Chevron Left
Back to Inspiring and Motivating Individuals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Inspiring and Motivating Individuals by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
4,652 ratings
995 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to create a shared vision for your team and effectively communicate it to your teammates. You will also learn how to set effective goals and expectations in a way that best enables your team to attain the shared vision. Finally, you will understand the most important needs and drivers of performance across cultures, and will learn to align rewards with desired behaviors so that your teammates are motivated to attain the team’s objectives. Motivation represents a crucial challenge for contemporary organizations: A recent Gallup poll revealed that only 13% of workers worldwide exhibit high levels of engagement and motivation. We will show you why these motivation problems are not simply due to a “bad” or “unmotivated” team member. Rather, motivation is very much driven by what work conditions we create for our teammates, how we structure goals and objectives, and how we reward people for the accomplishment of those goals. This course will help you diagnose and solve motivation problems so that you can bring out the best in your people....

Top reviews

KG
Mar 23, 2021

Excellent instructors, material is reliable and more than sufficient, overall presentation of information is well-paced, and all activities, included peer-graded assignments have learning potential.

TD
Jun 20, 2017

Great course, but perhaps forewarn students of the feedback assignment in week 4 a little bit earlier - it took me nearly a month to get feedback from people on my team because we are pretty busy.

Filter by:

951 - 975 of 982 Reviews for Inspiring and Motivating Individuals

By USMAN A B M

May 12, 2020

VERY INTERESTING TOPIC

By Adrián

Oct 21, 2019

Excelente y páctico!

By Nadja G

Sep 25, 2016

Very good! Thanks

By Michelangelo B

Aug 3, 2017

Very interesting

By zain A

Feb 2, 2016

excellent course

By Lizeth V

Dec 1, 2020

muy buen curso!

By Adrien P

Dec 2, 2020

Très bon cours

By Rahul P

Oct 7, 2019

great syllabus

By Antonio S

Nov 4, 2019

good material

By Tauseef A

Sep 26, 2019

Good Lectures

By ASLAM S

Sep 19, 2018

Good Course.

By Eoghan K

Jan 9, 2017

Good course.

By Peter Z

Feb 15, 2017

Good Course

By FARSY M A

Jul 7, 2020

Very good

By PRITHIV R S

May 12, 2020

good one.

By Dr. J S

Mar 12, 2017

Better !

By Amit M

Sep 15, 2021

good

By Samira m s

Feb 12, 2021

Good

By SURAPATI R

May 2, 2019

..

By Samar R

Jul 13, 2021

-

By Apurva S

Aug 25, 2019

.

By Roshni

Jan 8, 2018

Great course, taught me quite a bit about goal setting and vision statements. However, could be more in depth in a few areas. I would recommend taking the first two sections of this course (visionary leader and goal setting). The other areas are interesting such as how to motivate using rewards but that is more applicable if you are an employer, as compared to the leader of a voluntary organization or just a member looking for leadership training.

Some suggestions for improvement: It could be beneficial to be given some complex problems and be given an exercise to navigate it in the best way given the course material and discuss the situation and approaches via the forum. Also more emphasis on being a charismatic leader would be helpful- there is a great body of research and I was expecting and hoping for more depth in this area. Perhaps a future assignment where students record themselves giving a speech about the vision would be beneficial. Then peers would analyze and critique the content and delivery.

By Mirjana T

Oct 26, 2015

I have learnt a lot or new information and improved my understanding in the filed of motivation. I have leart that as a leader you need to communicate clearly the vision, set goals which are in line with the vision. The thing that I miss is how to connect the motivation with the set goals.

By Joachim L

Feb 29, 2016

Some of the videos made too long by unnecessary clips from hollywood which illustrate the point but are too long. The assignment of the final week felt tacked on and not at all related to what was taught that week.

By S.M A H

Apr 16, 2020

This is an informative course as you will know many things. But they should make the video interesting and change the instructor as well.