Chevron Left
Back to The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
1,451 ratings

About the Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Top reviews

BD

Dec 11, 2021

Excellent course. I learned a lot, enjoyed the experience. Prof. Zelnikov is a master teacher. Thanks for the opportunity to listen and learn even after eight years after production of these lectures.

DE

May 18, 2022

Our professor, Philip Zelikow is amazing!!!! I truly appreciate the time he spent making these outstanding lectures because I very much enjoyed every minute of them. Thank you so much for this course.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 407 Reviews for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

By PREAM M

Mar 29, 2021

As for me ,I have learnt some knowledge about history and wars .

It very much helpful for me .

Thank you..

By mike R

Oct 19, 2015

Absolutely a great course. I learned so much. I wish this course was available during my undergrad years.

By ALBERT V V

Apr 16, 2020

Highly recommended and interesting course. A real opportunity to learn and understand better this period

By Pedro S

Jan 4, 2017

The excitement to discover why things happened is amazing. Congrats for everybody involved on this MOOC.

By PATRICIA A A C

Feb 21, 2021

Great content, one of the bests instructors, thanks a lot for the knowledge and the experience shared.

By Viraj D D

Aug 24, 2020

The course was very enlightening. Only one suggestion- There should have been references and readings.

By claudia a m

May 20, 2016

It is a colorful jorney into history. I am just feeling sorry that there is no Part Three to continue.

By Marin V

Dec 3, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Gives a great overview of the world history over a long period of time.

By Sebastián P R

Sep 25, 2017

Es un muy buen curso para poder tener un amplio panorama del proceso histórico mundial del siglo XX.

By Mark C

Sep 18, 2017

This is an excellent course. Thomas Jefferson would be proud of this University of Virginia course.

By JOSEPH E

May 26, 2017

Some very tough subject matter but delivered brilliantly! Would love to see more courses like this!

By Robert K

Nov 26, 2016

The course is logical in its structure, informative, innovative and presented in an attractive way.

By Rachael L N

Jun 12, 2016

I wish my history teachers in school had half the understanding and ability to explain that you do.

By manulukas

Nov 4, 2020

largo, pero muy entretenido y esclarecedor sobre todo desde la 2ª guerra mundial. excelente curso.

By afshin n

Dec 18, 2019

Very interesting course. The analytical teaching of the history has been first class. Many thanks.

By Claudio F

Nov 20, 2015

Thank you so much. Hope you do some in-depth one day. I can go on and on listening to your classes

By Roman D M

Nov 3, 2015

An amazing trip through modern history!

Thanks a lot Profesor Zelikow for this espectacular course.

By Vincent P

Feb 5, 2017

Excellent cours. Présentation concise et claire. J'ai adoré ce cours et j'ai appris beaucoup.

By Freddy S

Dec 4, 2015

Excellent course, well presented and at pace and level of difficulty well suited to Coursera.

By Edward B

Mar 11, 2017

Both Part I and Part II are very interesting and enlightening. Well worth participating in.

By Karen A D

Feb 26, 2016

Just a superb course, very enjoyable, not to mention helpful in understanding today's world.

By Delilah B

Dec 19, 2022

A course that I would recommend to anyone and everyone that enjoys learning about History.

By Jaikumar T

Mar 31, 2022

A superb explanation of the types of forces and events that have shaped our recent history!

By Ove C K

Mar 10, 2016

It is a unique course and I wish that all people heard Professor Philip Zelikows lectures

By Lim K B J

Jun 12, 2020

Great course on global history over the last 250 years, learned quite a bit, thank you!