 2020

Very nice course ! You will learn practical tips and daily practices for your everyday life.

By Zhivko J

Jul 26, 2020

Solid background material and plenty of resources and mindfulness practices to choose from.