Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
12,683 ratings

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

SM

Jun 21, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

EC

Aug 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 3,625 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Lukas K

Jul 5, 2017

Way better in production value than LHTL but I think it provides less content than previous MOOC but still very good MOOC.

By Daniel R

May 3, 2017

Perfect MOOC - along with Learning How To Learn this MOOC: Mindshift must be part of the "starting kit" for MOOC learners.

By Kate Y

Apr 28, 2017

I really enjoyed this course! I have learned new skills and important new mindsets to take into future MOOCs. Thank you!

By Omodiaogbe S

Apr 13, 2017

The course gives deeper understanding of how to overcome obstacles we might set for ourselves by limiting our capabilities

By Brunno F d P

May 31, 2017

Very interesting MOOC, with a lot of insights and techniques for those who wants to follow a lifelong learning approach.

By Liam Z

May 20, 2021

Excellent and life-changing course. Sadly, no teachers teach us how to learn effectively at middle/high school/college.

By Dianne M W

Jun 20, 2023

Really enjoyed this course, full of interesting information about learning. Barbara Oakley is a wonderful instructor.

By Jesszika U

Jun 14, 2017

Interesting, well structured material. Nice personalites, easy to follow thoughts. I liked the quizes too. Thank you

By amardeep m

Jun 30, 2017

It was an excellent learning experience and got really very fresh and new perspective to move in my career path...

By Alek T

Jun 23, 2017

If you like learning this course is for you. The course is full with practical and easy to understand information.

By Arpita A

Jul 11, 2023

Excellent course. I throughly liked the course.

The language and anecdotes are very useful and easy to understand.

By Vân Đ

May 29, 2017

It's very wonderful. It helps me improve my weakness and find a way to study effectively! Thanks Barbara Oakley!

By jinxiu

May 26, 2017

This course helps me a lot, I start to think my life , figure out what I want ,and how to make a plan to achieve

By Mary S

May 22, 2017

It's always valuable to learn different ways of learning and thinking. I really appreciated the mind shake up!

By Rishabh M

Jul 14, 2023

This is very interesting if you focus and listen to the key factor information of every video and assignement.

By Olaf D

May 24, 2017

This was a wonderful, well presented course. I benefitted highly from it and recommend the course by all means

By Rz

May 16, 2017

Awesome course n great instructors. Loved the course. Looking forward to more courses with both of them soon.

By Barbara H

Jun 20, 2017

An easy MOOC that gave me so much insight into myself and provided me with learning tools I will use daily.

By Fatima Z F F

Jun 4, 2017

I enjoyed taking this course and it encouraged me to do a new shift in my professional carrier reasonablly.

By Mark P

May 31, 2017

Another quality course from Barbara and Terence. Thank you, you're both making a big difference to my life!

By Laura P

Jul 26, 2017

Clear and straight forward! It's a must to understand better our careers and to develop our full potential

By Antonio G N

May 5, 2017

Excellent course! I learned awesome tricks to deal with stressful emotions and earned a lot of self esteem

By Alexander Y

Jul 30, 2017

Nice motivational course with lots of concepts of personal lifetime learning and development synthesized!

By Alexander P

Jun 22, 2023

Short but very useful course. Recommend to take it and see how you can diversify your view and approach

By Luis A C V

May 29, 2017

I loved it! I will be getting the book and keep on re-visiting this course to keep the motivation on.