Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning: Regression

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning: Regression by University of Washington

4.8
stars
5,404 ratings
1,007 reviews

About the Course

Case Study - Predicting Housing Prices In our first case study, predicting house prices, you will create models that predict a continuous value (price) from input features (square footage, number of bedrooms and bathrooms,...). This is just one of the many places where regression can be applied. Other applications range from predicting health outcomes in medicine, stock prices in finance, and power usage in high-performance computing, to analyzing which regulators are important for gene expression. In this course, you will explore regularized linear regression models for the task of prediction and feature selection. You will be able to handle very large sets of features and select between models of various complexity. You will also analyze the impact of aspects of your data -- such as outliers -- on your selected models and predictions. To fit these models, you will implement optimization algorithms that scale to large datasets. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Describe the input and output of a regression model. -Compare and contrast bias and variance when modeling data. -Estimate model parameters using optimization algorithms. -Tune parameters with cross validation. -Analyze the performance of the model. -Describe the notion of sparsity and how LASSO leads to sparse solutions. -Deploy methods to select between models. -Exploit the model to form predictions. -Build a regression model to predict prices using a housing dataset. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top reviews

PD
Mar 16, 2016

I really enjoyed all the concepts and implementations I did along this course....except during the Lasso module. I found this module harder than the others but very interesting as well. Great course!

KM
May 4, 2020

Excellent professor. Fundamentals and math are provided as well. Very good notebooks for the assignments...it’s just that turicreate library that caused some issues, however the course deserves a 5/5

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 974 Reviews for Machine Learning: Regression

By ANIMESH M

Jul 23, 2020

Amazing course uncovers all the abstraction behind Regression . Presented all the mathematical algorithms in such a convenient manner that results in efficient coding. Provided Notebooks are very well designed and presented every coding method in an easy manner.

By Nicolas S

Jan 2, 2020

The videos are great, well-structured and introduce gradually the complexity. Unfortunately, the exercises requires the use of a specific library, instead of scikit-learn and numpy. Furthermore, they also required Python 2, while Python 3 is now widely used.

By Dilip K

Nov 12, 2016

Excellent course overall. Only issue was the inaccurate instructions for those using sklearn instead of graphlab (with graphlab it's very easy to do, but a bit painful for those like me who like to write a program instead of doing in interactive mode only).

By Maryam A A

Feb 28, 2019

The design of the course and presentations are great. It was very useful for my career development and fun. But, I think that the material is outdated and need a major update, especially Python packages and codes. Also, the forums are not active anymore.

By Andrew M

Jan 8, 2016

Some of the quizes and assignments had grading issues but I thought the curriculum was great. All of the optimization techniques learned to solve for regressions seem like they could be useful in other areas of machine learning and other applications.

By Ihor F

Dec 30, 2015

In the end of the course it became a bit boring to work with the same dataset over and over again. But I learned a lot about such algorithms as LASSO, Ridge regression. I guess that overall there's a good balance between math, theory and practice.

By Ryan S

Apr 4, 2016

Excellent lectures, evenly paced and nicely balanced between theory and practice, and mostly great quizzes and practice problems. However, the complete lack of instructor participation in the forums leaves many student questions unanswered.

By john f

Jul 2, 2020

Like all coursera courses, inadequate guidance in notebooks to prepare for tests. No feedback or guidance on instructions when you get stuck (e.g, write this function to do thie following, no way to help figure out how!)

By Mansoor A B

Mar 6, 2016

The course was very helpful. It would have been better if the tutors explained how they have arrived at some values they used like initial weights, tolerance, threshold etc.., so that the learning is comprehensive.

By Sai N M

Oct 12, 2016

The course was excellent. It helped me understand the basic concepts of regression. This course helps us think why and when a model needs to be used which I think is more important in the current day of big data.

By Nikos K

Jun 3, 2016

Useful to get a first understanding but do not feel comfortable to use any of it in real case scenarios. Could give solutions at the end of the whole course to see best coding, and unsolved questions.

By Pablo V I

Jul 27, 2017

It would have been nice to have some videos devoted to inference on the model coefficients and statistical model comparison, or on how adding/removing features can be assessed from such point view.

By Supharerk T

Feb 18, 2016

Programming assignment sometime ambiguious and hard to follow. A lot of time you have no idea WHICH dataset they are talking about e.g. "query house" in the last lesson.

Overall it's a great course.

By Rattaphon H

Jun 12, 2016

This course start from problems. So this great to motivate the content and let student know why. However, there are lot of confusion questions that lead to miss understand the exercise problems.

By Matt T

Dec 9, 2015

I appreciate the nuts and bolts focus on implementation that facilitates development of intuition, intuition that for me at least does not come from presentation of the mathematics in isolation.

By piyush s

Feb 21, 2016

This is an excellent course to get the math involve behind the regression. Instructors are awesome. I also feel that Bayseain regression should have been included. I missed that part badly.

By fan w

Jun 26, 2018

when quizs get harder, i'd hope we have more intermediate numbers that we can use to verify with my results. instead of every 5 or 10 steps, maybe it's good to have one every other step.

By Siva J

Mar 24, 2016

Very challenging course. Could have been 5 had the course duration been stretched by 2 weeks.

Tough to complete and do justice to the subject matter in the time frame provided.

By E. M S

Sep 26, 2017

Really well presented. Good mix of theoretical and practical. Also, excellent intro course for those with statistics background getting into the machine learning arena

By Reinhardt

Feb 4, 2018

Some questions in the quiz, regarding the speed needed is not explained in the course. The course gives orders of magnitude while the quizes ask for he exact estimation

By Jose D d O F

Sep 13, 2017

Assignments were not challenging, I think they could be made harder. The instructor is awesome, though: she is very clear and dives in satisfiable depth on each topic.

By Ahmed E

Jun 11, 2017

The lecturer is a very skilled presenter that it's difficult to get bored watching the videos. The partially completed code is a great idea, too. Enjoyed this course!

By Pieterjan C

Oct 23, 2017

In my opnion this course offers a good overview of regression fundamentals and techniques. Like mentioned in the course inference is a topic that is missing.

By Anmol g

Nov 14, 2016

Nice Course, every concept was explained in necessary details, the quizzes should include questions which should be inferential rather than only output based.

By SAMEER A P

Feb 20, 2016

A lot of new concepts were introduced with good clarity. All the math was less rigorous which was perfect to understand and get hold on important techniques.