Chevron Left
Back to The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I by Tel Aviv University

4.7
stars
1,013 ratings
250 reviews

About the Course

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Top reviews

MP
Sep 10, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP
Apr 29, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 246 Reviews for The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

By Amber D

Apr 11, 2016

Course was thorough and informative. I entered with no knowledge about the History of the Middle East and now have a solid base of understanding to further delve into the subject. Professor is clear and the lectures are well organized. I'm honestly surprised at how much information I was able to retain on the taught subjects. Take this course! You'll be glad you did.

By Bárbara M

Feb 12, 2018

It is an interesting, entertaining course that manages to stimulate interest in research about different elements that make up the history of the Middle East. I suggest that in future revisions the number of specialized readings to study in contrast to the videos be increased. Thank you very much for the opportunity. Excellent the effort of the creators of the course.

By Linda H

Feb 18, 2021

Excellent introduction - wonderfully stretching, particularly for someone like me who had no previous knowledge or familiarity with the history, religions or languages of the area, and I imagine plenty enough too for others who might gain from this excellent overview of the developments across such a wide and diverse area, and how they fit together.

By Jamilya A

Oct 14, 2020

I took this course because I wanted to have a better understanding of the issues the middle east has been facing. I learned a lot!! This was awesome. Gives you a new life perspective. However, I wonder if it was too detailed for me? Because I still (in normal daily life) won't recall all the names of sultans and so on...

By Dagmara G

May 30, 2021

The course is conducted in a very simple and interesing way, encouraging to learn more about the Middle East. Questions popping up during the class help student to consolidate knowledge from the last videos. Opportunity to save notes, and also downloading the transcript helps a lot to revise material.

By Filipa M

Oct 29, 2016

This course is a great beginning for those that are interested in the situation of the Middle East or curious about what happened with the Ottoman Empire. The professor was very informative! While the information was a lot, it was presented in an accessible way and it did not feel overwhelming.

By Leo K

Mar 8, 2016

Professor Asher Susser is a very good speaker, and the course is very well organized. The subjects he discuss are very interesting; I enjoyed listening to him for hours. I will absolutely participate in the second part of this course as well as the course about the modern history of Israel.

By Kunal S

Jun 4, 2020

A brilliant course for someone who wants to learn about the origins of States in Middle East During the Ottoman era. Brilliant instructor with deep knowledge and simple lectures, helps students to understand better. Strongly recommended to undergo both the Parts for complete understanding.

By Sergio d l R

May 21, 2020

Excelent course! A very clear outline and explanation of the context and series of events that led to the creation of the modern Middle East, focusing on each region to extract very interesting details. I took the course for personal interest in the matter, and found it to be very useful!

By Mary E

Jan 3, 2021

The material was presented in an easy to understand format. I found the entire course very enlightening about how the complicated Middle East was formed. I recommend it to everyone to gain a better understanding of the formation of the Middle East and how it relates to current politics.

By (Rob)Wang S

May 8, 2018

A very informative course on the state building in the middle east. Would be great preparatory course if someone would like to have a deeper understanding for the current political unrest in the region. Very clear and succinct lectures, and I enjoyed this course a lot! Thank you, prof!

By Emilie F

Sep 20, 2020

Excellent insightful course which explains very thoroughly the history of Middle East starting from the Ottoman empire until the foreign creation of the modern states. I would highly recommend this course and I am looking forward to start the second chapter about the Modern Era.

By Miriam l

Dec 27, 2016

I strongly recommend this course to all those who are curios about Modern Middle East history or simply love Arab culture. To me, this is a very in-depth course which need to be accompanied by extra readings to have a more complete picture in mind. I'm going to take the secon

By Robert A J

Aug 8, 2018

A very good course to understand the beginning of the modern Middle East. This course allows a novice to understand the important players that would shape future events and we can see the impact of the actions taken by the key figures in this course in the present day.

By Hannah L

Jun 28, 2016

Very informative and fascinating. I knew some of the history in very vague lines, but this really brings clarity to how that area of the world developed into what it is today.

The professor is very interesting and obviously extremely knowledgeable about this topic.

By Terry T

May 20, 2021

Brilliant course with excellent teachers to help full understanding of complex relations between different countries and various philosophies. I would fully recommend this course to anyone who wants to understand the complexities of the modern Middle East.

By Melissa J H

Jan 9, 2017

This course was a wealth of information. I was a history major in college, yet not much of this information was ever presented to me. I am so happy to finally be able to understand some of the reasons behind the current difficulties in the Middle East.

By Swathi M

Nov 16, 2017

Really well structured course that does a solid job at laying out the messiness that is the history of the Middle East. Really good professor who has pragmatic interpretations and makes intellectual connections without losing the student's attention.

By Mike H

Oct 18, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course, and I most appreciated the parallel processes in multiple areas of the Middle East.I appreciate the structure and pace of the lecturer, who went into just enough - but not too much! - detail to illustrate his point.

By VASCO T N

May 31, 2020

Trata-se de um Curso de excelente relevancia para aquisição de conhecimento notório a cerca da geopolítica do Oriente Médio, desde o domínio Otomano até a criação do Estado de Israel e o advento do Sionismo patriota judaico na região.

By ONG E D

Aug 21, 2017

Very informative course which discusses the historical developments that lead to the creation of the current middle eastern states. The PDF lecture notes are very useful. Great for anyone looking to understand middle eastern politics.

By Rodrigo S M M

Aug 22, 2017

Wonderfully taught - a delight to experience. The instructor knew the syllabus by heart, and was able to convey the sheer quantity of information with such a precise, striking ease, that it made the ordeal a captivating thing to do.

By Anna R

May 14, 2017

Very interesting and in-depth course on the history and past of the Middle East. Professor Susser is very knowledgeable and thoroughly explains the reasons behind the strategics movements and their impact on society and development.

By Shourjo C

Jun 26, 2016

A clear, concise and comprehensive course on the history of the Modern Middle East. Masterfully presented by Professor Asher Susser. Highly recommended if you would like to know more about the history and origins of the Middle East.

By Ahmed D

Nov 17, 2017

Professor Susser is an excellent tutor - His presentation of the course was outstanding, making the course extremely exciting and a joy to undertake. I look forward to doing Part II. Honored to attend Professor Susser's lectures.