Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
3,791 ratings
995 reviews

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

TM

Feb 12, 2018

I really enjoyed the first course, Learn 2Learn. The female professor is great but the boring old guy should have been kicked out of the course, as he do not provide anything of value for the course.

SN

Jan 18, 2018

Thank you Barbara. It was really enjoyable trip with you in this course. I have found many new learning techniques. Your positive behavior was very encouraging for me to begin a new list of my life!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 976 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Santos H

Jun 20, 2017

Amazing course, if you have taken Barbara Oakey's previous course Learning How to Learn and enjoyed it, you will enjoy this one, too. Barbara breaks down many of problems of today and the future with practical and well supported advice that will serve you well for years to come in the information age.

By Brunno F d P

Jun 01, 2017

Very interesting MOOC, with a lot of insights and techniques for those who wants to follow a lifelong learning approach.

By Piter H

Jul 09, 2018

Great MOOC, example for other MOOC's.

By Andrey A

Nov 26, 2017

Thank you for the course!

It was very engaging and really interesting to me.

Bravo!

By Olaf D

May 24, 2017

This was a wonderful, well presented course. I benefitted highly from it and recommend the course by all means

By Mary-Jude E

Jul 11, 2017

Enjoyed taking this course and like the professors' style of lectures and teaching.

By Sameer Z

Oct 15, 2017

Dr. Oakley's courses and books are always a pleasure to read and experience

By Jacqueline O

Jun 25, 2017

Outstanding course!

Great information that will help you understanding better ways to learn and see that you can do more.

Thank you

By Billie J

Sep 04, 2017

Another great course, with great analogies and ideas.

By Jaideep J R

May 03, 2017

You are seriously going to be a different person after you complete the course. Do this with a commitment to complete the material and also being open to a positive change in life.

By Chus

Jun 07, 2017

Great!!!

By Joseph F

May 12, 2017

Fantastic course!

By Sohail

Jun 04, 2017

great course.

By Natalia F

Oct 16, 2017

Great course! great strategies for manage stress and be more productive!

By Reinout V

Jun 07, 2017

Great course, an excellent companion to Learning how to Learn!

By Nicolas R S

May 03, 2017

Excellent course, as those that Barbara Oakley has us accustomed to.

By Maria C T

Jul 25, 2017

Good course. Simple language and ideas for a powerful message and changes. The course really changed my perspective on learning.

By Mallory G

May 24, 2017

So many tips and resources. Fab!

By Maria B

Sep 14, 2017

Great lesson , gained knowledge , keep up the good work people!!

By Galyna K

Jun 03, 2017

Great as other Barb's course!

By Danica B

Sep 21, 2017

It's a great course, a brush up on Learning how to Learn and expanding it to realize - you can learn anything!It reviews basically all the concepts from Learning how to Learn, and builds wonderfully.If you are doubting whether you can learn something or if you keep failing and procrastinating, this course will give you amazing advice supported by research on what to do to improve the position you're in :)

By Ismael F V

Jan 16, 2018

Totally loved it

By Ramya H

May 01, 2017

This course has been a good refresher of Learning How to Learn and has helped me clear my mind about how I can inculcate those habits and take the momentum forward. I recommend it to anyone who is looking to be a lifetime learner

By Vladimir

Oct 01, 2017

Highly Recommended Course for everyone. Easy and fun go through, yet provides with very powerful concepts.

By Christiane G

May 08, 2017

Helpful mix of practical advise and background to understand why some things work and others don't. Fun ! And one of the few courses that will have a practical impact on my life. Whatever the magic, great Job! I wish all the things I learned had such an adequate mix so that I could imediatly start applying what I learn without sometimes years going by before I actually understand what a theory or model is trying to explain.