Chevron Left
Back to Mountains 101

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mountains 101 by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
2,241 ratings
839 reviews

About the Course

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top reviews

SK
Dec 22, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

BS
Feb 11, 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 838 Reviews for Mountains 101

By Michala

Jun 14, 2017

Another wonderfully interesting course from the University of Alberta. And a surprise cameo by Justin Trudeau too?! I need to go hiking immediately.

By Emily W

May 14, 2020

This course was great! I loved the interdisciplinary approach and feel like I learned a lot. It also made me want to travel to the Canadian rockies!

By Waqar A

Feb 8, 2020

It has been a wonderful study session as a multidisciplinary approach displayed the rounded image of Mountains and enhanced my horizon of knowledge.

By Mohamed E B

Apr 17, 2017

Loved the material, very inspiring! Easy, but enough of a challenge; overall, extremely engaging course and would definitely recommend it to others.

By Haley M

Jun 8, 2020

This is a great course that covers several aspects that make up what mountains are and how we interact with them today. This was such a fun course!

By Sarah R

Apr 5, 2017

Great introduction to many areas of study related to mountain landscapes. Well produced with beautiful photography and interesting content. Thanks!

By Gabrielle A

Aug 1, 2020

This is the best course I have ever taken. The media and academic content is superb as well as all the guest speakers. I will highly recommend.

By Terri G

Oct 30, 2019

This is an excellent beginning class in mountain ecology and why mountains are important as well as the animals and plants of the alpine regions.

By Alberto L

Apr 3, 2021

This was amazing! Great job everyone! I'd like to visit all the places you've shown and meet all the people that partecipated! Thank you so much

By LIORET M

Nov 8, 2020

Amazing course! The best MOOC I've done so far. Very instructive, very qualitative. The only regret I have is not having paid for a certificate.

By Delbert L P S

Jan 13, 2021

Excellent Course! Presentation was great. I have a much deeper understanding of mountains and everything connected to them. Thank you for this!

By Alondra J L B

Jun 3, 2019

Excellent!!! Very informative and well organized course. Recommended to all mountain lover. Thank you for providing such great materials to us.

By Lana

Nov 15, 2018

Loving this course so far; I adore the mountains and this certificate will allow to become more knowledgeable for my next elk hunt in Colorado.

By RICHARD E B

Apr 24, 2017

A media-rich and thoroughly fun learning experience. You'll never look at mountains in the same way again, after beginning to know them here.

By Fahad A K

Jun 13, 2020

a great informative and engaging course by the University of Alberta. I would love to take more courses on Ecology and other related topics.

By Anita H

Dec 29, 2020

Course material as well as course instructor Zac Robinson and David Hik were Superb . Am extremely Happy to have enrolled in this course .

By Anuj D R

Jan 7, 2019

Good course for all interested to know the value of mountains, its origination and impact on climate. Will recommend everyone to attend it.

By Christina L

Jul 20, 2017

Recommended for all outdoor enthusiasts !!

It'll amaze you.... how less you know about Mountains and how much more you can learn about them.

By Jieying L

Jan 17, 2021

Fabulous course! Great instructors and contents, wonderful pictures on the nature, the tech tips are extremely useful! highly recommended!

By Cheery W

Nov 22, 2017

This course is fantastic! The voice of professors' is quite clear and the photos and videos are beautiful! I like this informative course.

By Paul L

Mar 24, 2017

Excellent lots of visuals not much technical jargon . Covers all aspects of Mountian culture/ processes / history / difficulties

Well done

By Michelle T

Jan 30, 2021

AMAZING CONTENT, WONDERFUL INSTRUCTORS AND RESOURCE PERSONS AND TOP OF THE NOTCH VIDEO CREATION. ONE OF THE BEST ONLINE COURSES THERE IS!

By Karolina P

Dec 30, 2020

I learnt so much! I really like this course, professional made and clear messages with an amazing Canadian background. Thank you so much!

By Onuoha R

Aug 22, 2020

It was an amazing experience, learnt a lot of skills, gained lots of knowledge. Every topic was well detailed, thanks to the instructors.

By Carolina A F

Jul 18, 2020

Passion and love for mountains environments are reflected throughout this course. It's incredibly beautiful I enjoy it very much, thanks!