Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
16,828 ratings

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

AB

Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

DS

Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 4,003 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Doug S

May 21, 2017

Very informative course and very excellent teacher. Teaches you things you can use in business dealings as well as things to use in your personal life.

By Amarelys L

Apr 29, 2017

Me encanto, aunque hice el examen más de una vez eso me ayudo a reforzar los errores. Los ejemplos dados ayudo afianzar la idea que se quería transmitir

By Karlo P

Dec 11, 2016

This is a great cours. I recommend to people who are or "new" or "old" in any kind of business. Also this was very inspiring. Go take, what do you wait!

By Scott B

Sep 9, 2016

An excellent course and professor. This course really opened my eyes to the subtleties of negotiations and how to influence all of my daily negotiations

By Md I A

Mar 27, 2022

N​egotiation is an art, if any one wants to finetune their negotiation skill, this is the right place to learn it. and Special thanks to @GeaorgeSiedel

By Emaan K

Jan 11, 2022

I would highly encourage people to take this course. It worked well with being a full time student already because the course load was very spread out.

By Dan B

Feb 2, 2021

Awsome. I was delighted with this course. Thank you very much and thanks to the excellent teacher Mr. Siedel. I will reccomend this to everyone i know.

By Valentina T L

Oct 26, 2020

Such an incredible course, the instructor is very likable and well-prepared, his explanations are understandable and overall the course is very useful.

By Rayi M

Sep 26, 2020

Great course! Prof. Siedel explains the concept very well and understandable. Highly recommend for everyone who wants to learn about basic negotiation.

By Mauro C

Jun 25, 2020

Muy buen material y excelente oportunidad para mejorar / aprender sobre negociación. El docente tiene mucha experiencia y es muy claro en los conceptos

By Kranthi

May 19, 2020

It is exactly the work what i do in my job but i received some tips where i can enhance my skills in the job which will benefit me and my organization.

By Stela M F

May 7, 2020

Very well organised and interesting course. It provides the instruments for facing consciously even situations that might arise in the day-to-day life.

By Nanak K B

Apr 27, 2020

This course will introduce you to the world of negotiations. How it necessary to avoid dispute and how to know the best outcomes using Decision Trees.

By Joel F

Mar 30, 2020

A wonderful course

Beautifully and simply explained

Fun activities

Mind bending processes

Overall: Super Fun, Super Educative & Very Helpful for the Future

By Carolina R

Mar 17, 2020

Really excellent course for people wanting to learn more about what it means to enter into a negotiation, interpret contracts and approach deal making.

By R. A M

Apr 12, 2018

Exceeded my expectations. The book and Elm Street exercise were great. The videos backed up the book. The course was well-illustrated with examples.

By Bibiana M T

May 2, 2017

Es un excelente curso, permite conocer la técnica, herramientas y términos legales que se deben tener en cuenta en el momento de hacer una negociación.

By Max K

Feb 22, 2016

A brilliant introduction to Negotiations of all kinds.

Clear, practical and interesting lessons.

Fully applicable both to business and personal contexts.

By Leandro P

Feb 13, 2016

Me ha gustado mucho el curso porque realmente forma (mediante consejos, "recetas", experiencias, etc.) en los aspectos relacionados con la negociación.

By Artem N

Nov 16, 2015

Course that can help you get tools for understanding world of negotiation. Very good theoretical part. Easy for learning even for non English speakers.

By Lucy J

Sep 7, 2015

The course is well taughted in a very organized and clear way. The last case exercise is really helpful! I really learned a lot. Great thanks to Gorge!

By ahmad a q

May 24, 2022

Great teaching methodology

The course has updated my negotiating skills.

The text book is a handy tool through which one can easily refocus and relearn.

By Apurba D

Apr 27, 2020

Opened a new insigt to the business world.

The course is relevant and inspiring to today's changing dynamics and is applicable to all spheres of life.

By Min S T

Sep 5, 2016

This is a fantastic course - should be compulsory learning for all!

Clear, concise and easy to understand - you won't regret taking this course!

A+++++

By Marcus V O d C

Apr 12, 2022

Great course. If all professors in Michigan University are like Professor George Siedel I'm going there no matter what to take courses there, hahaha!