Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach by University of Washington

4.6
stars
12,523 ratings
2,995 reviews

About the Course

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top reviews

BL
Oct 16, 2016

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

PM
Aug 18, 2019

The course was well designed and delivered by all the trainers with the help of case study and great examples.\n\nThe forums and discussions were really useful and helpful while doing the assignments.

Filter by:

2876 - 2900 of 2,915 Reviews for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

By Satyam N

Mar 26, 2018

This course doesn't give any insight about the algorithms.

By Paolo G

Apr 18, 2021

This course has no value!!! it's using obsolete tools.

By Batuhan İ

Jun 29, 2021

too old documents

By Mohamed T K

Jun 26, 2020

Too hard

By Richard M

Jul 4, 2021

I​ would avoid this course. The course structure is badly organised and hard to follow, the material covered is lacking in detail on key underlying concepts that are key to learning what you're doing and the notes provided do not provide key information that would let them be used as reference material for you to go back and review.

B​ut - much more importantly - the course notes and information have been written using an old, out of date, library, while the tests and some of the material refers to a newer library that is not a direct replacement. As a result, many of the instructions and guides don't work at all, or are incredibly hard to understand with the new model.

F​inally, also as a result, many of the test question's answers are wrong - when you do the questions using the new library you get an answer that the automatic grading says is wrong - even though it is correct.

A​nd there is no help in the dicusssions from moderators.

S​o while this may have been a passibly acceptable course at one time, it is now basically a frustrating, bi-polar mess, with no help provided to guide you.

By Raza K

Apr 5, 2020

I have a few concerns regarding this course. First of all the instructor strongly suggested that we should use python and turicreate package. I had several difficulties in installing turicreate on my mac. There was no help avaliable on the forum in this regard. Finally, I ignore the instructions and downloaded anaconda and then downloaded turicreate.

But it turns out that the instructors are not using turicreate in lectures but graphlab package. Moreover, the instructors using python 2.7, which has a different syntax than python 3.

This made learning much harder and frustrating.

By vedant m

Jun 12, 2021

i was very excited to start this course but the turicreate causes a lot of problems in your pc as it requires wsl to be installed(whenever i try to load data into sframe for some reason my pc doesnt allow it to read those files in the virtual environment and many technical issues such as that).. i found all of this very frustrating and im extremely disappointed. I tried to fix those technical issues through internet but to no avail. im extremely disappointed and i will unenroll from the course unless they come up with another way for implementing python codes

By Ankur G

May 31, 2021

So much hope - the instructor videos were so energetic - the use-case first approach so cool. BUT - we need to use Turi - and for the life of me I couldn't get it going on Windows. There are multiple forums where people have the same error. I hope they had not forced this - even though they say they are open to any software, I needed Turi to get sframes working.

Please fix it - you seem like great teachers - and it would be a shame to see this course not be leveraged.

By OGRETIM G M D

Jun 12, 2021

You don't have any explanation of how to install turicreate, SFrame ... None of the solutions that I've found out on the web worked out. I've been wasting more than a month for dealing with this kind of problems and also there are many people, who are taking this course, in the forums and dealing with same problems. And there are also some chapters are not available and there is no logical reasoning with that. I feel sorry for choosing this course at the beginning.

By SHRIDHAR B

May 31, 2020

Hi there , I have find difficulty in completing the course, the packages that are used in python are outdated, or that are used in python 2 version like turi create and sframes,, as for now I have python 3 version , so i find difficulty to undustand the coding discussed in the course., or they can use pandas or scikit packages for more convinence, for getting upto date knowledge.so i am sorry, that i have decided to not learn the course

By RAPHAEL B A a

Feb 8, 2021

I did not like the classes, specifically. The videos are monotones and not straightforward. I have been trying to unenroll from it, but the button does not work. Also, trying through the 3 dots on MyCoursera Page does not show the Uneroll option. Therefore, I will rate it with one star because it does not allow me to unenroll from it and these kind of problems are quite common with Coursera.

By Rangarajan m

Aug 31, 2020

Not focusing on Basics of Machine Learning rather to focus on specific software application on Turi . Unable to complete the quiz which is based on non-user friendly Turi software installation.

Please be generic and encourage to use Jupyter Ipython notebook to use common libraries to focus on Machine Learning basics not to promote Turi or specific software to complete the course

By Павел

Jan 20, 2021

Самое трудное это заставить работать используемые в этом курсе библиотеки. Дошло до установки виртуальной Убунты, и то оно так и не заработало на 100%. Да, можно использовать их колабные ноутбуки, но в чем смысл изучать материал на каких-то левых непопулярных и кривых библиотеках, я не понимаю. Надеюсь, что опыт работы с фреймами можно будет применить где-то еще, кроме их курсов.

By Rahul R

Dec 18, 2020

Absolutely no help from the course moderators regarding how to run a program, which they've made it over complicated. I've been using Python for a while now and this is not even remotely student friendly, which has forced me to discontinue the course since I am unable to do the assignment required for the assessment.

By Xiaoshu X

Dec 10, 2020

Sorry, I have to give it up and provide a low rating. I think the materials provided are not connected and make me lost. Especially, I can not download Turicreate on my laptop and have to use Colaboratory. So I learn graphlab and try Graphlab on Colaboratory. All three things make me dizzy.

By Sreekanth K J

Jun 9, 2021

Please mention that users need to use turicreate and sframes etc "only" to complete the assignments.

it is wrongly mentioned that one can complete assignments using any tool but very first assignment is forcing us to use turicreate and sFrames !!

By Vilasha V N

Apr 11, 2020

Not worth doing. Notes are insufficient to help install packages needed to follow the course. Many had posted on the same error message but there has been no guidance. Support is very poor, Course materials are outdated. Not recommended.

By Kyle D

Jul 9, 2020

The software was so difficult to install. It did not seem worth it to learn a completely new way. Unfortunately, I dropped it because the case study approach looked interesting.

By Sahil K

Nov 24, 2020

Software installation was a big trouble and took nearly month as this course was in graphlab, but we need to use turicreate or other toolset.

By Muhammad A A J

Jul 12, 2021

This course is very old and waste of time because libraries used in here are not available for new versions of python.

By Kunal

Sep 22, 2020

its very very hard to setup jupyter notebbok and installing turicreate ,also takes a lot of efffort in practical quiz

By Marius M

Jul 8, 2020

Unable to install turicreate. No troubleshooting instructions, only a link to a blog post that offers little help.

By Florea G A

Oct 11, 2020

Turicreate installation is a hot stone. for that reason I'm not going to pursue this specialization.

By Anoop B

Dec 2, 2020

Terrible course. Poor presentation, unnecessary talks, clumsy video and outdated content.

By andrew r

Nov 25, 2020

A waste of time trying to setup an obsolete environment that is no longer supported.