Chevron Left
Back to The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
1,294 ratings
355 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Top reviews

MN
Sep 23, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

SK
Nov 20, 2020

The Professor was really passionate and took you throug the miniscule details of modern history that made the world the way they are. this is truly a global history course and i enjoyed it very much

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 356 Reviews for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

By PATRICIA A A C

Feb 21, 2021

Great content, one of the bests instructors, thanks a lot for the knowledge and the experience shared.

By Viraj D D

Aug 24, 2020

The course was very enlightening. Only one suggestion- There should have been references and readings.

By claudia a m

May 20, 2016

It is a colorful jorney into history. I am just feeling sorry that there is no Part Three to continue.

By Marin V

Dec 3, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Gives a great overview of the world history over a long period of time.

By Sebastián P R

Sep 25, 2017

Es un muy buen curso para poder tener un amplio panorama del proceso histórico mundial del siglo XX.

By Mark C

Sep 18, 2017

This is an excellent course. Thomas Jefferson would be proud of this University of Virginia course.

By JOSEPH E

May 26, 2017

Some very tough subject matter but delivered brilliantly! Would love to see more courses like this!

By Robert K

Nov 26, 2016

The course is logical in its structure, informative, innovative and presented in an attractive way.

By Rachael L N

Jun 12, 2016

I wish my history teachers in school had half the understanding and ability to explain that you do.

By manulukas

Nov 4, 2020

largo, pero muy entretenido y esclarecedor sobre todo desde la 2ª guerra mundial. excelente curso.

By afshin n

Dec 18, 2019

Very interesting course. The analytical teaching of the history has been first class. Many thanks.

By Claudio F

Nov 20, 2015

Thank you so much. Hope you do some in-depth one day. I can go on and on listening to your classes

By Roman d M

Nov 3, 2015

An amazing trip through modern history!

Thanks a lot Profesor Zelikow for this espectacular course.

By Vincent P

Feb 5, 2017

Excellent cours. Présentation concise et claire. J'ai adoré ce cours et j'ai appris beaucoup.

By Freddy S

Dec 4, 2015

Excellent course, well presented and at pace and level of difficulty well suited to Coursera.

By Edward B

Mar 11, 2017

Both Part I and Part II are very interesting and enlightening. Well worth participating in.

By Karen A D

Feb 26, 2016

Just a superb course, very enjoyable, not to mention helpful in understanding today's world.

By Ove C K

Mar 10, 2016

It is a unique course and I wish that all people heard Professor Philip Zelikows lectures

By Lim K B J

Jun 12, 2020

Great course on global history over the last 250 years, learned quite a bit, thank you!

By Marilyn S

Mar 21, 2017

Excellent course which is well presented by Professor Zelikow. I recommend it highly.

By Timofey Y

Dec 13, 2015

Incredible course. Part II was a little bit harder to me, but it's certainly worth it.

By Luis L

May 26, 2018

An amazing teacher, with a very open mind and a great analytic methodology. Thank you

By Mary E

Jan 31, 2021

very informative course. highly recommend to improve knowledge of world history .

By Anubhav R

Apr 23, 2018

Loved the way the course is structured. Enjoyed and understood all of it very well.

By Richard B

Mar 20, 2017

absolutely the very best of Coursera's offerings - riveting throughout, outstanding