Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
16,788 ratings

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

DS

Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

AB

Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 3,996 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Charlie Z

Sep 16, 2017

I enjoyed the interactive lessons with the Professor, and I learned quite a lot from this meaningful course. Hope more people can take this course and enjoy the process:D

By Alexandra A

Aug 25, 2015

It is amazing, very useful, interesting, intelligible course with a wide range of practical cases. I highly recommend to listen this course from the beginning to the end!

By Carlos M L M

Apr 15, 2022

Its an excelent course, i enjoyed a lot learning all of its material and tools. I recomend a lot to all those profesionals who wants to improve their negotiation skills.

By Ebraheem A

Apr 17, 2021

It was a great course. I learn a lot about negotiation. The most important thing I learn in this course is that we do not always have to go to court to resolve a dispute

By David R

Nov 18, 2020

I warmly recommend this course for the clear and concise concepts explained, the good examples shared for the excellent assignment and for the quality of the instructor.

By Amrit B

Oct 2, 2020

I loved the course. in the past a I had read a book called 'never split the difference' that got me interested in negotiation. This course takes it to a while new level.

By Prem P M

Aug 7, 2020

Everything was good, gained good strategies. Teacher was very well in communication. Just disappointed for not getting certificate as already it was instructed for free.

By S M A H

Jul 3, 2020

It was a great course. I would like to thank the Instructor sir George Siedel for this wonderful teaching. This course will help me with different situations in my life.

By Nachiket R

May 20, 2020

Absolutely loved this course enjoyed each aspect of the topics, got to learn new and interesting concepts, George Siedel sir taught very interactively very much enjoyed.

By Melik S

Oct 20, 2019

Thank you for this teaching programme. I enjoyed learning from Mr.Siedel. His teaching style with examples and understandible way was great. I enjoyed learning from him.

By Rubén M

Sep 5, 2015

Este curso sin duda tiene un contenido muy completo, entre teoria y practica. La forma de explicar del profesor es buenisima, tiene un don de la enseñanza. ¡Felicidades!

By Ana N

May 27, 2021

This course is not only about something specific, in one narrow direction material, It is wide and optional. It gave me lifetime skills which I am using in daily life.

By José A T G

Mar 2, 2021

Un muy buen curso, el instructor es muy experimentado y explica perfectamente todos los conceptos, es un curso excelente para aprender a negociar y resolver conflictos.

By Judee G

Nov 13, 2020

Very informative! Can surely improve your negotiation skills and various strategies in making a deal both in business and personal matters. Great instructor too! Kudos!

By GCDG

Jun 28, 2020

It is a really good course. Highly recommend it. If you think about it, you negotiate in every aspect of your life, this is a course that can improve how you negotiate.

By Pratik K

May 7, 2020

This course gave me a ton of knowledge that I can apply in real life and it helped me to learn a new skill which will be of greater value addition in the coming future.

By HARI K R

Apr 14, 2020

Highly informative., though many of us feel we know negotiation, the pragmatic & holistic approach makes you realize where you might commit mistakes in decision making.

By Alberto A U

Mar 4, 2018

Great Course. It fulfilled all my expectations as it was my 1st course in Coursera. Highly recommended to professionals who are working in Business Development like me.

By Andras N

Feb 20, 2017

This course is absolutely fantastic! I am really appreciate that I could join and finish this class.

I can recommend to everybody who want to be a successful negotiator!

By Pedro C

Sep 11, 2019

Very great course with step by step learning and examples. Mr. Siedel is a great teacher, and speaks clearly and at a great pace that allows for maximum understanding.

By Aditya V

Jun 26, 2018

Been learning many things that I can actually apply in real life !!! Its quite nice. Would recommend for people who like studying and practicing business negotiations.

By Mohammed H

Mar 24, 2018

This course helped me get a different perspective on life. Not only do I feel like a much stronger negotiator but I developed skills I was not aware I posses.

Thank you

By Igor N V M

Oct 5, 2016

Prezados,

Esse foi meu primeiro curso da Universidade de Michigan, achei bem interessante a abordagem do tema, despertou-me em estudar mais sobre o assunto.

Igor Nemésio

By James N

Feb 15, 2016

Iwould to thank the entire Michigan university for the skill they drilled in me. Looking forward to another course,I better also thank Coursera for the financial aid.

By Zahra C

Feb 28, 2022

b​est course ever i have enjoyed lerning it and prof Siedel was amizing and he make the course easy and intresting i advise lot to take the course it will blow you up