Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
12,310 ratings

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

EC

Aug 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

DP

Aug 13, 2021

A great course for learners to know more about how to learn and give them a fresh perspective about learning and being successful in life. A great sequel after the renowned MOOC Learning How to Learn.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 3,532 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By M .

Aug 6, 2019

my first MOOC and was very helpful, the instructor is fun and present the material in an easy understandable way. I've also enjoyed the assignments and discussions. hope to see more courses from this instructor in the near future.

By Dinh D P

Aug 14, 2021

A great course for learners to know more about how to learn and give them a fresh perspective about learning and being successful in life. A great sequel after the renowned MOOC Learning How to Learn.

By Albiser T

Jul 5, 2019

Mindshift semble plutôt être une occasion pour ses deux créateurs de refaire un mooc après le succès de "learning to learn" sans rien à redire sur le sujet. Il n'y a que redite ou évidence, jamais de fondements scientifiques comme il pouvait y en avoir sur leur premier MOOC, mais uniquement l'exemple de la vie de madame Oakley illustré par 2-3 autres personnes qui semblent uniquement avoir été choisi pour confirmer ses propos. Très scientifique tout cela... Dr Sejnowski quant à lui est constamment à côté de la plaque et l'on ne comprend pas l'utilité de ses interventions....

Très déçu par ce MOOC qui n'a rien à voir avec le très bon "Learning to Learn", on est plus ici dans du développement personnel à deux balles qui fait insulte à la science.

Je ne saurais même pas dire ce que j'ai pu y apprendre.

By Swapnil D

May 16, 2021

This course is probably _not_ an eye-opener for most people and it is not meant to drastically change your perspective about yourself or the others around you. Instead, it's an excellent pocket guide to help you rethink and reconsider you learn and approach your career and profession. The course does an excellent job of tying in some practical wisdom with scientific research. Hidden within this course is some great advice, tips and plenty of motivation that people from all walks of life will find extremely useful regardless of their age, cultural background or where they are in their career.

By Vicky L

May 5, 2021

Another great course was written by Barbara - clear, to the point, and fun to watch. She does such a great job of making ideas easy to comprehend and in a way that sticks in your brain for a long time to come. She is a truly talented teacher; she shows us the dedication, work, and fun that goes into taking the time to really get the message across to students. Makes you wonder just how many sub-par teachers we've had in the past in school or college, don't you think?

By Patama G

May 29, 2021

I would recommend this course as the first course for Coursera. If you are an adult learner, this course gives you useful concepts to enhance your lifelong learning ability (learning how to learn). If you are a teacher, this course will be an example of a very engaged online course (learning how to teach).

By Sandy A

May 22, 2021

Really a good course. I think it should be mandatory! Fantastic! I gave me techniques to improve my concentration and to handle or channel better negative thoughts or emotions. Loved it!

By Tiffany C P

May 24, 2021

I learned a lot on how to use my talents in other ways and to apply to another career path. Also how to use your passion toward your job or other jobs. I enjoyed this class immensely.

By SURARIHA . P

Aug 8, 2019

It's my first MOOC course. Its really awesome that I got to know about this course. And now I have learnt a lot about Mind shift, will surely try to utilize this my life! :)

By Satyaveer P

Sep 24, 2020

This course has helped me have a whole new perspective in life! It has led me to believe that change is possible through small, conscious effort daily.

By L Z

May 20, 2021

Excellent and life-changing course. Sadly, no teachers teach us how to learn effectively at middle/high school/college.

By 江祖榮

Aug 2, 2019

Very useful and practical

By Yuliya A S

Nov 22, 2021

Loved it.

By YM

Aug 11, 2017

This course wasn't as eye-opening to me as "Learning How to Learn" was, but nonetheless I still learned some interesting things, so I think it was still well worth the time.

The transcripts of the lecture videos seemed to have more grammatical errors, but that was only a slight inconvenience.

Also note that there are some quiz questions that ask about some of the concepts mentioned from the "Learning How to Learn" course.

Despite those concerns, overall the contents of Mindshift had some obvious points to it such as how it's never too late to learn something or change your career path (regardless of your age, gender, ethnicity, etc.), anyone can learn anything at any time, and people should be open-minded about their opportunities and surroundings.

Of course, there are some specifics that the course covers that provide extra detail to the obvious points I mentioned above (as well as other not-so-obvious points).

And to be fair I guess this course was more of a course that was meant to boost your confidence and encourage you to maintain your humility than anything else anyway.

If you expected to learn something you didn't already know, then that's not going to happen that often in this course. It is still worth the time though. After all, this course is "Mindshift", now "Mindblow".

It's supposed to convince you to change your perspective and remember the things that you may have forgotten such as your own self-confidence. It's not meant to outsmart you.

By Deleted A

Jul 1, 2018

In general, this was a fascinating course that debunked many of the beliefs I had about learning. I found Professor Oakley's personal anecdotes about switching careers from languages to engineering to be inspiring, since I'm making the same jump. All of the lectures were very high-level, but there were links to more in-depth research papers in the resources section, which was a nice balance. That being said, I think this course could be reduced to two weeks, instead of four. The lectures started to drag towards the end. Certain segments of Week 4 felt more like advertisements for the course than lectures. Other than that, I'd like to see more interviews with career changers and expert learners. The concepts were interesting, but having practical advice from people who have actually changed their mindset and learning habits would be more beneficial.

By Johannes G A B

Mar 30, 2020

There is nothing wrong with the course, and I am sure it can help plenty of people, but I personally found the content can be a bit "common sense" for a lot of people, to the point where you can pass every exam without spending any time on the content of the course.

May be life-changing for others, but while I think the content itself is good, it kinda told me what I already knew a lot of the times.

By tousif d

Sep 16, 2017

The course basically revises the Learn how to learn earlier course with extra learning on the MOOC which is really a off topic for this subject and additional points on the career front which are really well thought off. Overall, I like the earlier course "Learn how to learn" more than this but definitely I got some good points from this course too which I would like to think and follow.

By luiz.cunha@axa-im.com

Jun 2, 2018

Have the feeling most of this MOOC is a simple repeat of the (great) first MOOC on which it is based, "Learning how to learn". Much less added value, except for the great optional videos from Nelson Dellis

By Thomas L

Jul 22, 2017

Well executed MOOC but more appropriate for students who are starting their university education of careers. I found some aspects new and interesting too. But I expected something different from the title.

By A. N

Mar 24, 2018

Since I've taken the Learning How to Learn course first, I find this course rather repetitive most of the time.

By Budi S

Aug 26, 2021

MOOC transformed my life and this course is the mother of all MOOCs. Not to mention, bonus videos from Nelson Dellis are perfect complement for this course, making it into one of the most fun & enjoyable courses.

Note: intentionally put 1-star rating, so that people who want to look at negative opinions are misled into reading positive review from me

By C. L R

Sep 4, 2017

I am a long-time vipassana meditator. I lost interest with the course when teacher presented vipassana meditation very incorrectly - even mispronouncing the word! After that, I did not trust her qualifications to teach.

By Devendra L

Apr 19, 2020

by mistakenly i have register this courser

By VIHANG G P

Jul 8, 2020

Do not Receive Honors Certificate

By easy L A c

Oct 10, 2020

Contains not good