Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
12,683 ratings

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

SM

Jun 21, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

EC

Aug 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 3,625 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Akila P

Jul 18, 2017

It is a great course, simple to understand while conveying a lot of value. Thank you for the course.

By Olha R

May 9, 2017

Great course! Very interesting and easy to understand. Thank you Barbara and Terrence very much!

By Natalie W

May 5, 2017

Thank you Barbara, Terrence and their team for this excellent course! Wonderful mooc experience!

By Robin R

Jun 7, 2017

It wasn't really different from the other course but it was still good use of a great reminder.

By Bach V T

Jul 15, 2023

The course is very makes sense to a student like me! Many thanks Mentors and Coursera, xoxo!

By Sebastian

May 9, 2017

Really great course. I highly recommend it. Barbara is an excellent teacher in every aspect!

By Sye

May 21, 2017

Really effective course to get one up and runing out of rut. As well as enhancing learning

By Tadeusz M

May 11, 2017

Another wonderful MOOC by the creators of "Learning How To Learn". Enjoyed both very much.

By Başak B G

May 3, 2017

It was pleasure after Learning How to Learn Mooc... This is the second MOOC I completed...

By Julius C

May 4, 2017

Larger perspective gained for my life and career from this course. Highly recommended.

By Daria

Apr 22, 2017

Amazing course, very helpful and clarifying about productivity, changing and learning

By CVR.MURTHY

Jun 26, 2017

this was one of the best MOOC courses I have done. Thanks Dr.Oakley & Dr. Sejnowski.

By Mohamed S

May 8, 2017

A really essential part after completing the marvellous MOOC 'Learning how to Learn'

By Pavan B

Apr 15, 2017

Excellent material beautifully structured and delivered. 5 min videos easy to grasp.

By Mary-Jude E

Jul 11, 2017

Enjoyed taking this course and like the professors' style of lectures and teaching.

By Fredia D

Aug 4, 2017

Phenomenal course. I have gone through it twice and learn something new each time.

By Vasileios K

Jul 23, 2017

Excellent course! Highly recommended to everyone! I cannot wait for the next MOOC!

By Bahar Y

Jun 6, 2017

Thanks for the grate reminding data's which I think anybody needs to know lifetime

By Omair A

May 14, 2017

First week done and it's amazing, just like the first one, Learning how to learn.

By Ravindra G

May 2, 2017

5-star course with pragmatic material to help us continue to be lifelong learners

By Ismo H

Jun 28, 2017

Excellent course. I gained a lot of great insight taking it. Highly recommended!

By Mary S

Jul 6, 2017

It was a great mind opener for me. Thanks a million to all who took part in it.

By Carm E

Jun 6, 2017

This course helped me reframe my path positively.

It was a self-esteem booster.

By Fiona L

Jun 15, 2017

Inspiring - I wish this course had been available when I was in grade school!

By Ana M

Jul 29, 2017

I love Barbara Oakley and her way of teaching. The subjects are always great