Chevron Left
Back to The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
1,279 ratings
350 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Top reviews

MN
Sep 23, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

RM
Dec 7, 2016

This course is enlightening in so many ways. This course not only answers the "What" about history, but also "Why", "Why not" and the overall perception, feelings of people of each era being taught.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 350 Reviews for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

By Vishal K

Jun 30, 2020

The way of presenting situations is just brilliant sir, I loved each and every lecture, the way you analyse things, awesome

By Roger C P

Jan 21, 2016

A short course but with a great vision of the Global History of the 20th century. Philip Zelikou is an excellent professor.

By Arseniy N

Dec 6, 2020

Very interesting course and the professor was pretty objective when classifying some of the event as positive or negative

By James B

Jun 17, 2016

Interesting, well-presented. Instructor was congenial and the presentations were well-illustrated, including some humor.

By Likatavicius G

May 1, 2021

Very interesting and well-organized course, with a lot of emphasis on references to other not history-related subjects!

By Shashank K

Sep 12, 2020

What a fantastic course that tells the story of the modern world! Excellent delivery of presentations by the professor.

By Trevor W

Aug 13, 2017

Excellent. One of the best courses on world history I've taken. Truly engaging and packed full of interesting facts.

By David S

Sep 5, 2016

A great course. I learned a tremendous amount and found the professor to be extremely knowledgeable and thoughtful.

By thomas l

Dec 26, 2020

I learned a lot in this course. Kudos to the professor for making the course both understandable and enlightening.

By G. C D A L J

Aug 20, 2020

An exceptional journey in time. Clear and focused explanation. A great professor that makes it easy to understand.

By James W S

Jun 25, 2016

This is the second course taken by me from Philip Zelikow. He is an excellent instruction whom I thoroughly enjoy.

By Fabricio B

Jun 7, 2016

Invites to be analytic and critical about historical events. Excellent approach: situation+decisions+consequences.

By Antoine B

Mar 13, 2017

Le professeur est très sympathique, et on apprend beaucoup, y compris sur des sujets que l'on pensait connaître.

By michael m

Mar 28, 2016

as amazing as part one. I always finish the lectures with an audible "wow." Great perspective on world events

By Joseph C

Sep 13, 2015

Great course! It was interesting, thorough, and informative. Taught by a very talented, energetic professor.

By Almeida V S

May 12, 2020

It has been a wonderful experience to attend the course. The presentations have been crisp and informative!

By Gnanesh G

Apr 29, 2020

Had a great experience learning about the modern world. Got to know many interesting facts about the world.

By Liya X

Mar 20, 2019

This is an awesome course that not only taught me global history but also inspired me to think more deeply

By PREAM M

Mar 29, 2021

As for me ,I have learnt some knowledge about history and wars .

It very much helpful for me .

Thank you..

By mike R

Oct 19, 2015

Absolutely a great course. I learned so much. I wish this course was available during my undergrad years.

By ALBERT V V

Apr 16, 2020

Highly recommended and interesting course. A real opportunity to learn and understand better this period

By Pedro S

Jan 4, 2017

The excitement to discover why things happened is amazing. Congrats for everybody involved on this MOOC.

By PATRICIA A A C

Feb 21, 2021

Great content, one of the bests instructors, thanks a lot for the knowledge and the experience shared.

By Viraj D D

Aug 24, 2020

The course was very enlightening. Only one suggestion- There should have been references and readings.

By claudia a m

May 20, 2016

It is a colorful jorney into history. I am just feeling sorry that there is no Part Three to continue.