Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
13,602 ratings
3,287 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

DS
Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

AB
Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

Filter by:

3151 - 3175 of 3,231 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Sampath K k

Aug 31, 2020

Good

By Suman D

Jul 29, 2020

good

By Kedar B

Jul 10, 2020

Good

By Dr.T.N.M.THARINNI M

Jun 20, 2020

Good

By nahas e

May 30, 2020

good

By Rubesh S

Mar 27, 2020

Good

By Kamran B

Dec 13, 2019

Good

By Ashish K S

Mar 10, 2019

good

By Lubos L

Feb 17, 2017

Woow

By Vincent J

Apr 15, 2019

RAW

By Minhajul A

Nov 16, 2020

ok

By 思马

Apr 3, 2016

g

By José L M L

Jun 19, 2020

It has good content (simple and common sense from my perspective, but usefull). The problem is that it actually looks more as a Decision making course than a Negotiation skills course. If not, it just looks as publicity for Mr Siedel's book, as the videos are Mr Siedel reading word by word what is written in the book. It is not compulsary to buy the book (around 13$ in Amazon), as the videos cover the whole book, but if it weren't for the certificate and the practical case I would just buy the book and not pay for this course.

However, don't get me wrong, as I said before the content is good, and I am glad to have the book as it has a lot of usefull summaries, keypoints and lists. It is just not the type of course that I expected. That's why I recommend to look at the content (not just reading the titles of the videos because some of them are misleading) before paying the course.

By Gulshan K

Sep 29, 2020

The Learning Pace and Content was really Good. It was interactive in a way questions were merged within modules and needed attention to be solved. Final Assessment was also in line with content so it made it wholesome. Howsoever, it might have been made inclusive with more real life examples and include cross-functional negotiations other than sale and purchase.

By Arnaud B

May 30, 2017

Great course content. However, i would personaly regret that most of the course is focused on the resolution/legal aspects of a negotiation process, rather than the strategies and skills as per suggested by the course title. I would however definitely recommend this course, which has been of great interest to me !

By seyed a r

Jun 7, 2017

this course started very excellent and exciting but I think we'd better be informed more about negotiation it self rather than learning ADR process in detail.

but totally it was beneficial for someone who wants to start to learn how to negotiate and how should think at the start point of negotiation.

By James G

Apr 2, 2018

This course started really well and went through the principles of negotiation that were very useful. But it drifted towards focusing more on dispute-resolution and very heavy on the lawyer jargon which was not what I was looking for. The presenter is great though. Very clear and interesting.

By Suvda M

Jan 7, 2016

The final negotiation homework was very interesting, and useful in internalizing the concepts. I didn't like the fact that the course spent a lot of time covering legal topics. Perhaps due to the instructor's legal background. I wish there were practical recommendations on salary negotiation.

By Alice D

Oct 25, 2016

It's better to just read the transcripts than watch the painfully boring videos. If you don't have an interest in law then you won't find this class very interesting. I thought the information was good but could have been better presented.

By Tom K

Apr 5, 2019

gave some negotiation skills, but it is more a class to binge in a day than to take over a month or two.

the main skill is a way of thinking about option values and how to choose based on risk trees.

By Matteo Z

Jul 11, 2020

A lot of theory, and mostly focused on business and contracts negotiations, probably it would have been more useful for general / every day negotiations. Still informative and nicely explained

By Alex B

Sep 2, 2015

Enjoyed the professor, but there was lots of fluff and ultimately spent far too much time focusing on legalities and minor details and less on actually imparting negotiating skills.

By Mohamed A

Dec 18, 2020

It requires more clarifications and more examples. It is difficult course and too ambiguous. With all due respect the instructor must go deeper than two few examples.

By Carrie P

Nov 10, 2015

I struggled a lot with the presenter of this course. The presentation was quite fluffy yet the book is direct and straight to the point on the theory of negotiations.

By Simon G

Jun 1, 2017

A good course but rather dry. The whole course was the professor sitting at his desk talking to the camera.

The information was good but could be delivered better.