Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
16,518 ratings
3,929 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

DS

Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

AB

Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 3,925 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Jaime A R V

Jun 25, 2020

Excelente curso, recomendado ampliamente por la calidad del material, el profesionalismo del instructor y las herramientas demostradas en casos de la vida real.

By Ma. C C

Jun 23, 2020

Prof. Siedel as an instructor is very clear and compelling. His pace also ensures that the material is clearly explained and demonstrated in real-life examples.

By Dmitry A

May 31, 2020

If I would visit this course before terminating business relationships with our partners those may end up totally different.

Great materials and well presented!

By Gourav S

Apr 30, 2020

All Study material is made in very acceptable and readable style. easily understand all the concept and tactics. Very Helpful course. Enjoyed my learning a lot.

By Bharath D

Apr 20, 2020

Course is perfect for any professional looking to improve negotiation skills. I am now confident to take on new challenges in my career as a sales professional.

By Mark A B

Dec 6, 2015

Really enjoyed this course. Would recommend to anyone as it brings a bit of science/method to the art of negotiation (which you do a lot more than you realise).

By Kieu N

Jan 3, 2022

Excellent! I have learnt a lot through this brilliant course. Thank you Coursera, University Of Michigan and Instructor George Siedel for this amazing lesson!.

By Vivian T

Oct 29, 2021

Very informative, practical. Chances to participate and evaluation with other fellow students. Professor explains things well, and has a (cold) sense of humor.

By Jasmine K

Apr 5, 2021

I really liked the easy to understand and relevant content of the course. I would request that more practice questions on Decision tree be added to the course.

By Sina M

Mar 22, 2021

Prof. George seidel class is fascinating.

Thank you very much for the course. I enjoyed every minute of your lecture as well as your true stories in the class.

By Kim-Hai S

Jul 9, 2020

Well structured course with in-depth analysis of use case and examples. I have learned a lot and this is very relevant to my work and personal life. Thank you.

By Nikolle K N G

Jun 25, 2020

Excelente curso para desarrollar y reforzar habilidades no solo en el área de los negocios, sino en la vida integral como seres humanos. Totalmente recomendado

By Kishan C

Jun 11, 2020

It was a great experience for me to attend this online session. I hope it will help me out in my career to negotiate perfectly during finalization of projects.

By Okwanuzor E

May 25, 2020

Excellent course! My knowledge and skills have been broaden upon the completion of this course. There was no boring moment. It cuts across all spheres of life!

By Athanasios K

Apr 3, 2020

Fantastic course with great lecturer. I was in the middle of the course and it already helped me in a critical negotiation at my workplace. Highly recommended!

By Jurriaan v S

Jul 15, 2017

Great course! Interesting mix between negotiation tactics, psychology and law. Professor very clear and videos are easy to watch, would recommend it to anyone!

By Mubarak A I

Dec 21, 2020

This course was absolutely amazing and informing and i learnt a lot from it God bless coursera God bless University of Michigan and My sponsor. great job guys

By Alina N

Jul 10, 2020

Very happy to select this course, as it contained very useful tools and strategies to structure the negotiating process in future. Thank you to all the team !

By S V

Apr 23, 2020

Very heapfull course. With many examples from the bussines world. In addition, it uses legal terms as needed and so it is understandable to non-legal persons.

By Syed M A

Apr 7, 2020

wonderful course with real life examples to get better understanding of real life scenarios for negotiations wither in business, real estate or personal work.

By Damini T

Feb 13, 2018

The course was very helpful and very apt for people wanting to pursue the line. it had the exact details and techniques needed in today's business environment

By Surya R

Oct 29, 2017

Negotiation process case studies are nicely captured, documented and presented. It was a great learning and fun attending this. Must attend for every manager.

By Leonardo G

May 15, 2022

Ótimo curso de Negociações, o melhor que eu fiz até hoje ! Apoio todos as fazerem em busca de seus objetivos pessoais e profissionais. Att Leonardo Gonçalves

By Nguyễn T T T

Oct 10, 2021

I have learned so much from this course. Can't thank enough to professor Siedel and Coursera. <3 Hope the Professor best wish and Coursera will more develop!

By Ciro G P

Jun 11, 2020

This is a very intersting course that really makes you rethink about Negotiation skills. George Siedel is an amazing teacher and his book is a must have one!