Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
9,861 ratings
2,872 reviews

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

DI
Oct 30, 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

LV
Apr 30, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 2,847 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Stephen

Jun 21, 2020

I get many life-changing facts and insights from this course. Before you learn anything else, finish this course first. I got my mindset fixed, they also tell us the truth behind popular opinions about intelligence and learning! You SHOULD enroll in this course, guys!

By Keisha a

May 4, 2020

She was very engaging and clearly loves what she does. The content and visuals were fantastic and helps build a stronger understanding on the topic. I also appreciate the mini quizzes after each subject, always good to test yourself to make sure you really understand.

By Saba E B E

Nov 1, 2020

This is a 5 Stars course. Really happy to come across and to take this course! Really and eye opener!! Not only it teach you how to open your mind (with scientific information), it also teach you how to think out of the box - which is the "IN" thing now! Kudos!!!

By Warwick B

May 7, 2017

Mindshift is a course that effectively builds upon Learning How to Learn in a way that encourages thinking beyond the comfortable, beyond what is already known. Both of these courses are inspiring and should be taken by everyone interested in the process of learning.

By Holly S

Sep 16, 2020

Mindshift was well laid out and very easy to follow. Barbara Oakley is very accessible and explains things well. I love the idea that any of us can learn anything at any age with time and practice. I look forward to trying these techniques as I take more courses.

By Wimonwan L

Apr 18, 2020

I couldn't be more thankful to the professors who created this useful and motivating online class. I enrolled this class as the first MOCC and it was really good to start with Mindshift class. If you are new to MOCC, this is the best recommended class to start with.

By nida m

Apr 12, 2020

This course has broaden my dimensions of thinking and vision about learning. Instead of conventional approaches we should revisit our potentials and we will find under-rated skills which are playing an important role in our success so far. Thanks for this mindshift!

By Manuel A F

Mar 7, 2018

I think this is a great MOOC to get you into MOOCing and therefore getting the necessary skills to do a real mindshift.

On the other hand many of the ideas here are not new, but are presented under a different light therefore making it more interesting.

Really good!!

By Sayeed S

Jul 7, 2020

The course content, format and more importantly instructors' style of teaching were terrific! I got out of it more than I expected at the beginning of this course. I am energized, motivated and excited to apply the learning from this outstanding course.

THANK YOU!

By Bryan E J

Jun 12, 2020

I love this course, it's easy to learn, the teachers can explain the lessons very well, and i think there are some hard concept but they explained it fluently and in simple way. It's great if anybody want to try this MOOC especially for those who are new to MOOCs.

By Matias D V

Jun 1, 2020

Awesome MOOC. Very related to the nowadays situation especially after the Pandemic issue. The instructors were great. It proves their much effort on delivering the material in the easiest way to understand, even for the non-English speaking audience. Thanks a lot.

By Russell B B

May 1, 2018

One of the best MOOCs I've ever taken, the kind of thing that would had been great to have since high school. Is for every age and has a lot of information compacted in easy to understand chunks, the course is really easy and interactive, the tutors are great!!

By Emelia A

May 15, 2017

Completely awesome course that should be the basis for all your other MOOC's. Gives great insight into overcoming your biggest hang up - yourself. It also sets you straight about how you should go about your new level of achievement in anything. You will love it!!

By Diego A O P G

Nov 19, 2020

Great course! The content is very easy to understand and is full of tips that appeal to common sense and self-confidence in learning. Warmth and carefree teaching of concepts that can be difficult and surprisingly accessible is greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot.

By VICTOR M B P

Jun 5, 2020

Awesome .Enjoyable. I have been learning in many courses during all my life and I feel extremely satisfied with this one.The most outstanding is to see the lectures. All the emotion put into them and I have never seen someone speaking g so trifle, so sincere.

By Daniella F

May 11, 2020

This MOOC was just the motivation, inspiration, and encouragement I needed to regain my self-belief. The thought to the delivery of the subject was remarkable, I am ever grateful for this MOOC as it reinvigorated my spirit for learning and self-worth. Thank you!

By Manish H

Jan 3, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken on this platform. It has right mix of theory and practical tips delivered exceptionally well by Dr. Barbara. Please take the honors track - the extra two assignments will give you valuable insights that you can keep for life.

By Antonia B

Jan 12, 2018

Very well structured class and very entertaining! The 2 professors, Barb and Terry know how to formulate and divide the information. Also, they give examples from their own lives, so you can have a better understanding and correlation. Thank you, Barb and Terry!

By Noel C R

Sep 20, 2020

I think this course is very good. I learned techniques about changing mindsets. This MOOC provides valuable information for all people and at all levels. it does not matter much in the area of training and work. extremely useful and applicable in everyday life.

By Rajat M

Jul 28, 2020

A MOC that helped me boost my career and also served the importance of how useful it is to be open and flexible while starting a new career. The presenter also provides practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity.

By Robert A W

Dec 18, 2017

This is the 2nd Course that I've taken, a follow up to Learning how to learn. Great course, Videos are done well, keeps me engaged in the topic at hand. really useful topics are covered. A nice stepping stone for me on my path to self improvement and education.

By Maria J

Jul 24, 2017

This is a very great course to take. The professor explain very clearly and easily every topic of the course, in a very fun and didactic way. It is a class that can help you to improved and make sustancial changes in your habbits. I recommend 100 % this course.

By ARIEL V D L C

Aug 31, 2020

This Mindshift course is very useful and helpful in learning tool that opens doors and widens my horizon into learning something new, It views me on appreciating my negative qualities and experiences to accept and enhance myself personally and professionally .

By Ayesha f

Aug 31, 2020

This course transformed me into a more confident and enthusiastic learner. Ths course is one of the best courses that focuses of self developement as well as career development . Now I am proud of my flaws and bad habits and I am looking forward to mindshift .

By LOPEZ R T E

Jul 22, 2020

It was a good course, a great follow up to Learning how to learn, it reforce and give some extra topics on how to learn more effectively, if you have time and want to know more you can take this to larn about the process of making MOOC´s and other cool stuff.