Chevron Left
Back to Musicianship: Tensions, Harmonic Function, and Modal Interchange

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Musicianship: Tensions, Harmonic Function, and Modal Interchange by Berklee College of Music

4.9
stars
347 ratings
96 reviews

About the Course

After a tremendous response from learners on Coursera, Berklee Online has created a Developing Your Musicianship specialization, and this course is the third course in the series. If you have a general understanding of music theory or if you have completed Developing Your Musicianship I and II, this course will continue to help you understand musical concepts, enabling you to create and perform contemporary music. Taught by Berklee College of Music professor George W. Russell, Jr., the course includes four lessons that delve into an intermediate level of harmony and ear training. The course will introduce you to new key signatures, and explore how they are constructed. You will continue to train your ear, learning to differentiate between the various intervals and chords that were explored in Developing Your Musicianship I and II. You will learn how to borrow chords from parallel tonalities (modal interchange), and how to write more common chord progressions. The course culminates with an assignment that asks you to compose and perform a composition using popular chord progressions. As with Developing Your Musicianship I and II, this course is designed to share the joy of creating music....

Top reviews

DA
Feb 9, 2019

I have grown so much musically since taking this specialization. I look forward to taking everything I've learned here, and using it to advance my musical career. I am so excited and proud of myself!

SS
Jan 18, 2017

This class was fantastic! George is an amazing instructor. For all aspiring musicians, take the four classes in Coursera/Berklee Online's Developing your Musicianship Specialization. Excellent!!

Filter by:

76 - 96 of 96 Reviews for Musicianship: Tensions, Harmonic Function, and Modal Interchange

By ANGELO C D

May 6, 2019

Master peace

By Arie O

Sep 17, 2017

great course

By ADRIANO P T

Jul 10, 2019

Awesome !

By 陈雨寒

Jan 17, 2020

so cool!

By Théo T

Jan 14, 2019

Awesome!

By Antonio N

Nov 27, 2019

Thanks.

By khush

Nov 5, 2018

awesome

By Carl C

Jul 30, 2017

George,

By Marc S

Oct 23, 2017

Great continuation in the 4-course Developing Your Musicianship specialization. I wish more time was spent on the modal interchange lecture as that was a real "lightbulb" moment for me. Great instructor and easy to follow; builds upon previous courses nicely.

By Virgilio C

Apr 22, 2020

Hay una sección donde no estoy de acuerdo. Se tratan acordes diatonicos en la tonalidad de Eb el 3er grado G-7 le colocan la tensión 9 cuando esa nota no es diaconisa, pienso eso puede confundir un poco al estudiante. De resto excelente.

By Morrven .

Oct 13, 2020

IT WAS IMMENSE PLEASURE LEARNING THIS COURSE.ONLY THE PEER GRADED ASSIGNMENT TAKES A LOT OF TIME.IF THAT PROBLEM WAS SOLVED THIS COURSE IS AN EXCELLENT COURSE!

By Bradley

Apr 23, 2018

Good course. Would have liked to have seen a much deeper dive into modal interchange.

By Matthew A

Oct 25, 2017

This is good! I recommend it.

By Eric A

Jul 5, 2017

Quite an education!

By Carol M M

May 23, 2019

Generally good fun, BUT....the last quiz was simply too confusing in the last 3 items that I couldn't manage a 'pass' grade and have given up! I'd like to go on to Course 4 but cannot until I pass this Quiz in Course 3, right? I'm really disappointed since I'm paying $39/month to progress ahead.

What do I do, please? and Who can I communicate with ASAP.

Disappointed....

By Xavier A M

Nov 21, 2016

Great teacher, but i was expecting more advanced content. The assignments were very basic.

I loved the ear training videos.

The fact that you cannot submit the quizzes and the final assignment unless you pay for it is awful.

By Juanjo R C

Feb 12, 2017

It's ok, good for remeber concepts

By Chiara

May 29, 2017

Nobody is monitoring the course, which means all course related questions remain unanswered in the forum, and there are bugs in the questionnaires, as a result of which people get lower grades for no fault of theirs.

By Emma C

Sep 8, 2019

to hard

By Paul M

Mar 31, 2020

Terrible. The instructor does not got into any depth on any topic. Take for example the diminished 7 chord video, it's shockingly limited and you are left wondering why he put that progression in place. no explanation

By Richard G

Dec 1, 2019

Very poor instructor. Less than engaging.