Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
11,290 ratings
3,267 reviews

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

SM
Jun 21, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

LV
Apr 30, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

Filter by:

3226 - 3250 of 3,264 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Almaz K

Oct 21, 2018

I put three stars because on Nelson Dellis video I saw actor Borat which shows our country in bad position. That's why I put three stars.

By Renzo M C D

Apr 4, 2020

It relates to preparing an alternative career path. A great course for those who are looking for tips and advice for a second skill.

By Arun B N

Oct 15, 2019

Not as fantastic as "Learning how to learn"(which was a 5 star course in my review) but still a good follow-up to that course.

By Uyen H

May 20, 2020

It's cool but probably I already understood all this thing so I didn't really want to take my time to finish the whole course

By Mostafa Y

May 6, 2017

Thank you for such great course , can't wait for the productivity 101 MOOC that you mentioned in one of your videos .

By Sadie M

Jan 27, 2018

personally little boring when the professor was talking about making the video, but overall it was okay.

By saurav l

May 19, 2020

i have completed the course with honors and its just showing me normal certificate. that is sad for me.

By khushboo D

May 30, 2020

Could you please help me unenroll from this course .

I am not getting an option from my side to do so.

By Zeph C

Aug 27, 2017

The material is pretty useful. But I found the video a bit too distracting with too much effects.

By Mark v d P

Dec 7, 2019

Mijn eerste MOOC's, kijken wat ik ermee doe en als het handig is dan leer ik bij via MOOC's

By Johne C C

Jun 17, 2020

Great insight to practice in all aspects of life. Especially where one feels inadequate.

By Rahul M

Jun 12, 2020

This Course is good to show a hope to those who do not understand even about themselves.

By Anthony R

Feb 2, 2020

Interesting but the career part of the course was sparse on detail

By sujentiraan s

May 7, 2020

Good and out of box thinking exercises with great lect

By Eugene E

Jun 17, 2021

I didn't get my "With Honors" badge. Please help.

By Dessa G

Apr 8, 2020

There was some good information in this course.

By Burak K

Dec 20, 2020

quiz format is very bad due to pictures

By Handa S

May 11, 2017

Learning how to learn, version 1.5

By Shyam S

Dec 17, 2017

it could be better

By Moggy

Sep 27, 2017

good training

By Shynar L

Jul 7, 2017

nice work!

By Mustafa M

Nov 18, 2020

very good

By Sarah B

Apr 21, 2020

It's a lot of easy basic ideas about learning. It's not horrible advice if you're a slower learning or need advice in learning how to learn. I think this course would be great for people who need a bit of encouragement about learning. Or if they're new to MOOCs or learning in general. It's not bad information. Just be aware that if you're taking more difficult courses or have read books or are a more advanced learner, this course doesn't have much to offer.

By Yazan Z

Jan 18, 2020

a lot of "bro science" at this course, i don't think this should be on Coursera! it is shallow articles that is located on one place!

for example: Barbara suggests that mindfulness meditation may impair creativity despite all the research about this subject! i think it is because the researches contradicts her own explanation for creativity and the diffuse mode thing!

By Eugen D

Jan 18, 2020

A lot less substance compared to the original course. The only usefull info in the first two parts of the course (I stopped after that) was the mention of Alex Vermeer' guide to defeat procrastination.