Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started With Music Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started With Music Theory by Michigan State University

4.5
stars
658 ratings
238 reviews

About the Course

This course is a brief introduction to the elements of music theory for those with little or no music theory experience. We will explore pitch, rhythm, meter, notation, scales, keys, key signatures, meter signatures, triads, seventh chords, and basic harmony. If you listen to music or play music by ear, and you want to know more about how music is organized and notated, this course is for you. By the end of the course, you should know all major and minor keys, how to read and write in treble and bass clef using standard meters and rhythmic values, and how to notate and harmonize a simple melody. This course can serve as a stand-alone basic music theory course, or it can be a springboard to more advanced theory and composition courses. Your instructor is Bruce Taggart, Associate Professor of Music Theory at Michigan State University, in the College of Music, where he has taught undergraduate and graduate music theory since 1996....

Top reviews

WV
Aug 20, 2020

Course was quite tough , eventually I had given up on this course, but consistency made me learn and I went through rigorous learning in finding the chords and middle C notes. Yes I made it in the end

CM
Jul 22, 2020

Fantastic lectures and very easy-to-understand, hard to master lessons. This course will leave you with a much deeper understanding of music if you are a beginner to music theory like I am.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 237 Reviews for Getting Started With Music Theory

By Chorde E

Dec 28, 2020

ONE OF THE BEST TEACHERS I HAVE EVER WITNESSED IS PROF. BRUCE TAGGART... I pay a heartily gratitude to him for offering me such an Amazing Course...

By Mercy k

May 31, 2020

I had a great time learning how to read music.

I enjoyed the in-video questions and quizzes.

It was tasking and time consuming but it is worth it.

By Tonka N

May 24, 2020

Thank you so much! This course is amazing, it gives you so many information about basics of music theory and foundation for further learning.

By Kwon H

Jun 8, 2020

This is a great course to have proper basic unterstanding of music theory. It would be better to allow submission of quizes without upgrade.

By Paolo R R

May 14, 2020

Contents are explained very clearly and thoroughly, it was very useful and accessible even though I knew very little about music theory.

By SHIVAM L

Sep 26, 2020

This course is really good for beginner. Those who want to learn music theory, then go for it. I learnt so many things. Thank you!

By CHAVAN H R

Jul 26, 2020

The content is super fantastic. In Every aspect it is the best course for a beginner and for everyone. I just loved it.

By Eduardo F F b

Apr 5, 2020

Great Course! As a beginner this course is really cool and the teacher explains really well, I'll totally recommend it!

By Kezia G

May 1, 2020

My First online course I took, The lesson is so attractive because there's a lot of 'quiz' in the middle of lecture.

By Vaituolo T

Jan 17, 2021

I am very excited that I learned a lot and a lot of new things from this course!! It is just wonderful 💙

By Muhammad A T

Aug 30, 2020

As a beginner's course, it provides you with all the necessary knowledge to start your music journey.

By Lorna s

Sep 5, 2020

Really enjoyed this course and feel like it refreshed my memories as well as teaching me new things.

By Kumar A

Apr 22, 2020

This course is really helpful in learning new musical skills. Very interesting and complete content.

By Michael F

Oct 5, 2020

Very efficient and effective learning. Some minor technical glitches, but they can be circumvented.

By Saptangshu M

May 12, 2020

This the best course if you want to clear the basics of music theory for basic music production.

By Talgat D

May 11, 2020

An awesome course! All lectures and assignments were exciting, challenging, and well-explained!

By Ssemuddu S

Jul 5, 2020

This is a great opportunity given out free of charge. Thank you so much Coursera and partners

By Valiren T

Jul 8, 2020

This course is very helpful for my music class! Thank you! God bless you more Coursera!

By Charles G

Jul 15, 2021

V​ery interesting class. Deeper discussion on chord shapes would be nice. Had fun.

By Maria P

Dec 13, 2020

This course is a good start for a beginner, even though it can be quite challenging.

By Gordon D

Nov 30, 2020

Loved it. Thank you for sharpening my skills in an entertaining, self-paced format!!

By Juan J P G E

Jul 13, 2020

It worked very well for me. The explanations were very clear with helpfull excecises

By Landy T

Mar 13, 2020

the course is very great and good for all of the beginners of learning music theory!

By 朱婧

Mar 30, 2019

You shall never miss it!

A true foundation of the music theory, simple but complete!