Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
16,788 ratings

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

DS

Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

AB

Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 3,997 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By KOTY R

Aug 26, 2020

Superbe cours. Ce cours donne un aperçu général de ce qu'est la négociation et me permet de comprendre en plus ce sur quoi je dois travailler personnellement pour améliorer mes qualités de négociateur…

By Andrea P

Aug 17, 2017

Following this class I am learning many concepts that are practically useful in my business life. I recommend this class to everyone who wants to improve his Negotiation and Conflict Management Skills.

By Andres V C

May 26, 2017

Ha sido un curso muy enriquecedor por la manera sencilla y práctica de abordar los temas, con una visión muy práctica que resulta eficiente y eficaz para ser aplicada en cualquier tipo de negociación.

By Dao T D

Sep 8, 2015

I love the program content as well as lecturer's knowledge about this topic. So many interesting examples he provided during the course make it really practical and attracting to learners.

Many thanks!

By Yang L

Aug 26, 2015

The lectures are very interesting with a lot of cases. The negotiation tactics can be used in various occasions, and some legal knowledge were explained in a simple and clear way. Strong recommended.

By Suresh V

Aug 21, 2015

Thanks for this wonderful course Prof. Siedel.

I don't know of a better way to negotiate with you than to request:

Please offer more advanced courses; this course --I hope!-- has prepared me for them.

By N’GUESSAN K g

Dec 23, 2021

Ce cours était très instructif. J'y ai appris les rudiments et des techniques qui me serviront certainement dans ce métier que je souhaite embrasser bientôt. Merci encore encore au professeur Georges

By Bhaumik B

Apr 29, 2020

It was an excellent course with very senior and experience faculty in the respective field proving excellent case study.

I would advise anyone planning to enroll in this course must do it immediately.

By Brylle J B

May 9, 2020

Great Learning experience, my first but not the last & recommended for those working professionals who have busy schedule and still want to whet their insatiable appetite for contemporary learning

By Paramvir S

Aug 1, 2021

Excellent course by University of Michigan. This course has taught me to see the other side's perspective in a negotiation and use psychological traps on other side to achieve your desired results.

By Jialin H

Sep 14, 2020

Very useful negotiation skills are included in this course, and the examples Prof. George Siedel used to illustrate are very typical and easy to understand. I'd love to give 5 stars to this course.

By Ricardo A D

Aug 22, 2017

A very well suited course which has developed concepts and contents toward most of kinds of negotiation. The professor was clear and give us a good set of examples applying theory in the real life.

By Kartik B

Apr 8, 2022

The course content is really amazeballs. This course is specifically for those who are seeking for managerial roles and other business oriented roles. Massive thanks to the Professor George Siedel

By David H S

Aug 19, 2020

Very good, explanatory and important course which I highly recommend to take for any undergraduate students or those who are currently working for a company and would like to get upgraded. Thanks!

By Devang P

Jul 7, 2020

Loved the way the course was done, however I do feel that if we had some good videos on negotiations that would have been a great addition to the course and helped explain the concept a bit better

By Uzair

Jun 24, 2021

This is an exceptional course. It is very well structured and Professor Siedel uses all kinds of real life examples to explain a particular concept. I would high recommend it to aspiring lawyers.

By IVAN A R R

Sep 21, 2020

Great course! Congratulations to the teacher who was very professional in each module. I learnt several new things even thought I am in a foreign country. I hope some day to meet with Mr. Siedel.

By samuel d a s b

May 17, 2017

I conclude the course very satisfied, practical lessons, very interesting content, good structure as well. I am thankful to have learned such a good strategies for professional and personal life.

By Domas J

Nov 7, 2015

This course is superb!!! I felt a deep connection with the professor while watching his videos. Thank you very much!!! If I ever live in USA I will definitely take some courses in this University

By Mony L

Apr 18, 2019

I did not know that there were so many important information regarding negotiation. It was a very interesting and knowledgeable course. I hope to use the information that I learnt in the future.

By Donald A

Jul 18, 2017

He's a Winner from the start. He is very positive, and logical. These ideas can be used at Work, at Home, in Marriage, and in the Local community. Hat's off for a great JOB, outstanding work.

By Олег С

Jul 4, 2016

Very useful and interesting course with examples from real life for everyone. I have learned many tools for my future negotiations. Thanks a lot to mr. George Siedel for his really great course!

By Steven V

Aug 28, 2015

This negotiation course helped me better understand the ins and outs of negotiating. Very detailed and filled with legitimate explanations, I would recommend this course to aspiring negotiators.

By Shubham S

Jun 22, 2020

This course is really fantastic as this course help me to understand in a very well manner with very insightful deep knowledge , very learning now i can try to negotiate in a real world easily.