Chevron Left
Back to Moral Foundations of Politics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Moral Foundations of Politics by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,759 ratings
929 reviews

About the Course

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Top reviews

MS
Sep 16, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

SS
Jul 1, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 922 Reviews for Moral Foundations of Politics

By Calvin C

Jun 20, 2016

"very inspiring, thoughts provocative course", that I have learned a lot as a lay man in the morality of politics.

By MARIANA L

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting! I just didn't like the conversation format of it, but the professor is great. Thank you!

By Michael K

Mar 29, 2021

Instructor was great. Didn't like the format with two students. It was awkward and didn't add much value.

By Maria S

Nov 29, 2016

Really informative and interesting. Thank you Coursera and Professor Sharpino for making this possible!

By Alfred M

Jul 30, 2019

The course is a bit too long and unorganized. It would be better if concepts are separated in chunks.

By Teo S Q

Mar 30, 2021

Course was pretty dry but insightful. Would be better if there was more videos e.g. animation.

By Edmund S R

Jun 24, 2020

It was the best course with full of fun and learning. The more you go the brighter you become.

By Lucas S d O

Nov 24, 2020

Pra quem tem afinidade ou faz algum curso na área das ciências políticas é realmente bom!!!

By Maria E H

May 8, 2017

The content of the course is valuable and well your worth the time spent on the course.

By Reuben M

Apr 28, 2017

Conversational format is really helpful, great real world examples and connections.

By ANTO.C.S

May 13, 2020

This course is also helpful you know basics or the foundation of political science

By Harsha S R

May 14, 2020

overall a most comprehensive course on the foundations of politics!

By CHONG Y C

Jul 12, 2020

very interesting course to introduce you to the idea of politics

By Sophea C

Mar 29, 2016

It help me to understand about political situation and analysis.

By Geetika G

Jul 31, 2020

I honestly enjoyed the entire course, it was quite insightful.

By Diego M G

Sep 1, 2020

Me encantó el curso. Me hubiera gustado aprender mucho más.

By RUSHIKESH S I

Apr 10, 2020

Very Nice Course. Clear Understanding About Politics.

By Louis A

Aug 11, 2019

Very in depth and fruitful, I enjoyed it very much.

By Shirley K

Jul 4, 2020

great course,taught me some things I didn't know

By Ruoshi C

Aug 22, 2017

The video is too short. I was expecting more.

By Joy S

Apr 9, 2018

good info, quizzes of reasonable difficulty

By Syed F R

Oct 15, 2016

Covers the basics. Quite Good.

By N.SATHYA V I 1 V C

May 27, 2020

such a good course to learn

By B.VEGESH

Jul 26, 2020

good for politics students

By Abhishek T

May 10, 2021

professor ian is so good