Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
4,842 ratings
863 reviews

About the Course

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top reviews

SS
Aug 3, 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

JT
Nov 12, 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 866 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

By Patrick F

Feb 1, 2019

Really good course, would recommend! 4 Stars, because there is no written transcript with the Formula and examples in the videos available.

By Valentinos P

Aug 25, 2019

A very nice course that builds your intuition in Multivariate Calculus and also introduces you to some basic consepts in machine learning.

By Aman A

Oct 12, 2019

This was a very succinct and comprehensive course and at times I felt a bit fast paced and consequently the assignments harder to solve

By Vikram N

May 13, 2020

Good course. Clarity of content in the last two weeks (i.e. weeks 5 and 6) can be improved. Overall a fantastic learning experience.

By Rachel Z

Mar 6, 2021

Excellent course overall. I really enjoyed the sessions taught by Sam Cooper. He explains concepts very clearly...great teacher.

By Prashant D

Feb 16, 2019

Good course. The lecturer uses a number of illustrations and has a nice easy style to explain the key ideas. Overall enjoyable

By Kailash Y

Jul 1, 2020

This is a nice course for beginners, as it relies on intuition for the explanation. Also, this has very interesting exercises.

By Leong H

May 13, 2020

it is pretty good for week1 to week4, but week5 and week6 are too complicated, I think the course should explain more details.

By Sachitha V S

Oct 28, 2020

course was great and interesting however some topics were need to explain more thoroughly little bit difficult to understand

By Stanislav B

Apr 21, 2021

Can be hard in some parts. But it's not instructors fault as they had to put a lot of material into relatively short course

By Daniel P

Aug 22, 2018

Interestin to refresh notions you already learned. Probably a bit difficult if you're totally new to multivariate calculus

By Wendy N

May 13, 2020

Sometimes I need more explanation, I needed to find another resources to clarify what I haven't understood at that time.

By Chika

Jul 9, 2019

Feedback on assessment could be improved, and there could be more practice questions relevant to the final assessments

By Jose V R

Jun 4, 2018

I think I've improve my understanding of mathematics for ML, mainly, I've understand much better the concepts involved

By thedoctor

May 4, 2021

More focus on concrete data centric machine learning instead of abstract function definitions would have been helpful

By Arun I

Mar 2, 2019

Good course to understand the basic mathematics terms and a refresher for high school math with some technical terms.

By ADITYA K

May 12, 2020

It is a beautifully designed course to get knowledge of how to apply various types of calculus to machine learning.

By Adam N

Nov 12, 2018

Very nice and concise, definitely review normal calculus and look up materials to get the most out of this course.

By Mohammad A K

Jul 6, 2020

good math course for learning derivatives, there could have been a better way to summarize and explain the course

By Rachel P

May 28, 2020

An amazing course for beginners in Machine learning and brushing up your Mathematics skills at the same time.

By Manan S

May 29, 2021

more on optimization techniques like in-depth concepts of gradient descent would have helped, rest was great

By Eileen Y

Apr 17, 2020

It seems that the lecture is not quite closely connected with the quiz, which may bring great confusion.

By Sharan S M

Jan 9, 2020

Great course If you want to learn Multivariate calculus. Teaches a lot of topics and is a bit rigorous

By AKASH C

Jun 15, 2020

this course is not for beginners but some good concepts are there which was needed for progress

By Olena K

May 21, 2018

Not enough detail in the explanations and little to no instructor participation in the forums.