Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
12,680 ratings

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

SM

Jun 21, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

DP

Aug 13, 2021

A great course for learners to know more about how to learn and give them a fresh perspective about learning and being successful in life. A great sequel after the renowned MOOC Learning How to Learn.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 3,625 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By RM

Jun 2, 2017

Great course. Lots of good ideas for overcoming obstacles to learning. Should be mandatory for college and graduate students, entry-level professionals and senior professionals. I enjoyed listening to and watch Barb. She does a great job of making seemingly unremarkable content interesting. Bravo!

By Pamela M

May 30, 2017

Loved the course. It was a great experience as my first completed MOOC. It was however, a little easier than I expected to complete. I absolutely loved the Memory Tip videos. Would have been great to have some take home articles, references, etc.

By Nadir C

Jul 31, 2017

As far as the promise of the course goes, it delivered on it.

Easy to follow, and get through, insightful, fun, and most of all helpful and relevant.

Will leave you with a zeal to learn, and some useful tips and hacks to go down that route.

By Carlos A d M

Jun 2, 2017

The course topics are very interesting and enlightening. I got good results and the expectation that I had regarding the course was overcome. I liked it a lot and I am adopting the philosophy of constant learning for the rest of my life.

By kousay a

Apr 25, 2017

This is an important course for your own personal development. Personal and professional challenges have to be dealt with effectively and rationally . Take this course and enjoy new ideas and techniques for developing yourself.

By Eric M

Jul 6, 2017

I am a big fan of Barbara and her approach. This course seemed like a worthy sequel to learning how to learn - but not quite as eye-opening or challenging. It seemed like a sequel ...

By Imad E M

Jul 26, 2017

Amazing course, I really loved the way of deliviring insights and concepts in a funny way, as well as it discuss very important concepts about learning and memorization

By Diogo M

Jun 27, 2017

It is an interesting course complementing the other MOOC Learning How To Learn, which I think have more in deep content than this one (MindShift).

By Alhasan A

Jul 3, 2017

It's a pretty solid course. I can't help but compare it with Learning how to learn, though. And I feel like there was more content therein

By Deleted A

Jun 6, 2017

Very good course, explains a lot of thing that you realize in your life but you don't know you have and can use in your job and life

By Santiago B

Jul 29, 2017

It was a short and clear MOOCS and it complimented very well at "Learning How To Learn". I recommend to take that one first.

By Sabina K K

Aug 9, 2017

The course is very interesting but in comparison to Learning How to Learn it gives less practical informations and ideas.

By Agathe N

May 28, 2017

Great course but I still prefered the learning how to learn mooc that, according to me, seemed to go deeper.

By Ernesto G

May 14, 2017

Overall nice mooc, with powerful tips and tricks for becoming the best possible learner one can be.

By Christopher J

Jul 20, 2017

I am thankful of the teacher's who took time and worked on the preparation of this course.

By Karan P

Aug 5, 2017

It is a very good course. Very helpful to step back and think wherever you are in life.

By Judith G

Aug 10, 2017

Amazing course! Enjoyed every lesson as it was engaging and interactive

By Bibek C

Jul 15, 2017

It was really helpful course about how to learn and what to do in life

By Reyna M J P

Aug 1, 2017

great course! It gives you more information about yourself.

By Anvarjonov N

Jun 22, 2017

It was such a course that made me believe myself and

By Vinod P

Jun 30, 2017

it should be learning based and not question based

By Leonildes I d L

Aug 3, 2017

Excelent course for all field in our lives.

By Mohamed A s

Apr 25, 2017

it was a great

By Luka

Apr 15, 2017

Good course.

By Johannes G A B

Mar 30, 2020

There is nothing wrong with the course, and I am sure it can help plenty of people, but I personally found the content can be a bit "common sense" for a lot of people, to the point where you can pass every exam without spending any time on the content of the course.

May be life-changing for others, but while I think the content itself is good, it kinda told me what I already knew a lot of the times.