Chevron Left
Back to Moral Foundations of Politics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Moral Foundations of Politics by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,576 ratings
900 reviews

About the Course

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Top reviews

SS
Jul 1, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
Sep 16, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 893 Reviews for Moral Foundations of Politics

By Aaron K

Mar 31, 2019

Fascinating and clear exposition of some of the deepest roots of the questions of morality inherent in politics.

By ROBERTO G T

May 13, 2021

I thought it was a great course, it allowed me to learn various aspects of contemporary politics and philosophy

By Aspasia B

May 24, 2020

Great course, I m sad it has finished. It helped me in a fun and easy way to understand basic politic concepts

By MARZIA B

Mar 29, 2021

Very useful course to learn about political philosophy. It helped me preparing an exam based on these topics.

By Antoine R

Dec 22, 2015

Great course and teacher! The format is really cool for the topic. Hope there will be some kind of "part 2".

By Emmanouela T

Dec 7, 2020

Very beuatiful made an eye opening! Thank you for this experience! And special thanks to Professor Shapiro!

By Ofentse L

Aug 10, 2020

I learned a lot in this course, was my favorite actually. The lecture makes things, everything was perfect

By ljdover

Sep 13, 2019

Wonderful class that helped to clarify the different political theories for me. I would highly recommend t

By Jeffrey H

Aug 3, 2018

Great and challenging course. Will provide you an introduction to the tools to analyze political systems.

By Miguelina R V

Jun 5, 2017

Very interesting course !! helped me a lot to know more about Politics !!! Thank you Professor Saphiro !!!

By Amparo d S V A

Jun 5, 2021

Excelente el curso.

Gracias por permitirme hacer parte de el.

Quiero adquirir el certificado.

Muchos éxitos

By Cristina A G

Mar 23, 2019

An excellent course with a perfectly sequence of ideas, the explaining of the professor is just suitable.

By Alan E

Aug 6, 2016

Ian Shapiro is a true master of the subject. The format of this course sets a high standard for Coursera.

By Kenroya C B

Jan 3, 2021

With thanks and highest gratitude for the basic Moral understanding and foundations of decisions making.

By Bryan S Q M

Nov 12, 2020

It was a great course. Recommended for people who are into political philosophy and politics in general.

By Ankita P

Sep 20, 2020

Totally loved the course. Thank you for this amazing 8 weeks. So grateful to have completed this course.

By Paul C

Feb 25, 2021

A wonderful course, mainly because of the deep knowledge of Professor Shapiro that he wears so lightly!

By Apoorva S

Feb 24, 2021

I found the course very interesting. The real life examples helped me understand the principles easily.

By Ilaha Y

Jul 27, 2020

In addition to being instructive, the course was more effective with the materials it shared. Thank you

By Andres

Jun 8, 2020

Amazing path that collects elements from different traditions and joining them to a wonderful final !!!

By Wong Z X

Oct 30, 2020

Rather content heavy yet enjoyable module. Learnt a lot of different perspective and argument pointers

By Regene L

Jun 16, 2020

This course was detailed without being draggy and was easy to follow even for a politics noob like me.

By Arnaldo M

Aug 15, 2018

the clarity with which the teacher explains the topics makes the course engaging and very interesting!

By Bruna C

Dec 6, 2015

Lessons are very objective, while explanations are made clear by useful and easy to remember examples.

By Harry J

Apr 2, 2021

An excellent review of the questions posed by society, and the proposed solutions over the centuries.