Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
17,781 ratings

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

AB

Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

LM

Mar 20, 2022

Excelente curso, considero que vale la pena tomarse el tiempo para aprender y descubrir parte de la belleza que posee el mundo de los negocios. Aunque, me di cuenta que aun hay mucho por aprender. :)

Filter by:

976 - 1000 of 4,166 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Muhammad F S

May 21, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken so far. The material was so practical and yes the professor is super cool. Highly Recommended!!

By Raphael B d S

Mar 21, 2020

The Course exceeded all my expectations, I will not only put it into practice in my professional life, but also in my personal life.

By Syed S G

Feb 21, 2020

Amazing content and structure. Prof Siedel shares interesting perspectives for both deal making and dispute resolution negotiations.

By Bruno B C V

Jul 3, 2019

Great lecturer, and the course well thought structure makes the learning process feel like a walk in the park. Definitely recommend!

By Vivek P

Mar 5, 2017

Captured interest like a movie! Professor exactly knows how to impart skills to people of different backgrounds, all over the world.

By Ján S

Dec 26, 2016

This course taught me important things regarding negotiation and I love to get back to the materials, recall and use it in practice.

By Dominik D

Nov 17, 2015

I'm very grateful for this course. Lots of knowledge, entertaining videos and an intriguing negotiation exercise at the end. Thanks!

By DrPat B

Oct 29, 2020

The course is instrumental in meeting the goals I set for myself to increase the awareness of the power of the Negotiation process!

By Linet o

Oct 7, 2020

Its a great course being facilitated by experienced lectures, I appreciete university of Michigan for the good work they are doing.

By Gerely R

Jul 12, 2020

El profesor es excelente, me gustó el humor que le pone al curso y los ejercicios que realiza permiten entender mejor lo discutido.

By FERNANDO S J

Jun 18, 2020

It is a wonderful course, any professional and person in general should take it. The teacher's explanation and examples help a lot!

By Ehsan S

Jun 15, 2020

Great Course, Very Well Structured, and the way Prof. Siedel explains it makes it easy to understand the most complicated subjects.

By Preveena V

Jun 9, 2020

I enjoyed learning the course at my very own space. It was well explained and the notes well very detailed. Thank Mr George Siedel.

By Adarsh S

May 25, 2020

The course is very nice and useful for everyone. Negotiation is very basis skill and yet ignored by best of the best professionals.

By Geoffrey J

May 14, 2020

Easily understandable teaching style and vast experience allows the use of interesting anecdotes and examples.

Thoroughly enjoyable!

By Kevin B

Sep 3, 2017

Amazing course.

Learned very helpful and practical tools and skills that I can use immediately to improve in all of my negotiations.

By Maxim S

Oct 9, 2015

Interesting and valuable course! In depth look on logic, essence and analysis of negotiations and interests of negotiating parties.

By lit u

Oct 31, 2022

El profesor es exceptional a pesar de que yo soy de otro país sus ejemplos se dejan entender con facilidad.

Gracias Profesor GEORGE

By Joanne L

Jun 6, 2022

Some very useful tips and psychological tools that are practical in negotiation.

Interesting to revisit the basics of contract law.

By Nikhil S

Sep 7, 2020

Great to refresh and learn new skills at any age in life and feel empowered ! Thank you Dr. Siedel and Umich for the opportunity !

By Olutayo K O

Jun 11, 2020

A very informative and practical course. I learnt a lot. I am still going through the materials again because they are so helpful.

By Annestus M N

May 12, 2020

The course content was/is very rich and insightful. Prof. George was very engaging and explanations were both clear and practical.

By Musa A B

May 4, 2020

The course taught me that there are better ways to settle disputes in any endeavour of humanity outside the normal court procedure

By Si T H

Apr 26, 2020

Even I didn't know an inch about negotiation, this course opened my eyes wide how to make negotiation successfully with the tools.

By Jarosław W

Oct 29, 2015

Excellent course. Professor Siedel covers a lot of material, gives explicit, real-life examples.

One of the best courses out there.