Chevron Left
Back to Modern Art & Ideas

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modern Art & Ideas by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
5,584 ratings
1,429 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Top reviews

TT
Jun 7, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

AM
Jan 14, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,417 Reviews for Modern Art & Ideas

By Pooja G

Jul 6, 2020

Absolutely loved the structure and material provided for the course. I strongly recommend. You will start seeing life with a different point of view. All the best.

By Jaime D L L

May 19, 2020

excelente curso lleno de aprendizaje, buenas ideas, flexiones, con intensa búsqueda del arte personal que te ayuda a mejorar internamente como artista o diseñador.

By Ana G

Aug 2, 2017

It was a great experience and really did change my view of modern art and it's new forms of expression. I am thankful for having been able to enjoy this experience

By Sampanna P

Sep 29, 2020

Recommend this to anyone who has the remotest interest in Art. The course is beautifully designed and will make you keep coming back to it to want to learn more.

By Camila S

Jun 19, 2020

Aprendi un monton en este curso! me encanto poder participar de todas las actividades. Los temas son super interesantes y la explicacion es clara y entretenida.

By Mayara H R d S

Jun 16, 2020

Conheci diferentes artistas que nunca havia ouvido falar; algumas obras foram capazes de despertar sentimentos relacionados com minha vida real. Excelente curso!

By Thais D G G

May 29, 2020

Senti falta de legendas em português em todos os videos mas com meu inglês consegui acompanhar. Curso bem legal e útil na inserção do indivíduo no mundo da arte.

By Jessica W

May 17, 2020

Great course, very visual classes and interesting articles. The discussion forums are a great way to expand the knowledge learned in class and share information.

By Paca N

Apr 16, 2020

This course has been a wonderful experience to me. I have enjoyed a lot and have been able to change my mind about Modern Art. I recommend it to you ,so much¡¡

By Caroline L

Oct 10, 2017

Loved the videos, in particular! They are perfect for this kind of bite-sized learning and they're really well-done, very entertaining while being educational.

By Shawn A

Jun 22, 2016

A comprehensive course that provides deep insight into how to thematically view art. The course also taught me how to make connections between various artworks.

By Stefania G

Jul 16, 2020

Los temas y las obras seleccionadas fueron pertinentes, inspiradoras, esclarecedoras. Definitivamente volvería a tomar este curso, y tomaré muchos mas. Gracias

By MARIA L S

Apr 19, 2020

Very well thought. I loved learning about art in this format, specially art from my favorite museum! Looking forward to participate in other courses from MoMa.

By paolo p

Jun 22, 2021

I like the way to the course make you go into the different hemes and how u can learns trought images and interaction between you and all the people enrolled.

By Daria S

Jun 8, 2020

Such an amazing course with very informative and rich video materials and themes, I enjoyed it very much and I'm thinking of taking one more course from MOMA!

By Oluwatobi E F

Oct 14, 2019

I truly enjoyed taking this course. I am glad I took it because , I learned new things and it made me see this I would see normally in a much different light.

By Ysmel A

Jun 11, 2017

So helpful in everything for lock ideas! I really recommend this course because apart to create an experience with the artist, develop our ideas and projects.

By Sowmya P

Aug 2, 2020

The course gives a great introduction to concept of modern art to beginners. I really appreciate the Written Reflections sections and the Discussion Forums.

By Jessica J

Jun 14, 2020

I enjoyed each week's learnings. A very thoughtful and in-depth course that provides tons of additional information for extra reading! Enjoyed it thoroughly.

By Maria S

May 19, 2020

I particularly enjoyed this course! It was so interesting and i learnt many useful information about modern art. Thanks a lot for this wonderful opportunity!

By Maia J

Apr 20, 2020

This course helped me learn so much more about modern art and the circumstances by which they were created. Now I have found a newfound appreciation for art.

By Sofía S G

Mar 17, 2020

Excelente curso, gracias a este conozco un poco más del arte moderno y puedo expresar mi opinión acerca de una obra mucho más crítica y con mayor fundamento.

By Wan K Y

Jul 9, 2020

Wonderful course with adequate resources for me to study at home. I always wanted to learn more about Art and this course is perfect for me to get started.

By Sydney J

Sep 16, 2019

A wonderful, engaging class that explores different themes while providing essential information about the history and cultural significance of modern art.

By Margit W

Aug 19, 2017

I haven't done the final assignment yet - but up until now: A great course! Very interesting! Great learning resources (lots of articles, essays, videos).