Chevron Left
Back to Modern Art & Ideas

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modern Art & Ideas by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
5,581 ratings
1,429 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Top reviews

AM
Jan 14, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT
Jun 7, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 1,417 Reviews for Modern Art & Ideas

By Paoli O

Jul 9, 2020

Very informative and engaging. Definitely recommend this course, for fun or for professional growth!

By Andrea J D

May 31, 2020

I loved this course and how it opened my eyes to Modern Art and it's different themes to view it by.

By Keryn N

Jun 20, 2017

I especially liked the diversity of the Art and Artists featured in this course. Thoroughly enjoyed!

By Maharlika P

Nov 19, 2015

Very informative, different format of teaching, loved how thorough the complimentary resources were.

By Thitaporn X

Jan 8, 2021

One of the best courses I've ever taken in my life. Now I really wanna go to America to visit MoMA!

By Erin G

May 15, 2020

A wonderful course which made the concepts easy to understand, and allowed for personal expression.

By kris m

Aug 18, 2019

i spent a lot of time before completing this course because of work but it was worth it all the way

By Anca

Feb 3, 2019

It was a very useful course which helped me understand better modern art and its role in our lives.

By Andrea M

Jan 2, 2016

Very well organised with beautiful and interesting videos. Clear explanations and nice assignments.

By silvana v

May 4, 2021

Ame este primer curso, es como estar en todos lados en diferentes tiempos, pero en el mismo lugar.

By Nan S

Sep 21, 2020

Well organized, very enjoyable - I was very much a “beginner” and learned a lot. Highly recommend.

By Mohammed A

Mar 24, 2020

It was a very useful course, I got to know the goals of modern art, and about the pioneers of art.

By Koustubh P

Sep 8, 2018

Fantastic course. Excellent foundation from which one can explore and truly appreciate modern art.

By 林潜馨

Sep 24, 2020

I like the study of this modern art course. This course allows me to gain a lot of art knowledge.

By Michelle F

Aug 25, 2020

well paced. Units are thoughtful and useful. Production values are to notch. I loved this course!

By KHALED A

Aug 10, 2020

amazing course and not much intense, which suits everyone interested in modern Art

Thank you MOMA

By Alina C

Jul 7, 2020

What an eye opener! I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course and I encourage everyone to take it.

By Michaela G A

May 5, 2020

Such an amazing course, perfectly explained and with full coverage of every detail in Modern Art!

By Thabata

Apr 15, 2020

Excellent Course. It puts in practice what you learn through the assignments. I truly enjoyed it.

By Leyre P E

Apr 5, 2020

I have loved this course. I will study more courses. Thank you very much for all the information.

By Deleted A

Jun 13, 2017

This was a fun and enjoyable course. I enjoyed learning the theories behind modern art and ideas.

By Sandra S J

Feb 16, 2021

This course has given me a lot of ideas for my art, as well as a new vision of contemporary art.

By Andrea H F

Feb 7, 2021

Lovely course, lovely content, everything clear and just mesmerizing. For art lovers this is it!

By Tim A

May 15, 2020

A great overview of ideas and provides deeper thinking analysis while looking at period artwork.