Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
11,269 ratings
3,264 reviews

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

DI
Oct 30, 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

EC
Aug 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

Filter by:

2976 - 3000 of 3,261 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Melanie P

May 4, 2020

I enjoyed taking this course as I begin taking online courses again. It was a refreshing way to engage myself and re-learn the proper tools to be successful in both online learning and a career change.

By Cosette F

Mar 30, 2021

For the most part, this MOOC was interesting and can serve as a valuable tool - especially for someone older, like myself. It tended to drag just a bit at times, but I thought it was helpful.

By Alicja R

Aug 27, 2017

It's a nice light course, that gives you a sense of accomplishment. There could be more practical tips, but overall it's great to watch the videos once a week and think about their meaning.

By Taryn Q

Apr 20, 2021

Was a pretty basic but interesting and enjoyable MOOC. Would definitely recommend if you're interested in what kinds of things you can do to help yourself and your learning in the future.

By Poonyaban S

Apr 14, 2020

This course does not your mind-shift only but also makes your brain opened and ready for learning new things. Including creativity and self-discipline. That is so awesome and fantastic!!

By krisli h

Jun 10, 2019

While this course doesn't have as many specific aids to the process of learning new skills, it is excellent at showing why broad lifelong learning is a practice that enhances your life.

By Sílvia I

Mar 11, 2018

This course allows you to overcome some obstacles and beliefs that are limiting, creating the perception of the possibility of anyone being able to change their thinking and their life.

By Eric M

Jul 6, 2017

I am a big fan of Barbara and her approach. This course seemed like a worthy sequel to learning how to learn - but not quite as eye-opening or challenging. It seemed like a sequel ...

By Aneta J

Jan 1, 2018

There were quite many information from the previous course (Learning how to learn) repeated at the beginning. It was quite boring for me. However, it´s done in interactive and fun way.

By Daniel S

Aug 26, 2018

I enjoyed this course and found it to be useful in helping me see the various aspects of learning. It was good for self reflection on how I learn and ways I can improve my learning.

By Harpreet K D

May 2, 2021

I learned a lot of new ideas of group communication in a simple & confident way. And also good illustrations for visuals & sounds which assist in the learning & managing process.

By chace

Apr 2, 2020

In fact, some topic overlaps with Learning how to learn, so it has no new idea if you have spent time on Learning how to learn. But, how to select one's career has some inspire.

By Mariana D

Oct 21, 2020

This is my first ever MOOC and I really enjoyed it. It was easy to follow and complete. I like all the ideas and concepts introduced and found ways to apply in my personal life.

By Rusmawati S

Jun 4, 2020

It might be fundamental to take this course before you take any other course in this MOOC, it provides you with a proper mindset to start to learn and improve yourself better.

By Vasu J

Apr 17, 2020

A course truly made from heart and passion. Helped in creating vital new perspectives. I'm glad I enrolled. Many things learnt. Thanks to the professors who created this MOOC.

By Matthew B

Jul 8, 2018

Good, but overlapped with Learning How to Learn and wasn't as informative, but would 100% recommend. It still gave me valuable life insight that I will use for my whole life.

By Digby D

Nov 8, 2017

Highly recommended for non-traditional students, first generation college students, recreational learners, and students who feel otherwise underprepared for starting college.

By Anne S M

Aug 2, 2019

This MOOC, introduced me to breaking through obstacles, how to follow and complete a mooc. This was really inspiring, and helped me mindshift to reach my highest potential.

By Benjamin M W

Sep 17, 2017

The course had some great mental and memorisation tricks in it. Really liked the tutor's style and honesty. I wish more tutors would present their material in the same way.

By R. R

Aug 19, 2020

Needless to say, but this is an outstanding course! Mindshift is rewarding to individuals who are seeking for novel knowledge and improvement of their hidden potentials.

By Oleksandr T

Feb 20, 2018

Creat course! If you want to find out some tips to improve your learing process in whatever, of you are just shifting into another field, this course is exactly for you.

By IMAD E M

Jul 26, 2017

Amazing course, I really loved the way of deliviring insights and concepts in a funny way, as well as it discuss very important concepts about learning and memorization

By mary o

Aug 14, 2017

I finished this course because it was interesting. What made it interesting was the incorporation of visual stimulations and also because the videos were not too long.

By Megan P

Oct 6, 2020

The info in this MOOC is valuable for many areas of your life. Probably a good idea to take this class more than once as a refresher. Barbara is an engaging teacher.

By Héctor R R M

Apr 13, 2020

Nice course! I liked the videos, the examples and the always fresh aproach of the teachers. The only sugestion I have is to spend less time taking about MOOC design,