Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
16,801 ratings

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

AB

Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

DS

Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 3,997 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Imran Z

Oct 11, 2016

Excellent course with practical examples on negotiation skills. The course is tailored very carefully in order to avoid any unnecessary extension of topics.

By Joshua T

Oct 19, 2015

excellent course. very experienced and knowledgeable professor.

content of practical use and relevant almost every interaction where influencing is required.

By Jonelle O

Sep 25, 2015

The tutor makes this course very interesting. I am also learning great skills. I will definitely pay to get the certificate at the end of taking the course.

By ANH V L

Nov 26, 2020

Well-structured course. It was a quite hard final exam. But the knowledge is so valuable. George is really good at spreading the ideas. Highly recommended!

By Marlon D

Nov 6, 2020

Very Helpful. I am sure to use this on my wok! Lots of insights and tools learned on this course - a must have especially for people in procurement field.

By Welington F

Aug 10, 2020

Olá gostaria do certificado como vou comprovar que conclui o curso.

Negociações de sucesso estratégias e habilidades essenciais na Universidade de Michigan

By Felipe M d S P

Aug 12, 2017

Great presentation and tools for a successful negotiation, and the videos are not boring at all, keep your attention with comic histories about real cases.

By Rachit S

Aug 7, 2017

The course was very knowledgeable and indulging. The professor taught every topic by practical instances which helped to have a clear image of the subject.

By Harish T

Feb 5, 2017

It is a great course to learn the essential negotiation skills. Professor Siedel explains the concepts elaborately using relevant examples and information.

By Abhinav J

Jul 27, 2021

I loved it, the course offers a lot of knowledge in the world of Negotiation and George Siendal was a remarkable instructor and all in all it was perfect.

By Sanchit G

Apr 26, 2021

I learned a lot from this course if you want to improve your negotiation skills for professional use even for everyday use. I would recommend this course.

By Alex T

Oct 14, 2020

Presentation of the course material was so practical, am grateful having learned skills I'll apply in different situations of life besides to negotiations

By reneboy g

Jun 28, 2020

If you are not sure if you are thinking of all the possibilities in preparation of your negotiation. This course will guide you. Checklist of Negotiation.

By vinit D

Jun 3, 2020

THIS IS AN EYE OPENER, AS THIS IS A SKILL WHICH WE USE IN OUR SUBCONSCIOUS LEVEL OF OUR MIND, YET SO MANY MISTAKES WE MADE AND NO ONE TAUGHT US. THANK YOU

By ABDULLAH Z

Jun 18, 2017

Actually i like the way the instructor deal in this course very much - press pause and think about it- as he is really fucused and relax thanks Dr v much

By Jeff V

Oct 7, 2016

Learned way more than I bargained for. Had no idea the course offered basics of contracts and dispute resolution as well as tools to use in negotiations.

By Douglas L

May 28, 2022

E​xcelent course!

I​ can only recommend it.

I​ just happened to find the final exam a bit too extensive. But I will go through it once again to get my 100%

By Duncan M

Oct 5, 2020

The teacher is extremely good at communicating the material, and the pace of the videos is pretty good. I recommend maybe watching it at 1.5x or 2. speed

By Rodrigo G

Aug 29, 2020

I found some very useful information about the different types of laws and codes as well as some practical stuff to use while negotiating contract terms.

By Ashish S S

May 16, 2020

superb way to learn and enhance your knowledge, gives complete way out of negotiation and how to handle the task when on field it comes to you. thank you

By Ali A

Mar 22, 2019

The Negotiation part was great in theory but in practice i couldn't find someone to negotiate with.

no second exam if deadline finished is very troubling.

By Arjumand M

Dec 11, 2015

The teacher was excellent, he was very clear and pricise. I was not to happy on the final assignment as there was no real way of knowing how well you did

By Swati G

Aug 24, 2015

Wonderful, very helpful, well structured course. I liked the idea of teaching with examples. It helped me understand concepts better. Thankyou Professor.

By adhvait k

Apr 1, 2020

This course opened a new perspective of negotiation to me with the fundamental concept learning and application of the theory into a practical problems.

By Doug S

May 21, 2017

Very informative course and very excellent teacher. Teaches you things you can use in business dealings as well as things to use in your personal life.