Chevron Left
Back to Economics of Money and Banking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Economics of Money and Banking by Columbia University

4.9
stars
1,080 ratings
297 reviews

About the Course

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Top reviews

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

PM

Jun 27, 2020

Extremely helpful is understanding the money view of banking system. One of the best courses. A small suggestion - it can be interspersed with more examples especially from the emerging markets.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 291 Reviews for Economics of Money and Banking

By Ammar S A

Oct 02, 2020

Interesting and challenging course! Highly recommended for all despite having various background of education. :)

By SAURABH K

Nov 09, 2017

The course extremely helpful for people who are interested making their career in Banking.

I like this course.

By Leonardo C d J

Sep 18, 2020

An excellent course taught by an excellent professor from an excellent university. I highly recommend it!

By callum s

Aug 14, 2020

Builds from initial concepts and history to explain how money and finance work at a global level today.

By Edi P

Aug 08, 2020

Well explained, I like the "balance sheet" approach to explaining various topics covered in the course

By Alan F

May 03, 2019

So far just extremely insightful, inspiring and life-changing. Plus well-organized and well-explained.

By Sebastian A H

Sep 09, 2019

This course gives a very broad framework of banking with a clear explanation of how the system works.

By de f h

Aug 10, 2018

The best course I've ever had. When will Prof. Mehrling's History of Economic Thought be broadcasted?

By Cheng Z

May 31, 2020

Best money and banking course ever from someone working in the industry for years after granudation

By Jeremy A

Apr 28, 2019

Excellent course! Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding the financial crisis.

By Jagannathan I

Jun 21, 2018

Amazing course to learn more about the nitty gritty of money markets that keep the world running!

By Luc M

Oct 13, 2017

This is one of the most favourite course I have ever come across in Coursera. Highly recommend!!!

By Zongxi Y

May 19, 2017

This course is really useful and help me know more about the relationship between Money and Banks

By Roussille A

May 06, 2017

Great course !! Very interesting and the teacher is great. The understanding is quick and simple.

By Matheus d S C

Jun 22, 2020

Ótimo curso para pessoas que estão buscando aprimorar seus conhecimentos em economia mundial.

By antonio b

Jun 03, 2020

Amazing Course on finance! It should be available to all graduate student in all disciplines!

By Cristian E E N

Feb 12, 2020

Very good course and excellent teacher! You can see his passion for the subjects he teaches.

By Shahab M

Jan 24, 2019

Exceptional. Really fascinating course for a regular person to understand money and banking.

By Jesus P S

May 01, 2020

Impresionante el curso, la mejor formación sobre el negocio bancario que he podido tener.

By Joviano C d P J

Dec 23, 2019

This is a very good course, with a whole perspective about how the banking system works.

By MUSLIUDEEN T A

May 17, 2020

It is an eye opener for me essentially as regards how banking system works in our world

By Rene F

Dec 08, 2019

A staple for those that want to understand the current mechanics of money and banking

By Gustavo G

Oct 29, 2018

Es excelente. Por su teoría, por su fundamentación y por la metodología de enseñanza.

By Panchio R

Apr 04, 2019

Such great and complete course. Professor extremely professional and knowledgeable.

By Alexander L R Y

Mar 03, 2017

Fantastic course and Professor Mehrling is an incredible mentor with great insights