Chevron Left
Back to Mountains 101

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mountains 101 by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
2,174 ratings
816 reviews

About the Course

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top reviews

LB
May 4, 2021

Entertaining and interesting subject. This course gives us a perfect overview of mountains' importance on our environment and their value to our lives as a human. Thank you for this incredible course.

SK
Dec 22, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 812 Reviews for Mountains 101

By Kay B

Jul 22, 2020

This course covered so many aspects of mountains such as geography, geology, as well as human physical responses to living in the mountains. I found the unit on glaciers particularly fascinating. The lessons from mountain experts added a lot to the course. The professors did a wonderful job of preparing and executing all course content.

By Joseph F

May 3, 2021

The course is very comprehensive and covers a wide range of topics with a balance between breadth and depth. The many guest speakers from their various specialised fields also adds a lot of insightful facts. The notes at the end of each week are very good and summaris key points succinctly too. Amazing course overall with great teachers!!

By Nicolas G

May 4, 2020

Excellent. Beautifully made course. Art and science together. For me, the main message of the course is to know more about what you love. I will continue to learn more about mountains, experience them, and be very careful to use them wisely and respectfully.

Thank you for sharing your knowledge and making us more literate world citizens.

By Bo P

Feb 13, 2019

What an amazing course. So much time effort and thought was put into this course. The quality of the content was amazing and as a lover of mountains I found this so interesting. Above all, the passion that went into this course made it perfect. Now when I'm in the mountains I enjoy the even more! Oh and the last video...nice touch! ;)

By Alexandrea V

Apr 13, 2017

This was a well structured and simple to understand course. I found the video style learning full a great imagery, examples, and more easily understood that a traditional lecture. The topics were diverse, thorough, and interesting. I also appreciate Matt Peter's knowledge of wilderness exploration. Great tips from a seasoned guide.

By Devdutt D

Aug 13, 2020

Excellent content and exceptional delivery. Can't ask anymore. A very holistic approach to learn and understand about our mountains and the ecosystem. The Tips on how to approach and respond in mountains was equally great! Thank you University of Alberta and all the people who put in all their efforts to make such beautiful course.

By Nikhil S

May 2, 2021

I love this course ! The passion of the instructors as well as all the guests is evident. The course was very informative and provided a great foundation to build upon my knowledge. Great perspectives across social, cultural, geographical, biological, ecological perspectives. Being in the mountains will never be the same again! :)

By Lianne M

Nov 4, 2019

Extremely informative and interesting content throughout each lesson. Covering many topics related to mountain environments which held my interest and attention. It was very interesting to hear from people working in different roles throughout mountains internationally, especially from the Parks Canada and local university staff.

By Kaori M

Jun 9, 2020

Very interesting with lots of examples and images. I was impressed with the diverse topics offered in this course and learnt a lot from it. Kept me on my toes and was eager to see what I could learn next. With this new knowledge I would like to be more alert on the environmental changes and do my part to protect the environment.

By Elizabeth D

Feb 13, 2021

I learned so much about mountains throughout this course. A someone who loves to spend time in the mountains hiking and camping, I feel like I have an even greater appreciation for how special our mountain and glacier spaces are. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who loves mountain spaces and wants to learn more.

By Joshua G

Dec 5, 2019

Was a bit of a bittersweet moment when I submitted the last test. This course was far beyond all my expectations. I have lived in the mountains my whole life, but this gave me a whole new outlook, and has further cemented my appreciation for the amazing places around me. Can't wait for "Mountains 201" :) Thanks guys, you rock!

By Jason P

Feb 11, 2021

Amazing course. It has a wealth of information about all aspects of mountains, including the environmental, social and economic aspects. Just a really well put together module, drawing knowledge from a diverse group of professionals. I was never bored, and in fact, each lesson was very interesting. Thank you for all involved.

By Loek L

Nov 22, 2020

Living in the flat Netherlands I really enjoyed the opportunity to take the knowledge from this course and put life and living on Earth into perspective. Mountains are such an impressive site and apparently also have so many more roles than I already told they had. I would like to thank everyone who made this course possible

By Rose S

Aug 11, 2020

Highly recommend for those of you who want to learn more about mountains. The instructors will guide you through learning about the many different aspects of mountains you have really never thought about : from the science to how and why mountains are spiritually important. Also engaging graphics and awesome instructors.

By Sherry Y

Apr 22, 2020

Great course! This is perfect for mountain lovers regardless of if you have a background in science or not. This will make you travel across many mountain ranges of the world and understand the fundamental processes shaping mountains from biological, historical, climatic to cultural aspects and more. Definitely recommend!

By Shah M A R

Sep 25, 2020

This Course Lecture is awesome .The Instructor Spoke Very Clearly and was very knowledgeable and patient.Good Curriculum and Reading materials.Also there is a extra lecture about mountain hiking related.The most interesting thig in this course was "The Mountain Map",finding Mountain on Earth Map was very much enjoyable .

By Thomas M

Apr 1, 2018

I had a fantastic time completing this course. Each lesson represented an area I was interested in and served as a something to look forward to on a week to week basis to increase my knowledge of mountainous regions and to further stimulate my interest in exploring Canada and the rest of the worlds mountain environments.

By Joshua V

Oct 22, 2020

I only enrolled to watch the videos. The production value was fantastic, and the information was very interesting. There were many details and perspectives I couldn't have anticipated, and it was presented in a way that allows a layman to this topic to understand clearly. I couldn't recommend this course more highly.

By Tegan W

Apr 18, 2017

I absolutely loved this course. The format worked great and I would, in a heartbeat, sign up for another mountains course like this. (Mountains 201 anyone?). Especially if it focused on Canadian mountains (BC/AB in particular) in a little more detail. I soo look forward to taking more of your courses, Zac and David.

By Monil P

Feb 27, 2021

Very influencial and knowledgeful course on mountain biodiversity, ecosystem, features and landscapes. Also helps one understand the way we are impacting mountain sustainability. There are short guides on nuts and bolts of trekking like pro-tips. Overall really enjoyed the course with interactive learning features.

By El S R P

Aug 20, 2020

This course was truly amazing. It is incredible the amount of effort that the instructors put on making it, the pictures and places are breathtaking, the information is very accurate, the guests, etc. Everything was perfect and well thought out. It is worth the effort and I thank David and Zac for their commitment.

By Manuel O L

Oct 11, 2020

Excelente Curso, los maestros y expositores lo hicieron ver de fácil comprensión, el material y videos de gran calidad, aprendí bastante sobre las Montañas, muchas felicidades a la Universidad de Alberta Canadá y gracias por su labor de enseñanza. Hasta la próxima por aquí nos veremos. Manuel Ortiz Lara, México.

By Veronique L

Apr 29, 2020

Excellent course. I learned a lot about mountains, ecosystems, lore, history, geography and geology. I think the course might have been even more effective with more points listed on the screen. Some accents are difficult and you presented lots of concepts, so having more notes appearing on the screen would help.

By Francis D F

Nov 2, 2020

I really enjoyed the lectures, hiking tips, map activity and quizzes. What a well planned series of lecture videos. I am inspired to share the knowledge in environmental planning from this course. Canada has such a well informed people and very passionate scientists. Thank you very much for University of Alberta.

By George S

Oct 8, 2018

I have lived in Calgary since 1994 (aged 11). I love the mountains here. I have visited the Alps a handful of times, as well as the Andes once. It was a pleasure to learn about the geology and nature of these majestic places. What a good course. What a surprise to see our prime minister in your course. Awesome!