Chevron Left
Back to Model Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Model Thinking by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
1,904 ratings
419 reviews

About the Course

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

Top reviews

YK
Apr 6, 2018

The course presents a multitude of models that enable us to analyze human and systems behavior and interactions. By making implicit assumptions explicit we can understand real world processes better.

AA
Nov 23, 2020

very informative and insightful on how to use the various models at our disposal to take optimal decision. Also, was nostalgic to go back in time where these models were part of my university degree.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 410 Reviews for Model Thinking

By Scott H

May 30, 2020

A great introduction to various models and how to use them as a grounding to understanding complex systems.

By Maharaja P S

Dec 15, 2020

One of the best courses I've come across. Really looking forward to seeing advanced courses on the topic.

By Alex L

Oct 27, 2015

Scott E is wonderful to learn from! Very exciting and interesting material, worth taking the deep dive!

By Shahnawaz S

Feb 19, 2017

The instructor does a very good job in explaining difficult concepts and is amazing in his teaching ..

By Zina P

Jun 26, 2018

This course is changing the way I looked at analytics and modeling for businesses. Great experience.

By Lawrence L

Jun 3, 2017

Very interesting course, gives useful insights into different phenomena observed in the real world.

By Reza

Jun 13, 2018

Excellent introduction to the world of models - lots of insights and new ways to look at the world

By Shakhawat U B 1

May 14, 2020

Truly something great! Learnt a lot from this course, and would apply these to my personal life!

By kim c

Sep 4, 2016

this course keeps the basic line for thinking on platform. And the You can get the Idea of resol

By Eduardo H M

Jun 9, 2020

Unfolds different way to understand and approach great diversity of problems , awesome course!

By Sarvesh S

Apr 4, 2020

Excellent course which enhances critical thinking and helps in decision making based on models.

By Olesia S

Feb 5, 2016

Very srtuctored, informative course. Is definitly useful for students from diverse specalties.

By Derek R

Sep 2, 2018

I learned a variety of models that are applicable to work and real-world situational problems.

By Hongru D

Aug 31, 2018

Very interesting course, after learning these method, it helps me to view the world different.

By Sani U

May 9, 2018

Lots of interesting and practical models were taught. Definitely gonna take this course again.

By Darik C

Sep 21, 2017

No course helped me in understanding complex systems like this one take the time to learn this

By Sukran C

Feb 16, 2018

I certainly advise everyone this course. Thank you for such a good and informative lessons.

By Nomthandazo A M

Aug 31, 2020

I really enjoyed doing model thinking, one gets to view problems in different perspectives

By Marco Z

Apr 22, 2018

Very interesting. Especially the part about the game of life and cellular automata models!

By Andrew S T

Jun 1, 2020

It has been an absolute delight and opened up my mind regarding day to day phenomenons.

By Nolan C

May 15, 2019

Great course. Super interesting from start to finish with excellent real-world examples.

By Thomas M

Nov 6, 2019

Super entertaining and so necessary for critical thinking in an information rich world!

By OJIJO W

Jul 4, 2019

great source of knowledge in models and how they can be used in real problem scenarios.

By KD H

Mar 5, 2019

Great content, well explained, straight to the point without filler.

Excellent teacher.

By halil k

Nov 8, 2020

Thank you Scott for this course. I hope some other follow-up courses shall continue.