Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
11,794 ratings

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

EC

Aug 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

SM

Jun 21, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

Filter by:

3126 - 3150 of 3,415 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Matthew B

Jul 8, 2018

Good, but overlapped with Learning How to Learn and wasn't as informative, but would 100% recommend. It still gave me valuable life insight that I will use for my whole life.

By Digby D

Nov 8, 2017

Highly recommended for non-traditional students, first generation college students, recreational learners, and students who feel otherwise underprepared for starting college.

By Anne S M

Aug 2, 2019

This MOOC, introduced me to breaking through obstacles, how to follow and complete a mooc. This was really inspiring, and helped me mindshift to reach my highest potential.

By Benjamin M W

Sep 17, 2017

The course had some great mental and memorisation tricks in it. Really liked the tutor's style and honesty. I wish more tutors would present their material in the same way.

By R. R

Aug 19, 2020

Needless to say, but this is an outstanding course! Mindshift is rewarding to individuals who are seeking for novel knowledge and improvement of their hidden potentials.

By Deleted A

Feb 20, 2018

Creat course! If you want to find out some tips to improve your learing process in whatever, of you are just shifting into another field, this course is exactly for you.

By IMAD E M

Jul 26, 2017

Amazing course, I really loved the way of deliviring insights and concepts in a funny way, as well as it discuss very important concepts about learning and memorization

By mary o

Aug 14, 2017

I finished this course because it was interesting. What made it interesting was the incorporation of visual stimulations and also because the videos were not too long.

By Megan P

Oct 6, 2020

The info in this MOOC is valuable for many areas of your life. Probably a good idea to take this class more than once as a refresher. Barbara is an engaging teacher.

By Héctor R R M

Apr 13, 2020

Nice course! I liked the videos, the examples and the always fresh aproach of the teachers. The only sugestion I have is to spend less time taking about MOOC design,

By Kim W

Jun 27, 2020

Covers a lot but strangely was so spot on for where I am at this moment in my life. I found it very helpful and will be implementing many of the suggestions.

By Mike B

May 22, 2019

Packed full of insights and techniques about ways to approach learning and change in your life, both personally and professionally. Fun and easy to follow.

By SARUN P

Apr 17, 2020

This would be a good class for a person who don't open mind for a new things to learn. For me I learn many things and really inspire me to start doing it.

By JUEGO, A J P

Jun 5, 2020

It's a great help for me especially at the time that we are adjusting in the new normal for education, and everything else causes by the pandemic.

By Diogo M

Jun 27, 2017

It is an interesting course complementing the other MOOC Learning How To Learn, which I think have more in deep content than this one (MindShift).

By Deleted A

May 8, 2018

Very Insightful. I would recommend take the course really slowly and actively asking yourself the breakthrough quotes, like what is your mission?

By Cheryl B

Aug 18, 2018

This is my first course through Cousera. I found it engaging, the information was useful, the pace was good. I look forward to other courses.

By Ritisha S

Nov 18, 2020

It's a great platform to know what you do and why you do. I really loved this course. This course has changed my way of thinking towards life.

By Deleted A

Jul 6, 2020

Well, It is a well organized course. Instructor of this course well explained every single aspects. I enjoyed a lot this course. Thank You :)

By sagar c

May 29, 2020

It is an amazing course with a great video editing however in some of the videos I found the animation sound between the video was irritable

By Punyaporn T

May 15, 2020

I attain a lot positive thinking to change my self as well as desire everyone to learn this course gain a good thinking to change your life.

By Margaret M

Apr 5, 2020

It is a very useful course, well put and there is a good effort put into it.

The main instructor Barbara Oakley seems a caring teacher :)

By Alhasan A

Jul 3, 2017

It's a pretty solid course. I can't help but compare it with Learning how to learn, though. And I feel like there was more content therein

By Mudit M

Jul 14, 2020

It's a really great course for all those who are looking at new ways to learn and are trying to figure out their career path as a whole

By Mohamed H

Nov 19, 2019

Short BUT Gold

Very important and Valuable notes included.

Now, I'm sure I can go better with my life.

I'll keep learning to death.

Thanks.