Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
10,782 ratings
3,140 reviews

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

SM
Jun 21, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

EC
Aug 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

Filter by:

3076 - 3100 of 3,121 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Rachelle F

Oct 23, 2020

Not nearly as good or informative as the previous course, Learning to Learn. Too vague, barely touches on the subjects I was hoping to receive more insight on such as career change and anything applicable to learning at a later age.

By Lerrick S

Jun 12, 2017

This course was useful. I felt that this should rather have been an update to the course Learning how to learn instead of being a separate course. I would recommend that this be completed only after doing Learning how to learn.

By Lucy S

Jan 6, 2021

I really liked the first couple of weeks of this course, but weeks 3 and 4 were not all that interesting or informative. I found the precursor to this MOOC, learning how to learn, more engaging overall.

By Madhurima C

Jun 15, 2020

Interesting new psychological concepts that can help one learn their respective subjects better . But this is not a course where you get a new skill . It is for self improvement and development.

By AMALIO T D A N

Jul 29, 2019

Precisava ensinar mais sobre técnicas importantes para manter o foco e o aprendizado. Aqui nesse curso explica mais como funciona o processo de aprendizado mostrando como o cérebro age e etc.

By Ashanna B

Nov 15, 2019

It's not a bad class, but it doesn't cover many new topics. Most people would be better served by taking the Learning How To Learn course, which I found to be far superior.

By Pınar P S

Dec 17, 2017

I love their "Learn how to Learn" course, and I learned a lot. But his course for me full of repetition. Probably if I had taken this course alone I can give higher rates.

By Vilasna P

May 11, 2017

Limited new materials from Learning how to learn. It's more like a self-help series than an educational course. Might be useful for those needing encouragement.

By Mário M M

May 14, 2017

Simpler then the previous one. Sometimes to simpler. Not enough new thoughts or approaches. But Bar's dedication is commendable and the memory tips are welcome

By Mathias K

Feb 10, 2020

Too much focus on individual stories and not enough focus on research or strategies. Not as good as learning how to learn but still good. Would recommend.

By Almaz K

Oct 21, 2018

I put three stars because on Nelson Dellis video I saw actor Borat which shows our country in bad position. That's why I put three stars.

By Renzo M C D

Apr 4, 2020

It relates to preparing an alternative career path. A great course for those who are looking for tips and advice for a second skill.

By Arun B N

Oct 15, 2019

Not as fantastic as "Learning how to learn"(which was a 5 star course in my review) but still a good follow-up to that course.

By Uyen H

May 20, 2020

It's cool but probably I already understood all this thing so I didn't really want to take my time to finish the whole course

By Mostafa Y

May 6, 2017

Thank you for such great course , can't wait for the productivity 101 MOOC that you mentioned in one of your videos .

By Sadie M

Jan 27, 2018

personally little boring when the professor was talking about making the video, but overall it was okay.

By saurav l

May 19, 2020

i have completed the course with honors and its just showing me normal certificate. that is sad for me.

By khushboo D

May 30, 2020

Could you please help me unenroll from this course .

I am not getting an option from my side to do so.

By Zeph C

Aug 27, 2017

The material is pretty useful. But I found the video a bit too distracting with too much effects.

By Mark v d P

Dec 7, 2019

Mijn eerste MOOC's, kijken wat ik ermee doe en als het handig is dan leer ik bij via MOOC's

By Johne C C

Jun 17, 2020

Great insight to practice in all aspects of life. Especially where one feels inadequate.

By Rahul M

Jun 12, 2020

This Course is good to show a hope to those who do not understand even about themselves.

By Anthony R

Feb 2, 2020

Interesting but the career part of the course was sparse on detail

By sujentiraan s

May 7, 2020

Good and out of box thinking exercises with great lect

By Dessa G

Apr 8, 2020

There was some good information in this course.