Chevron Left
Back to The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
1,111 ratings
307 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Top reviews

MN
Sep 23, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

SK
Nov 20, 2020

The Professor was really passionate and took you throug the miniscule details of modern history that made the world the way they are. this is truly a global history course and i enjoyed it very much

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 306 Reviews for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

By Havoc H

Dec 19, 2019

i

By Charles D L

Mar 7, 2017

b

By Abiven J C

Sep 12, 2016

W

By Bobby B

Nov 14, 2017

An ambitious and informative summary of the most relevant events that shaped our history over the past 100 years. This takes us from the early 20th century up to the financial crisis of 2008. Highly recommend this course if you are wanting to refresh your understanding of this time period.

By Cem D

Oct 14, 2019

I enjoyed listening to Prof. Zelikow's lectures. This course has shown me a historians perspective on events of past and present. It is empowering to see how much humanity has achieved in such a short time and how many mistakes were done during the process.

By Julie C

Apr 12, 2016

I found Part Two much easier to follow because I stopped taking notes. The professor's speaking style is so informally formal that it's easy to understand and remember. His passion for history is obvious when you combine looking and listening.

By Guillermo T

Oct 27, 2020

Excellent course but it could be updated or completed to analyze events from 2013 to at least 2019.

By Clifford L B

Mar 11, 2017

Well presented with reasoned arguments, some of the slides needed to be clearer especially the maps

By Πιστοφίδης-Χατζηδημητρίου Α

Mar 31, 2016

The teacher was rather informative, he analyzed the subject to its detail i am very satisfied.

By Iris v S

Apr 4, 2016

Very enjoyable and informative. I'd certainly take other courses by the same professor!

By Vipul A

Jan 20, 2017

Better way of showing how finance,politics and war can interact with each other.

By Prasanna V R

Nov 19, 2015

Deep views. The why part o things is something very special.

By Cuneyt A

Feb 25, 2016

I think the course content is global history US in center.

By Alfredo T

Sep 30, 2015

It´s a very excellent course of history!

By Derick T

Sep 28, 2015

Well created lectures with clear ideas.

By Aditya B

Sep 23, 2020

Period from 2013-19 should be included

By Mariam

Aug 8, 2016

Very interesting and engaging

By christophe s

May 18, 2016

Excellent course, simply.

By Nishant S

Nov 23, 2016

Worth your time !

By Jon G

Aug 6, 2017

Very informative

By Karla S C S

Mar 1, 2018

Muy interesante

By ADITYA R K

Jun 10, 2020

good course

By Brianna Z J

Oct 11, 2015

A

By Johann Q

Sep 2, 2015

We need less lectures and more application based courses.

By Evangelia A

Nov 21, 2015

Very few o no information about the Latin America