Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning: Clustering & Retrieval

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning: Clustering & Retrieval by University of Washington

4.6
stars
2,168 ratings
373 reviews

About the Course

Case Studies: Finding Similar Documents A reader is interested in a specific news article and you want to find similar articles to recommend. What is the right notion of similarity? Moreover, what if there are millions of other documents? Each time you want to a retrieve a new document, do you need to search through all other documents? How do you group similar documents together? How do you discover new, emerging topics that the documents cover? In this third case study, finding similar documents, you will examine similarity-based algorithms for retrieval. In this course, you will also examine structured representations for describing the documents in the corpus, including clustering and mixed membership models, such as latent Dirichlet allocation (LDA). You will implement expectation maximization (EM) to learn the document clusterings, and see how to scale the methods using MapReduce. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Create a document retrieval system using k-nearest neighbors. -Identify various similarity metrics for text data. -Reduce computations in k-nearest neighbor search by using KD-trees. -Produce approximate nearest neighbors using locality sensitive hashing. -Compare and contrast supervised and unsupervised learning tasks. -Cluster documents by topic using k-means. -Describe how to parallelize k-means using MapReduce. -Examine probabilistic clustering approaches using mixtures models. -Fit a mixture of Gaussian model using expectation maximization (EM). -Perform mixed membership modeling using latent Dirichlet allocation (LDA). -Describe the steps of a Gibbs sampler and how to use its output to draw inferences. -Compare and contrast initialization techniques for non-convex optimization objectives. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top reviews

JM
Jan 16, 2017

Excellent course, well thought out lectures and problem sets. The programming assignments offer an appropriate amount of guidance that allows the students to work through the material on their own.

BK
Aug 24, 2016

excellent material! It would be nice, however, to mention some reading material, books or articles, for those interested in the details and the theories behind the concepts presented in the course.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 361 Reviews for Machine Learning: Clustering & Retrieval

By Susree S M

Nov 14, 2018

This course is very useful to know about the concepts of machine learning and do hands-on activities.

By Gaston F

Oct 10, 2016

This course was awesome as all the previous courses, I'm waiting to the next course and the capstone

By Sayan B

Dec 5, 2019

This is actually a tremendous course. Assignments are not so good, but the materials are wonderful.

By Suresh K P

Dec 21, 2017

Interesting, lot of Algorithms and methods to use iin upcoming projects and real time applications

By Gillian P

Jul 23, 2017

A very good course with two engaging and sympathetic teachers. Would love to see the next courses

By Neemesh J

Oct 28, 2019

Coursera is the best learning app. I am really thankful for getting very good training lectures.

By Etienne V

Feb 19, 2017

Excellent course! Thanks a lot for the effort in compiling this course... I really enjoyed it!

By Aakash S

Jun 18, 2019

Such a clear explanation of topics of clustering. Without doubt one of the best in business.

By Renato R S

Aug 27, 2016

A perfect and balanced introduction to the subjects, adding theory and practice beautifully.

By Noor A K

Jul 4, 2020

I don't know that there was some prerequisite of python.

Please unenroll me from this course

By Yugandhar D

Oct 29, 2018

Excellent course on clustering and retreival. The assignments were thorough and productive.

By Sathiraju E

Mar 3, 2019

Very nice course. Things are well explained, however some concepts could be expanded more.

By Moises V

Oct 30, 2016

I loved this course. then content is designed to acquire strong foundations in clustering.

By Yi W

Sep 27, 2016

As someone very keen on math, more math background as optimal video would be more helpful.

By Priyanshu R S

Nov 27, 2020

These are amazing courses. A big big thanks to the team for making me more knowledgeable.

By austin

Aug 9, 2017

Awesome course. Very detailed and thorough, and the bonus sections are really useful too.

By B P S

May 27, 2020

It helped me to give concepts of machine learning and clustering techniques and modules.

By Venkateshwaralu

Aug 7, 2016

Sets a new benchmark for the specialization !!! A great offering on Machine Learning :)

By Jifu Z

Jul 22, 2016

Good class, But it would be much better if the quiz is open to those who doesn't pay.

By Robi s

Sep 17, 2017

Great instruction, great course, and provide information I used directly in my work.

By Russell H

Oct 9, 2016

Detailed coverage of several approaches to clustering. Not easy but learned a lot.

By Manuel S

Oct 1, 2016

Amazing course, really helpful, as a ML researcher you need this kind of foundation

By Shuyi C

Aug 19, 2019

I think it is easy to understand and good to practice. Nice entry level course!

By Anshumaan K P

Nov 11, 2020

Good Specialization. But some assignments make it more cool i.e, not here :)

By Saint-Clair d C L

Aug 30, 2016

This course has been an amazing experience. Congrats to you, Carlos and Emmy!