Chevron Left
Back to Modern Art & Ideas

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modern Art & Ideas by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
5,581 ratings
1,429 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Top reviews

AM
Jan 14, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT
Jun 7, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,417 Reviews for Modern Art & Ideas

By Erica R

Dec 3, 2016

I absolutely loved this course. Great selection, intriguing ideas, and thought-provoking conversation. Highly recommended, no matter what your background.

By Merve Ç

Mar 21, 2021

It was an education that I learned so much and was amazed. It is good that I received this training, I am very happy. Thanks to everyone who contributed.

By Yaroslav K

Dec 18, 2020

This is a very fun and informative course that I enjoyed doing. I would highly recommend it to any art lover or who wants to learn more about modern art.

By Claudia P B P

Jun 15, 2020

Excelente curso. A pesar de ser neófito en temas de arte, pude comprender todo su contenido y hasta realicé comentarios de obras de artistas de mi país.

By Susannah R

Feb 1, 2018

I loved this course. An excellent intro to art criticism/interpretation/understanding.

I enjoyed the quizzes, but didn't feel inspired to write the essay.

By Elena S

Oct 4, 2015

The course was very informative and entertaining. Before this course I did not like modern art at all, but now at least I understand its purpose. Thanks!

By Karin H

Jun 9, 2021

The depth and range of this course was a good surprise. I've learned more than I expected and am inspired to dig a little deeper and explore a lot more.

By kezia m

Apr 13, 2020

thank you for this course that i can learn much more about artworks and its history. also helps me to improving creativity and critical thinking skills

By Zita T

Oct 5, 2015

This course was, like the other courses offered by MoMA, excellent! Thank you very much, I've learned a lot! Looking forward to studying with you again.

By Ana C M

Jun 23, 2020

Esse curso é incrível abre muito a mente e não deixa nada passar em branco, super recomendo e alem do mas ensina história da muitos exemplos e eu amei.

By Rita B

Jul 18, 2017

I loved this course, I was very interested and every module was over my expectations. I'm very happy and I'm looking forward to seeing a new exhibition

By Bridgette R

Mar 2, 2021

I learned a lot from this course and I loved the way it was organized to take us through a variety of topics rather than simply focusing on the -isms.

By Pamela J R

Jan 25, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this course as I did Modern Art as part of my BA degree, so it was lovely revisiting some old paintings and studying some new ones.

By Susan F

Jan 12, 2021

Absolutely super course, I highly recommend it. I learned so much new. Had fun completing assignments and it really jump started my creativity again.

By Cathy F

Jun 7, 2020

Loved it, easy for me to navigate thru, and it provoked my thinking. I loved everything about it!!!

Thank you so very much for this gift of knowledge!

By Iker B

May 26, 2020

Brilliant. Precious. Course created and taught with so much love for its content. Thank you so much. I have enjoyed it so much and learned a lot too.

By Veronica P

May 14, 2020

What a blessing to have taken this course. It broadened my views and understanding of modern art. Thank you to Coursera and the Museum of Modern Art!

By Monika K

Jun 23, 2021

Great and useful. It was so interesting and such a pleasure to participate. I really enjoyed the peer reviews. It's always good to receive feedback.

By robin s

Oct 8, 2020

I REALLY ENJOYED THIS COURSE. THE INFORMATION WAS PRESENTED IN AN INTERESTING AND CREATIVE WAY AND I ONLY HOPE MOMA CREATES MORE COURSES LIKE THIS.

By Daphne S B

May 19, 2020

This course open my eyes to many possibilities of how I see things around me, that is art and how I see my own art. I really enjoyed this course!!!!

By Jessie A

Apr 10, 2020

Great course. Challenging and digestible. I will be taking other MoMA courses in the future, the content is well organized & videos are captivating.

By Vanessa L

Jul 27, 2018

I recommend this course to everyone who seeks a good source of the general bases of the modern art, and a good raange of artists theis art to know.

By divya p

Feb 14, 2017

Great intro course, gives you a framework to understand modern art.

Its a good basic start, gives you the tools you need to keep learning after this.

By Aurelio M

Jul 15, 2020

Very interesting course. It illustrates many artwork from MoMA collection with the critics of experts and, sometime, the interviews of the artists.

By Juan M A S

Feb 13, 2021

Es un buen curso con una oportunidad de desarrollar habilidades alineadas con el arte moderno y de acceder a contenido de primera mano por el MOMA