Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
12,683 ratings

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

DI

Oct 30, 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

EC

Aug 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 3,625 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Nagendranath Y R

May 24, 2023

It's a great course where you will learn how skills in one field help you in another leading to an invention sometimes. Thanks to Barbara mam and Terry Sir for the sincere efforts in making the course so crisp and clear.

By Said F

May 28, 2017

Great efforts and Great people behind .. I am appreciate every hands behind this magnificent work ...in my point of view .. the precious thing on this life is LOVE .. and that is what I can give to you ... I LOVE YOU

By s s

Jul 1, 2017

Excellent MOOC

I enjoyed taking this course and i would visit time and time again to learn and relearn as each time i watch the videos i understand something new. Thank you Barbara and Terry for an amazing course.

By Carla L D

Aug 7, 2017

Thank you! This course has helped to increase my confidence and has motivated me to make changes in my study habits as well as realizing that no matter my academic failures, I can still learn and be successful.

By Gloria Z

Jun 7, 2017

I have recommended this course to everyone I know including those I know with brain injuries, thank you both for creating and sharing your respective knowledge in such an engaging and refreshing manner.

By Konstantin C

May 5, 2017

This is more easy course than previous one from Barbara. I think it is better to take this course before the "Learning How To Learn" course. Five stars! Barbara and Terrence thank you very much!

By Gonzalo

May 30, 2017

Genial !!!!!!! recomiendo este curso a cualquier ser humano !!!!!!!!!! una herramienta muy necesaria en estos dias !!!!!!!!!aprendi muchisimo y gracias a el aprendere mucho mas en el futuro !!!!!

By Burak M

Jul 30, 2017

I loved the content and the enhancing images inserted in the video. Also, it helps me to overcome my emotional barriers while learning new things. Thank you! I'm glad that I've taken this MOOC.

By Fernanda d O S

Jul 20, 2017

This course was very useful to teach me some things about my own learning experience and about how I can improve it and make myself even better. It made me very happy and now I feel motivated.

By Sandy A

May 22, 2021

Really a good course. I think it should be mandatory! Fantastic! I gave me techniques to improve my concentration and to handle or channel better negative thoughts or emotions. Loved it!

By Karen D W

Jul 4, 2023

Great review of how we learn and why its so important to keep learning and be open to the possibility that even your hobbies and past interests can assist you in mastering new material.

By Tiffany C P

May 24, 2021

I learned a lot on how to use my talents in other ways and to apply to another career path. Also how to use your passion toward your job or other jobs. I enjoyed this class immensely.

By Pamela S

May 24, 2023

Exceptional course; invaluable information to guide you through many of life's challenges - especially changing careers, updating skills and reinventing yourself for another career.

By Andreia D

Jul 21, 2017

This was my first online learning experience, and I must say this was an excelent MOOC.

The way is is organized and the material available for learning is actually very interesting.

By Jaideep R

May 2, 2017

You are seriously going to be a different person after you complete the course. Do this with a commitment to complete the material and also being open to a positive change in life.

By Luis E R H

May 1, 2017

Lifelong Learning is the main idea I got from the course, but more than the concept, the course gave me how to set my mind properly and skills towards the goal of lifelong learning

By Jeff B

Jun 2, 2023

A little more in-depth than the Learning to Learn course. Still, it was a great course. Lots of insight on things that I thought were the norm, but the course proved otherwise.

By Erikton K

May 31, 2017

An excellent continuation of "Learning How To Learn" with more insights and broader coverage of the ideas around learning, and within the scope of leading a learning lifestyle.

By SURARIHA . P

Aug 8, 2019

It's my first MOOC course. Its really awesome that I got to know about this course. And now I have learnt a lot about Mind shift, will surely try to utilize this my life! :)

By Subbalakshmi K

Jun 15, 2017

Brilliant! This is a course which everyone must take irrespective of which level of study they are in. Also for general learning enthusiasts who aren't into formal learning!

By Dorian M

Jun 3, 2017

This is simply awesome! I am in the midst of a career change and this course provides lots of insights! I am sure I will come back to study the material as time goes on.

By Tim C

Jun 4, 2017

a wonderfully carried out MOOC, but I suggest one little improvement: could we have the script of the videos available to us? just like the learning how to learning MOOC?

By Gautier Y

Jul 19, 2023

The course was well organized!

After all, the important thing is to put into practice what we received. There is always a way to learn new things and learn more. Thanks!

By Alexa M

May 23, 2017

A very well-done course; it excels at everything: content, delivery, pacing, syllabus structure, scripting, video editing, images, quiz design, etc. Highly recommended.

By Srikar K

Jun 13, 2017

A worthy successor to Learning How to Learn, Mindshift builds upon many of the concepts introduced in the former as well as introduces many more! Worth the time spent