Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach by University of Washington

4.6
stars
12,602 ratings
3,017 reviews

About the Course

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top reviews

BL
Oct 16, 2016

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

PM
Aug 18, 2019

The course was well designed and delivered by all the trainers with the help of case study and great examples.\n\nThe forums and discussions were really useful and helpful while doing the assignments.

Filter by:

2901 - 2925 of 2,936 Reviews for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

By OGRETIM G M D

Jun 12, 2021

You don't have any explanation of how to install turicreate, SFrame ... None of the solutions that I've found out on the web worked out. I've been wasting more than a month for dealing with this kind of problems and also there are many people, who are taking this course, in the forums and dealing with same problems. And there are also some chapters are not available and there is no logical reasoning with that. I feel sorry for choosing this course at the beginning.

By SHRIDHAR B

May 31, 2020

Hi there , I have find difficulty in completing the course, the packages that are used in python are outdated, or that are used in python 2 version like turi create and sframes,, as for now I have python 3 version , so i find difficulty to undustand the coding discussed in the course., or they can use pandas or scikit packages for more convinence, for getting upto date knowledge.so i am sorry, that i have decided to not learn the course

By RAPHAEL B A a

Feb 8, 2021

I did not like the classes, specifically. The videos are monotones and not straightforward. I have been trying to unenroll from it, but the button does not work. Also, trying through the 3 dots on MyCoursera Page does not show the Uneroll option. Therefore, I will rate it with one star because it does not allow me to unenroll from it and these kind of problems are quite common with Coursera.

By Rangarajan m

Aug 31, 2020

Not focusing on Basics of Machine Learning rather to focus on specific software application on Turi . Unable to complete the quiz which is based on non-user friendly Turi software installation.

Please be generic and encourage to use Jupyter Ipython notebook to use common libraries to focus on Machine Learning basics not to promote Turi or specific software to complete the course

By Павел

Jan 20, 2021

Самое трудное это заставить работать используемые в этом курсе библиотеки. Дошло до установки виртуальной Убунты, и то оно так и не заработало на 100%. Да, можно использовать их колабные ноутбуки, но в чем смысл изучать материал на каких-то левых непопулярных и кривых библиотеках, я не понимаю. Надеюсь, что опыт работы с фреймами можно будет применить где-то еще, кроме их курсов.

By Rahul R

Dec 18, 2020

Absolutely no help from the course moderators regarding how to run a program, which they've made it over complicated. I've been using Python for a while now and this is not even remotely student friendly, which has forced me to discontinue the course since I am unable to do the assignment required for the assessment.

By Xiaoshu X

Dec 10, 2020

Sorry, I have to give it up and provide a low rating. I think the materials provided are not connected and make me lost. Especially, I can not download Turicreate on my laptop and have to use Colaboratory. So I learn graphlab and try Graphlab on Colaboratory. All three things make me dizzy.

By Sreekanth K J

Jun 9, 2021

Please mention that users need to use turicreate and sframes etc "only" to complete the assignments.

it is wrongly mentioned that one can complete assignments using any tool but very first assignment is forcing us to use turicreate and sFrames !!

By Vilasha V N

Apr 11, 2020

Not worth doing. Notes are insufficient to help install packages needed to follow the course. Many had posted on the same error message but there has been no guidance. Support is very poor, Course materials are outdated. Not recommended.

By Kyle D

Jul 9, 2020

The software was so difficult to install. It did not seem worth it to learn a completely new way. Unfortunately, I dropped it because the case study approach looked interesting.

By Ruth P

Aug 20, 2021

Couldn't even get started. Very disappointed that the links to the software required are so out of date and there is no help. Want to un-enroll but can't do that either.

By Sahil K

Nov 24, 2020

Software installation was a big trouble and took nearly month as this course was in graphlab, but we need to use turicreate or other toolset.

By Muhammad A A J

Jul 12, 2021

This course is very old and waste of time because libraries used in here are not available for new versions of python.

By Kunal

Sep 22, 2020

its very very hard to setup jupyter notebbok and installing turicreate ,also takes a lot of efffort in practical quiz

By Marius M

Jul 8, 2020

Unable to install turicreate. No troubleshooting instructions, only a link to a blog post that offers little help.

By Florea G A

Oct 11, 2020

Turicreate installation is a hot stone. for that reason I'm not going to pursue this specialization.

By Anoop B

Dec 2, 2020

Terrible course. Poor presentation, unnecessary talks, clumsy video and outdated content.

By andrew r

Nov 25, 2020

A waste of time trying to setup an obsolete environment that is no longer supported.

By Kailash H S N

Aug 25, 2021

very bad , theyuse SF frames which is not in use now ..very hard to do the quiz

By Sudheesh R S

Jul 11, 2020

No proper directions as to how to work on libraries to be installed.

By Arpit S

May 22, 2020

Improve the quality of quizes. Need to focus more on algorithm part.

By Pratick B

Aug 8, 2021

I​nstallation of Sforce and turi was not shown adequately enough.

By Eunyoung C

Aug 29, 2020

This course could be better to use general python library.

By Christian C

Jun 5, 2021

El curso es bueno pero esta completamente desactualizado

By Sunita b l

Jul 4, 2020

Provide the good notes and video so all concept clear.