Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
11,064 ratings
3,226 reviews

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

EC
Aug 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

DI
Oct 30, 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 3,220 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Christopher G

Apr 29, 2020

Loved this MOOC. Second best after Learning How to Learn (which is the first part in this series). If you liked/loved that MOOC, you will love this MOOC too. It builds on concepts established in that one and adds a little bit more. I have experienced a mindshift while taking this course and you will too as long as you are paying attention and have an open mind!

By Anel O

May 1, 2017

Barbara and her team are amazing. I can relate so much to many examples given in this course from how we can feel when learning something new to how we can refrain a stressful feeling to keep going with a positive learning experience. I highly recommend this course to gain confidence in our abilities and keep our brains fresh to learn how to learn new skills.

By Nikhil P

Aug 24, 2019

This course and its predecessor (LHTL) teaches one, invaluable techniques to improve learning and remember for a longer duration and be more creative. These techniques can be implemented in our daily lives very easily and makes us more confident and helps us to overcome our fears and sense of inadequacy due to poor memory retention or poor learning technique.

By Wd B

Jan 3, 2021

A useful and valuable course. The MindShift presentation was insightful and reconfirmed that a path to life-long learning is ok in my older years. Bob and Terry captivated my attention and guided me to reframe my approach to learning. This presentation should be taught as a career development course to help students navigate their current and future learning.

By Gabriel T

Dec 18, 2017

It's been a remarkable gain to find out I was already using some of the concepts presented here for a long time without knowing, and of course to discover some of the new, complementary once. I find this course to be very effective on your thinking behavior , especially if it is done in completion to their related MOOC : Learning How to Learn. Good Job guys.

By Adilvane

Sep 20, 2017

This class was fantastic for my kids and me. Some of the videos I had to call my daughter (7th grade) to watch and take notes on how to better knowledge received in class and online. I also had the opportunity to take some of the tips to my nephew, he is a senior high school and doing some online classes, and some of the tips from Barbara were just amazing.

By Aimee R

Apr 5, 2020

Great information! The material in this course is fairly easy to digest, but you really have to think about where you are in your life and your own situation to get the most from the lessons. I really enjoyed the more-scientific lectures about the functions of the brain and how to maximize your memory. This definitely gave me a new perspective on learning!

By Aiena M

Jul 15, 2021

One of the finest courses that I've come across. Insightful and inspiring, it will give you enough meat to ponder for years! The best way to digest them is to take them in chunks, and find out ways of incorporating things in your life that clicks with you. If you need a mind-shift which is scientifically proven about learning, this is the best course!

By GOPINATH S

Jun 9, 2020

If anyone wants to think creatively, take decision, learn new things, change carrier, and understand the real facts about how your brain reacts to your actions, take this course up. Very well designed lectures, excellent delivery, appropriate examples and astonishing animations make this course very unique. Thank you for providing such a wonderful course.

By Miriam R - B

May 8, 2020

Thank you so much to our dearest teachers and also to the people behind this great MOOC! This is really helpful and amazing! Most of all, learnings are very useful in real life but ofcourse we must take an action and use our learnings. As said if you don't use it, you'll lose it. Happy to take the opportunity of learning these online courses. God bless.

By Alan M

Apr 30, 2020

I found this course to be inspiring and also consolidating what I already knew or already practised. It also reminded me of techniques I had forgotten. I found this presentation style felt "light weight" and didn't seem to be introducing a lot of new material, but after completing it, I could see that I had remembered and practised a great deal. Thanks.

By Yuki H

May 6, 2020

Amazing course with a lot of creative, fun and helpful ways in helping learners to better understand course concepts! It teaches a lot of interesting insights that can further educate learners, as well as boosting their confidence! Fantastic usage of illustrations and techniques in helping learners in their study. Great instructors with sense of humor!

By Sripooja M

Feb 20, 2019

Learning how to learn has a great impact on the way I think, I did not want the course to end. When I saw that Mindshift is an add on to LHTL I was very happy as wanted to learn and understand more. LHTL, Mindshift are two great courses! I enjoyed learning lot of intriguing stuff. Thanks to the content makers for providing such well curated content :)

By suraj p

Nov 30, 2020

its a great course and i suggest everyone go through this with. Dr. Terrence and Dr. Barbara are great teachers and there is a lot to things to learn from this course.

the only one comment i had about this course was the awful intro music, i had to listen to it so many times that i developed an earworm. it would be great if you got rid of that music.

By Anum A M

Nov 14, 2020

I completed the Mindshift course on Coursera. It was a great course on Coursera. The Mindshift book is a companion to the course. I bought the book along with audio format. I listened to the audiobook while commuting to work. I love Barbara's voice as she narrated the book. Highly recommended to everyone who wants to have a lifelong learning journey.

By Aanusha P M

Sep 7, 2020

A high-recommend for anyone interested to learn new things or take up a new career or just want to stay vibrant and energetic. It gave me the much needed self-assurance and confidence to try things i like/want to do but was apprehensive to start. The statements with scientific backup presented in an easy to grasp way tend to give a happy MindShift :)

By Courtney S

Jul 29, 2020

I really enjoyed this MOOC. I took away a lot of pointers to help me in making a Career change and Life in general. The lessons are short, I didn't feel overwhelmed. Depending on what is being talked about,depends on how much notes I took about a subject. I liked how certain subjects were broken down. It made it easy to understand and follow along.

By Vanessa K

Jun 7, 2020

This course is highly recommended for any one at any age if you are thinking you are not able to learn any new things any more. Do not despair! The course is broken down into very simple but impactful parts with videos not more than 5 minutes each. This helps to prevent fatigue and also helps in my learning. Engaging, fun and very useful materials!

By Lisardo P G

May 6, 2017

Another outstanding MOOC by Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski. Very instructive, motivating and inspirational. The course is mainly composed by catchy videos that are succinct, really funny, and in most cases, helpful and revealing. The tasks to be done are easy and they do not take too much time to be completed.

Definitely recommended.

By Jorge B C

Jul 13, 2020

Applause, for making this inspirational MOOC to everyone. This made my life change my point of view from different perspectives and I am so happy that one by one, I am now discovering the answers to my questions in life. I can't wait to be a mentor of someone or some people that will also be inspired like me. Kudos to these instructors! #Mindshift

By Vidhi V

Aug 31, 2020

Mindshift is one of the best MOOCs I have attended and I am glad that I chose this apart from many others as this has given me a completely new perspective to whole new world of possibilities. I must congratulate Barbara for brilliant presentation and be able to keep the learner hooked on the MOOC. There was no reason for not completing this one!

By Fiona R

Oct 30, 2017

This course is really appropriate for all levels of learners. I feel it helps to have some business experience to appreciate the context Barb provides around changing careers, but it would certainly be excellent exposure for those early or later in their careers as well. Superb organization and execution. Not a minute wasted. Highly recommend.

By Felicia V

Jul 30, 2017

A suitable MOOC for everyone served in bite size pieces. All the materials are taught in a metaphor and sometimes pictures, which makes it easier to grasp. Definitely one of the best MOOCs of all time and I don't regret any second from learning this. I never thought 4 weeks of taking this course would broaden my perspectives on how to see things.

By Rocío G R P

Aug 6, 2020

Esté es un curso fuera de serie, de verdad se aprenden aspectos que por mucho tiempo los tenemos como prejuicios y acá nos hacen ver que las cosas no son como la pensábamos, el aceptar que no tener una memoria privilegiada puede ser una gran ventaja cambia totalmente el panorama de querer aprender, es un excelente curso y altamente recomendable.

By nishi t

Aug 6, 2020

I positively loved this course. It has helped me introspect, reduced my anxiety and made me a happier person. Concepts of pomodoro, diffused thinking, mastering pie & T of skills, value of persistence with flexibility have imbibed in me a hunger for lifelong learning. It has given me skills to become a good mentor and delivering professional.