Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
12,304 ratings

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

DI

Oct 30, 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

DP

Aug 13, 2021

A great course for learners to know more about how to learn and give them a fresh perspective about learning and being successful in life. A great sequel after the renowned MOOC Learning How to Learn.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 3,529 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Bart L

Oct 4, 2022

Great introduction course for new online learners and those with having a hard time coming up with a study schedule. Good insights in effective studying, adopting good and bad habits. It also covers topics like sticking to a healthy schedule, motivation and handling negative thoughts and emotions.

By Ramanan T

Jun 26, 2020

This course entirely shifted my learning abilities or in other words, I was able to restore my lost learning capabilities in place. The teachers are very attractive to listen to without losing attention throughout the course. Moreover, the time frame of each module is much more convenient to learn.

By Elizabeth C

Jun 1, 2020

Very useful and accessible course. Both instructors (especially Barb) are great at presenting concepts and ideas that are valuable in the 'real' world. I would recommend this to learners of all ages -- particularly those who may be feeling ambivalent about their career and employment at any stage.

By Jayne E L

Aug 25, 2019

An OUTSTANDING course! Dr Barbera Oakley, and Dr Terry Sejnowski are excellent. If you are searching for a class that will open your mind to exploring a chapter in your life, and show you how your mind works while taking a new direction, this is the class for you. Fascinating, informative, and fun!

By Serena M

Dec 11, 2021

If you're thinking "what's next?" check this course out. It interleaves advice on how and why you should widen your skill base throughout your life with procedures you can implement immediately to do so. Definately a "sharpening the axe" course that you should check out sooner rather than later.

By Jojo N P

May 17, 2020

An Amazing course to really identify what are the obstacles which you have to huddle and to guide the way to unleash your potential and real calibre. Lectures are amazingly resourceful and talented. I recommend it to everyone who really wanted to do a self analysing and move forward in your life.

By Pilar F

Apr 30, 2020

The course is very easy to follow. The videos are short and with one point each. It has a lot of info on how to approach learning when it is not part of a school program. It has given me insights on what it promises, the blockroads to learning as a mature student. All in all, time well spent!

By Prasanna K B

Sep 27, 2019

This course is very engaging. Through out the course author motivates us and real life examples are very inspiring. I was thinking i am slow learner and i cant learn anything new but this course made my Mindshift. Am enrolling new courses. Thanks to Dr. Barbara Oakley for such wonderful insights.

By Letty F

Aug 8, 2020

I really enjoyed this class. I liked how it was explained and examples were provided. Great stories about others experiences. Her voice was pleasant and calm. I recommend this course if you are trying to learn more about your purpose and activities one can do to find what you are successful in.

By Jo L

Nov 18, 2020

I really love Barb and Terry as instructors, I watch with subtitles because I am hard of hearing and the lessons are still captivating. Great information presented with an authentic passion for the lessons. I took Learning How to Learn before this class and can't wait for their next offering!

By Deleted A

Nov 14, 2020

For those who want to upgrade and improve themselves, this course is a must. Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski breaks down components and gives them in bite-sized, consumable videos.

It is both educational and entertaining. Thank you, Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski!

By Andrea

Sep 9, 2020

This was a great course! It was very straightforward, well-designed, and highly informative. The overall delivery was tight as well as the visual tools utilized to aid instruction. As a person who truly sees the potential in online learning, I do wish more courses would be designed in this way.

By JASMEET K

Aug 27, 2020

It has been a pleasure, being a part of this amazing process of learning how to Mindshift and breaking through all the hindrances in your path. Four weeks later, I totally see myself standing with a new vision in Life. Thank You for this beautiful experience Dr. Barbara, Dr. Terrence and Scott!

By Ratchaphon M

Jun 24, 2020

Super inspirational! Thank you for modeling me for continually making a mindshift. Your comment 'DON'T FOLLOW YOUR PASSION, EXTEND YOUR PASSION' truly boosts my spirit up since I've been a bit low from my current work.

Thank you for your positivity, creativity, and ambition!

LOVE from Thailand...

By Guillermo

Apr 15, 2020

Very motivating and practical. Totally would recommend if you are feeling in a dead end in your career, it shows a very positive message that is everybody is able to do almost everything, plus gives you practical tips con how to achieve it. Definitely not a boring, theoretical or specific MOOC.

By Roberta S

Apr 14, 2020

This course was a breath of fresh air. I loved how positive yet practical BO was. I am looking at a career change and this was just what I needed to pursue this further. The structure was simple yet tight, even if done from her basement. I also appreciated how she shared her own personal story.

By Yujin L

Jun 26, 2018

i was not sure if i wanted to take this course at first. that's because the instructor used overly animated tone which turned me off. however, her positive energy kept me going. great content. i would highly recommend this to anyone who seeks for inspirations and strategies for personal growth.

By Mariana Q

Mar 28, 2021

I really loved it.

After I read "Learn how to learn", I found this course looking up at Barbara and thought "why no?" -best decision in my last years! A Mindishift was just what I needed to change my thinking and to revalue my options and goals. Thanks a lot for the insignies at both teachers!

By Barbara M

Dec 16, 2020

this was my very first MOOC that I had opportunity to participate in during a slow down time at work due to the pandemic. I really enjoyed the short videos and quizzes with visuals to help me learn. I'm inspired to take more MOOC's and hope they are as high a quality as this was. Thank you!

By Aember P T G

Jun 5, 2020

This course has been a valuable primer to any further topic one may or may not struggle to learn next. It develops a foundational attitude for studying anything at all despite one's background. Creative and learning confidence are what anybody can expect to acquire after completing the course.

By Noah

Jan 14, 2018

Very useful and insightful. I'm in my 20s and have no idea what to do in my future. This course helped me a lot (as well as the related MOOC "Learning How to Learn") in creating better study skills, increase productivity and rate and efficacy at which I acquire new knowledge. Highly recommend.

By Thananthan

Aug 6, 2020

The course is completely awesome. it enhances my hidden potential and projects in front of my eyes, and helped me to take care of my immersive learning, i really wanted to thank the professeurs for making the topics an interactive one by explaining about how science works within one's brain !

By Monica D

Jul 1, 2020

Clear, concise, simple and well paced. This was a pleasant surprise and a good find. If you are frustrated with yourself and think you can't learn anything, this course will help you debunk that myth and give you some tools to understand that you can learn anything you want to. Great MOOC!

By Erick A G

May 20, 2020

Muchas gracias por este hermoso curso. Fue una verdadera experiencia de vida para mí. No sólo aprendí cómo aprender, sino cómo ser una mejor persona. Me enamoré perdidamente de este curso, no sólo por el contenido, sino también por la excelente presentación y producción de éste. ¡Mil gracias!

By Kushwant S

Sep 11, 2017

I really enjoyed the the insights I garnered from this course. The scientific explanations as to how the brain functions and affects our learning process was superb. I can't overstate how much I enjoyed this course! This should be the first essential course anyone and everyone should take.