Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
11,275 ratings
3,265 reviews

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

DI
Oct 30, 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

SM
Jun 21, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

Filter by:

3001 - 3025 of 3,263 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Megan P

Oct 6, 2020

The info in this MOOC is valuable for many areas of your life. Probably a good idea to take this class more than once as a refresher. Barbara is an engaging teacher.

By Héctor R R M

Apr 13, 2020

Nice course! I liked the videos, the examples and the always fresh aproach of the teachers. The only sugestion I have is to spend less time taking about MOOC design,

By Kim W

Jun 27, 2020

Covers a lot but strangely was so spot on for where I am at this moment in my life. I found it very helpful and will be implementing many of the suggestions.

By Mike B

May 22, 2019

Packed full of insights and techniques about ways to approach learning and change in your life, both personally and professionally. Fun and easy to follow.

By SARUN P

Apr 17, 2020

This would be a good class for a person who don't open mind for a new things to learn. For me I learn many things and really inspire me to start doing it.

By JUEGO, A J P

Jun 5, 2020

It's a great help for me especially at the time that we are adjusting in the new normal for education, and everything else causes by the pandemic.

By Diogo M

Jun 27, 2017

It is an interesting course complementing the other MOOC Learning How To Learn, which I think have more in deep content than this one (MindShift).

By Deleted A

May 8, 2018

Very Insightful. I would recommend take the course really slowly and actively asking yourself the breakthrough quotes, like what is your mission?

By Cheryl B

Aug 18, 2018

This is my first course through Cousera. I found it engaging, the information was useful, the pace was good. I look forward to other courses.

By Ritisha S

Nov 18, 2020

It's a great platform to know what you do and why you do. I really loved this course. This course has changed my way of thinking towards life.

By Deleted A

Jul 6, 2020

Well, It is a well organized course. Instructor of this course well explained every single aspects. I enjoyed a lot this course. Thank You :)

By sagar c

May 29, 2020

It is an amazing course with a great video editing however in some of the videos I found the animation sound between the video was irritable

By Punyaporn T

May 15, 2020

I attain a lot positive thinking to change my self as well as desire everyone to learn this course gain a good thinking to change your life.

By Margaret M

Apr 5, 2020

It is a very useful course, well put and there is a good effort put into it.

The main instructor Barbara Oakley seems a caring teacher :)

By Alhasan A

Jul 3, 2017

It's a pretty solid course. I can't help but compare it with Learning how to learn, though. And I feel like there was more content therein

By Mudit M

Jul 14, 2020

It's a really great course for all those who are looking at new ways to learn and are trying to figure out their career path as a whole

By Mohamed H

Nov 19, 2019

Short BUT Gold

Very important and Valuable notes included.

Now, I'm sure I can go better with my life.

I'll keep learning to death.

Thanks.

By Poornachandra P

Apr 5, 2020

it was great experience learning and understanding potential of aperson.it broadened my perspectives about learning and development.

By Nichole M

Mar 27, 2020

This was a great stepping stone for me to open my mind to not only learning new skills but accessing my old skills to help me do so.

By Victoria N

Aug 27, 2017

Very engaging! The short segments really help in managing time and the progression of learning in this course. Great instructors !

By Andres A

Jun 6, 2017

Very good course, explains a lot of thing that you realize in your life but you don't know you have and can use in your job and life

By Preetaya G

Aug 2, 2020

Good content. Few places I found things being repeated by just change of words however it was a good course and motivating lessons.

By Manan C G

May 20, 2020

Amazing course, Some terrific eye-opening concepts with best course material and super friendly and understandable course teachers.

By Fenichi L

Dec 21, 2020

This is a good course. It would be better if the editing is more up to date and if the delivery of the instructor is more natural.

By Ahmed M E

Apr 2, 2020

I found it covered many aspects to help me and any body to get attention that he can do more than he expected from him self.

Thanks