Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
16,788 ratings

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

DS

Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

AB

Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 3,994 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Thamires N

Dec 21, 2016

I really enjoyed the course, the content was amazing and I learned a lot with it. The Professor used a simple language and gave a daily life examples, which made the whole difference.

By pedro v

May 18, 2021

Thanks to Coursera and University Of Michigan for the course. It is highly recommended and I am happy to have complete it. I hope to learn more about negotiations in the short term.

By Jessica F

Sep 7, 2020

It was my first experience taking a 100% online course. I found the course very useful and well explained. I will definitely be using what I learned in my career and personal life.

By Carlos H G d S

Jun 13, 2020

By far this is one of the greatest courses that I ever had. It was an amazing opportunity to learn from Mr. Siedel. He is an excellent professor. Do not hesitate to take his classes!

By João B F

Apr 21, 2020

The skills taught in this course are a must have for everyone, since independently of your profession, age, or social status, you are always negotiating! Thank you Professor Siedel !

By Yang G

Jan 22, 2016

Thank you Professor Siedel. This course has accompanied me through stressful and hard time, in my first year of small business. What I have learnt will still accompany me. Thank you.

By Gonzalo D

Nov 10, 2015

This is a very well thought course. It addresses everything you need to know when negotiating.

It works whether you have negotiating experience or none at all.

Thanks to the professor!

By Valentina D R

Jun 6, 2020

Este es un curso muy bueno explicativo y integral , yo lo recomiendo bastante ayuda bastante a tener una perspectiva al momento de una negociancion basica y compleja en nuestra vida

By ATUKARU H

May 19, 2020

The course is simply awesome. Most of the concepts are covered with simple but interesting real life examples. The way the course instructor teaches is far beyond the expectations.

By Pablo E F

Apr 26, 2020

Excelente curso. Mismo habiendo tenido un curso similar en mi Universidad, éste amplió muchísimo más el tema con muchísimos conceptos de los que nunca había escuchado hablar. Genial

By ZAFAR K

Dec 21, 2017

Thanks a lot Prof. George Siedeles. It was one of the best courses I have taken. I learned a lot about the art of successful negotiations a much needed tool I always wanted to have.

By Joseph S

Jan 3, 2022

Well thought through course with great detail and world class case studies making the course live and relevant. well done Professor George Siedel. what a time to be alive to learn.

By Liga P

Jan 30, 2021

Very useful and interesting course that covers theorethical knwledge. practical examples and "hands-on" exercise. The provided mix keeps the attention and increases comprehension.

By maria f v h

Sep 27, 2020

I like the way this course was taught. The teacher provided visual examples for understanding the critical thinking and strategy in determining how successful a negotiation can be.

By Mahmoud A I

Mar 5, 2016

This Course really add to my life, As I studied it for my personal use, I already have alto of confidence and benefits in my negotiations situations.

Thank you Dr.Sandal

Mahmoud Atta

By Mohit C P

Jun 25, 2020

Great instructor and great course material. Only issue was the final exam which i think had too many questions and some options need to be changed. The course overall was amazing.

By Ng I W A

Jun 6, 2020

This course offers insight on what is important points to consider before, during and after negotiation. Prof Siedal provides relevant examples on how the concepts can be applied.

By kushal m

May 13, 2020

I am very grateful and blessed to learn this course. it was fun and at any moment of time it wasn't boring all thanks to sir. The examples were very helpful and I enjoyed learning

By Claudia E C R

Aug 20, 2015

Excelente!! Muy recomendable, una amplia compilación de interesantes experiencias e información para aplicar en cualquier interacción, relación y/o negociación con otras personas.

By Fiza B

Nov 27, 2020

This is a very good course to take once in a lifetime. The way teacher has designed the course and the topics are well-crafted and well-delivered with several real life examples.

By Rhonda F

Oct 26, 2020

I found this course informative and enlightening. Professor Steidel made it very interesting with the use of examples which really made the concepts clear and easy to understand.

By Umangkumar P

Jun 28, 2020

There are lot to lean with this course, and during this journey of learning, I learn many strategies, and skills for negotiation. Thanks for your valuable effort for this course.

By Tapakorn S

May 26, 2020

it's a great course that you all should learn because as everyone know that you have a chance to negotiate in everyday of your life and this will help you to go on the right way!

By Eric A

May 2, 2020

Great course to take. Instructor is very knowledgable. I have learned a lot and practical exercise help to get better understanding of the topic in real lofe scenario. Thank you.

By MIHIR E A

Mar 23, 2020

Excellent course for learning the art of negotiation and all its details. Really enjoyed the course and the roleplay activity really gives you an opportunity to test your skills.