Chevron Left
Back to The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
1,139 ratings
318 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Top reviews

MN
Sep 23, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

RM
Dec 7, 2016

This course is enlightening in so many ways. This course not only answers the "What" about history, but also "Why", "Why not" and the overall perception, feelings of people of each era being taught.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 317 Reviews for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

By Almeida V S

May 12, 2020

It has been a wonderful experience to attend the course. The presentations have been crisp and informative!

By Gnanesh G

Apr 29, 2020

Had a great experience learning about the modern world. Got to know many interesting facts about the world.

By Liya X

Mar 20, 2019

This is an awesome course that not only taught me global history but also inspired me to think more deeply

By mike R

Oct 19, 2015

Absolutely a great course. I learned so much. I wish this course was available during my undergrad years.

By ALBERT V V

Apr 16, 2020

Highly recommended and interesting course. A real opportunity to learn and understand better this period

By Pedro S N

Jan 4, 2017

The excitement to discover why things happened is amazing. Congrats for everybody involved on this MOOC.

By Viraj D D

Aug 24, 2020

The course was very enlightening. Only one suggestion- There should have been references and readings.

By claudia a m

May 20, 2016

It is a colorful jorney into history. I am just feeling sorry that there is no Part Three to continue.

By Marin V

Dec 3, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Gives a great overview of the world history over a long period of time.

By Sebastián P R

Sep 25, 2017

Es un muy buen curso para poder tener un amplio panorama del proceso histórico mundial del siglo XX.

By Mark C

Sep 18, 2017

This is an excellent course. Thomas Jefferson would be proud of this University of Virginia course.

By JOSEPH E

May 26, 2017

Some very tough subject matter but delivered brilliantly! Would love to see more courses like this!

By Robert K

Nov 26, 2016

The course is logical in its structure, informative, innovative and presented in an attractive way.

By Rachael L N

Jun 12, 2016

I wish my history teachers in school had half the understanding and ability to explain that you do.

By manulukas

Nov 4, 2020

largo, pero muy entretenido y esclarecedor sobre todo desde la 2ª guerra mundial. excelente curso.

By afshin n

Dec 18, 2019

Very interesting course. The analytical teaching of the history has been first class. Many thanks.

By Claudio F

Nov 20, 2015

Thank you so much. Hope you do some in-depth one day. I can go on and on listening to your classes

By Roman d M

Nov 3, 2015

An amazing trip through modern history!

Thanks a lot Profesor Zelikow for this espectacular course.

By Vincent P

Feb 5, 2017

Excellent cours. Présentation concise et claire. J'ai adoré ce cours et j'ai appris beaucoup.

By Freddy S

Dec 4, 2015

Excellent course, well presented and at pace and level of difficulty well suited to Coursera.

By Edward B

Mar 11, 2017

Both Part I and Part II are very interesting and enlightening. Well worth participating in.

By Karen A D

Feb 26, 2016

Just a superb course, very enjoyable, not to mention helpful in understanding today's world.

By Ove C K

Mar 10, 2016

It is a unique course and I wish that all people heard Professor Philip Zelikows lectures

By Lim K B J

Jun 12, 2020

Great course on global history over the last 250 years, learned quite a bit, thank you!

By Marilyn S

Mar 21, 2017

Excellent course which is well presented by Professor Zelikow. I recommend it highly.