Chevron Left
Back to Economics of Money and Banking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Economics of Money and Banking by Columbia University

4.9
stars
1,433 ratings

About the Course

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Top reviews

BG

Jul 16, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

PP

May 28, 2020

The "Economics of Money and Banking" course provided an inspiring look on the modern international finance system. Definitely, recommending it for both newcomers and already experienced students.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 378 Reviews for Economics of Money and Banking

By Pavlo L

Oct 20, 2020

Great course overall

It gives you insight into what is banking about as well as what is considered to be money and credit

By sarah a m a a r

Jun 7, 2019

An amazing course that show the light on many economic monetary polices and banking and many more overall very usefull

By Yiannis B

Aug 27, 2017

One of the best courses I have followed!

I am expecting an update on the course.

Thank you for this wonderful experience.

By Bernardo R S

May 24, 2020

Amazing course. Thanks Coursera and teacher for this fantastic classes. I´m Brazilian and enjoy this opportunity a lot.

By MARIA M

Mar 2, 2021

HOW CAN I UNENROLL FROM THIS COURSE? I AM TRYING BUT I CAN NOT MANAGE IT. PLEASE HELP ME

MY EMAIL m.mandouvalou@acg.edu

By Jack W

Apr 18, 2020

Teacher is really great and the content is amazing. really opened my eyes to the economy from a financial perspective

By Matthew L

Jul 11, 2020

This is an excellent course and very helpful for anyone who wishes to learn about the 21st century financial system.

By Borja P O

Jun 5, 2019

he content of the course is very complete and rigorous and the teacher is excellent. Very good additional resources.

By tomer z

Oct 5, 2017

Excellent professor and intersting topic. the reading material is unique and expands on the material in the course

By Ammar S A

Oct 1, 2020

Interesting and challenging course! Highly recommended for all despite having various background of education. :)

By Nick D

Apr 21, 2021

An excellent well articulated Professor that takes you on an intellectual journey through T charts and theory.

By Saurabh K

Nov 8, 2017

The course extremely helpful for people who are interested making their career in Banking.

I like this course.

By Leonardo C d J

Sep 17, 2020

An excellent course taught by an excellent professor from an excellent university. I highly recommend it!

By callum s

Aug 14, 2020

Builds from initial concepts and history to explain how money and finance work at a global level today.

By Edi P

Aug 7, 2020

Well explained, I like the "balance sheet" approach to explaining various topics covered in the course

By Alan F

May 3, 2019

So far just extremely insightful, inspiring and life-changing. Plus well-organized and well-explained.

By Daniel L

Aug 26, 2022

Loved it. Work in investment management and found it particularly useful. Would recommend to anyone.

By Sebastian A H

Sep 9, 2019

This course gives a very broad framework of banking with a clear explanation of how the system works.

By Hub

Aug 10, 2018

The best course I've ever had. When will Prof. Mehrling's History of Economic Thought be broadcasted?

By Aarav M

Feb 23, 2021

Excellent has lead me to understand the markets and systems in an intuitive and professional manner.

By Fiona D

Jun 23, 2022

Super interesting and really well taught. I use what I have learnt every day when reading the news.

By Cheng Z

May 31, 2020

Best money and banking course ever from someone working in the industry for years after granudation

By Advet g

Nov 22, 2020

my experience was so good . i suggest you everyone , please join this course for successful future

By Jeremy A

Apr 28, 2019

Excellent course! Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding the financial crisis.

By Jagannathan I

Jun 21, 2018

Amazing course to learn more about the nitty gritty of money markets that keep the world running!